60 AMPS, 21 +5

He's 33 now?
Give him a teaspoon of food with honey, then re-test in 15-20 mn. Did he take the food with the honey? If not, can you apply some on his gums again?
 
He will forgive you. You’re doing great.
Do you think you can get more tests on a regular basis in the future to make sure Neo is safer?

We don’t want you to go through this again :bighug:
I'll try to but my family makes me feel really bad about testing him that often, and he gets really irritated if I test him too often. I struggled to get this last test.

Edit: After his last hypo episode he did not allow me to test for a few days
 
I'll try to but my family makes me feel really bad about testing him that often, and he gets really irritated if I test him too often. I struggled to get this last test.

Edit: After his last hypo episode he did not allow me to test for a few days
I understand, but you will need to do what is going to keep Neo safe.

And you can’t keep him safe if you don’t know if he’s going too low overnight or during the cycle without testing him. It’s just too dangerous not to have the information.
Maybe you can explain this to them and if they understand, they will support you.

What you learned today was that the dose is too much insulin for him currently.
 
Great news! Test him again in 30 mn, you want him to stay up there. You can feed him LC now.
I would skip tonight, and yes, as Staci says, if you could at least get one test around +2 each cycle, that gives you a good idea of what is going to happen.
Aside from family drama and him not liking tests, I usually have class at morning and have to leave home at 8 am and come back at aroumd 2-3 pm, that is if I don't have to stay the whole day at the lab, so I don't know how often I can do +2 at morning.
I don't want to imagine what would have happened if I had class today
 
I understand, but you will need to do what is going to keep Neo safe.

And you can’t keep him safe if you don’t know if he’s going too low overnight or during the cycle without testing him. It’s just too dangerous not to have the information.
Maybe you can explain this to them and if they understand, they will support you.

What you learned today was that the dose is too much insulin for him currently.
I've tried multiple times but they're just as square headed as me. They think that as long as there are no symptoms is fine
And I have one question, his current dose is 0.25 U, how can that be reduced?
 
Looks like he's just about out of the woods! I just want to make sure that we're clear on the test numbers.
AMPS 60; +6 21; +6.75 23; +7.25 24; +7.5 25; +7.75 31; +8.25 33; +8.5 37; +9 75
If these are correct, can you please put them in your SS. Let me know if you need help.
All of the above you fed either HC or honey? is that correct?

We want to make sure that Nao stays above 50 on a human meter. I am going to ask you to try and get another test at +10.
I suggest that you SKIP the PMPS tonight.

Tomorrow morning, if he's high enough, your new dose is 0.1 units. Here is a picture of what that looks like and you can find more about that here.
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


I think that you can remove the 911 from the thread title now that he is over 50 but you can always put it back up if you need to.
 
I've tried multiple times but they're just as square headed as me. They think that as long as there are no symptoms is fine
And I have one question, his current dose is 0.25 U, how can that be reduced?
You can do 0.1. I never went that low with my cat, but some do, it is easier if you are using callipers. There is a sticky somewhere, I'll look for it and post it here.
I understand, it is hard to manage day to day! Maybe at least try at night and when you are home? If not +2, when you can. It will give you data, which is great to have when something happens, because you know how he usually reacts. For example, my cat usually had her nadir around +5-6. If she was very low at +2 or +3, I knoew I had to watch her closely.
I am editing to add: I mean you can do 0.1 in the futire, NOT TONIGHT . I would skip tonight.
 
Looks like he's just about out of the woods! I just want to make sure that we're clear on the test numbers.
AMPS 60; +6 21; +6.75 23; +7.25 24; +7.5 25; +7.75 31; +8.25 33; +8.5 37; +9 75
If these are correct, can you please put them in your SS. Let me know if you need help.
All of the above you fed either HC or honey? is that correct?

We want to make sure that Nao stays above 50 on a human meter. I am going to ask you to try and get another test at +10.
I suggest that you SKIP the PMPS tonight.

Tomorrow morning, if he's high enough, your new dose is 0.1 units. Here is a picture of what that looks like and you can find more about that here.
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


I think that you can remove the 911 from the thread title now that he is over 50 but you can always put it back up if you need to.
Thanks, I'll try to see if I can do a 0.1 tomorrow, it truly looks like a challenge.
I'll check and add them on my computer after testing again to see if he stays up 50, I'm on my phone right now and is kinda messy to do it here.

And I fed both HC and honey, and also from his normal ration of LC wet food at 2 (this is how I was able to get the +6 number)
 
Wonderful! and thank you. Now please give yourself a high value treat for all that you went through :), you deserve it!

I have a difficult kitty when it comes to testing also. You would think that after 3 years, she would be more accommodating :rolleyes:. I often have to offer her food in order to test her when she goes low. So, I understand :bighug:

When following TR kitty must be on all wet food (which I believe Nao is) and you are to get two tests in each cycle. The reason for the additional tests is for Nao's safety. You did have a symptomatic hypo earlier and this must have been an exhausting day for you.

Can you tell me a little more about what your daily schedule is like? What times you feed and give insulin and when you are out of the house? Does Nao have access to food? What % carb does he usually get?
 
Wonderful! and thank you. Now please give yourself a high value treat for all that you went through :), you deserve it!

I have a difficult kitty when it comes to testing also. You would think that after 3 years, she would be more accommodating :rolleyes:. I often have to offer her food in order to test her when she goes low. So, I understand :bighug:

When following TR kitty must be on all wet food (which I believe Nao is) and you are to get two tests in each cycle. The reason for the additional tests is for Nao's safety. You did have a symptomatic hypo earlier and this must have been an exhausting day for you.

Can you tell me a little more about what your daily schedule is like? What times you feed and give insulin and when you are out of the house? Does Nao have access to food? What % carb does he usually get?
My daily schedule is highly variable depending on if I have tests, lab, classes, classes and lab, etc. It is not very predictable becausw of this, but I try to give him insulin before I leave at around 7:30 am, feed him again when I come back home and then shoot him again at 7:30 pm and before going to bed. Now I can allow getting up later since I don't have class and I've been shootimg him this week at 9 am, and yes, he only eats low carb wet food
 
@Teire
When you get a chance
Can you please move Nao's 2025 tab over to the left so that's the first thing members see when they look at your spreadsheet. On your SS can you please fill in up top where it asks Date diagnosed, ,the TR method and the meter you are using and add it's a human meter ,just so members don't have to keep going back to your signature .



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ase-move-your-2025-ss-tab-to-the-left.297117/

Can you manually color code all the numbers you have under +6 lime green
 
Last edited:
@Teire
When you get a chance
Can you please move Nao's 2025 tab over to the left so that's the first thing members see when they look at your spreadsheet. On your SS can you please fill in up top where it asks Date diagnosed, The insulin, the TR method and the meter you are using , just so members don't have to keep going back to your signature .



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ase-move-your-2025-ss-tab-to-the-left.297117/
Huh, I thought I had already done that, gonna check it tonight
 
Enjoy your walk, you need to take care of yourself too :bighug:
Can you let us know too, next time you test Neo?
I just came back from the short walk since lately my dog doesn't enjoy evening walks very much and just wants to go out and come back home and eat lol

I don't think I'll test him tomorrow to give him some rest and time to forget what happened, and as a result I don't think I'll give him insulin until the day after tomorrow
 
I just came back from the short walk since lately my dog doesn't enjoy evening walks very much and just wants to go out and come back home and eat lol

I don't think I'll test him tomorrow to give him some rest and time to forget what happened, and as a result I don't think I'll give him insulin until the day after tomorrow
You both need a rest :bighug::bighug::bighug:
But let us know how he is doing tonight, he still needs to be watched, Lantus acts for 12-16 hours and you want to be sure he is not going low again.
 
I don't understand what's happening, I already did it on my computer
Very weird , when on click on Nao's spreadsheet the results for the 2024 spreadsheet comes up not the 2025
I do see you have a 2025 spreadsheet but I have to tap on it to see it. It should be when you tan on Nao's spreadsheet it should go right to the 2025 spreadsheet
@Teire
 
Very weird , when on click on Nao's spreadsheet the results for the 2024 spreadsheet comes up not the 2025
I do see you have a 2025 spreadsheet but I have to tap on it to see it. It should be when you tan on Nao's spreadsheet it should go right to the 2025 spreadsheet
@Teire

@Chris & China (GA)
Hi when I tap on Nao's spreadsheet it opens up to the 2024 spreadsheet. There is a 2025 spreadsheet tab to the left but in order to see it I have to tap on it. Can either of you fix it so it automatically opens up to the 2025 spreadsheet

She has moved it multiple times ,but it's not working. Same thing is happening to her when she taps on his spreadsheet
Thank you
 
Last edited:
Very weird , when on click on Nao's spreadsheet the results for the 2024 spreadsheet comes up not the 2025
I do see you have a 2025 spreadsheet but I have to tap on it to see it. It should be when you tan on Nao's spreadsheet it should go right to the 2025 spreadsheet
@Teire
It happens to me too but that's really weird, I already moved it multiple times to the left
 
@Teire
Chris just explained what to do above, if you can't do it let me know Chris said she would help you Can you add you are from Spain on your signature
Can you put NS ( no Shot) in the unit cell on your spreadsheet for tonight please
@Teire
 
Last edited:
Back
Top