Amy and Six
Member Since 2009
I was planning on updating tomorrow after his acupuncture vet appointment, but Six really, really, really wanted to visit his friends.
A few weeks ago I discovered that as Alpha Trak user I had been following the wrong dosing scale. I decided to compare our One Touch for three days with the Alpha and based on those comparisons (he does heat higher carb food - every day, but not at always at every meal) I decreased the dose by .25. Since the decrease he's been skirting the next decrease protocol...
That is until last night - Mr. 43 @ +3 on an Alpha Trak!!!!! I think it has been March since his last need for HC.
So I decreased today to 1IU, but he's still dropping below the 70 mg/dL protocol that earned him another decrease (or just did at +2 - he fed himself). Since I will be around tomorrow (and he has his appointment - could increase or decrease his numbers), I'm going to stick with the 1IU until I have more evidence that he earned another decrease.
So I'm not really sure what's going on...maybe the inflammation associated with his CP is decreasing? Since this is only 24 hours into this crazy number drop, not going to get too excited yet!
As usual, any other thoughts are more than welcome.
Other kitty updates...our oldest Meghan (13) was dx with CRF last week. She's on fluids, epakitin and something else (Rummi 8???) that I'm waiting to arrive in the mail - my vet had to order it. Based upon her numbers, she's probably about middle of the road with the dx. We lost a CRF kitty a few years ago so we know what we will be dealing with and hope that since we caught it earlier than our previous kitty we will be able to slow the progress.
Lyle is still doing well.
My food craziness...well, now I am looking for lower carb, lower fat AND phosphorus # and tastes great to 7 kitties. :lol: I'm still feeding gobs of different foods to all my different kitties. :lol:
A few weeks ago I discovered that as Alpha Trak user I had been following the wrong dosing scale. I decided to compare our One Touch for three days with the Alpha and based on those comparisons (he does heat higher carb food - every day, but not at always at every meal) I decreased the dose by .25. Since the decrease he's been skirting the next decrease protocol...
If the nadir glucose concentration is 70 - <80 mg/dL at least three times on separate days
That is until last night - Mr. 43 @ +3 on an Alpha Trak!!!!! I think it has been March since his last need for HC.
So I decreased today to 1IU, but he's still dropping below the 70 mg/dL protocol that earned him another decrease (or just did at +2 - he fed himself). Since I will be around tomorrow (and he has his appointment - could increase or decrease his numbers), I'm going to stick with the 1IU until I have more evidence that he earned another decrease.
So I'm not really sure what's going on...maybe the inflammation associated with his CP is decreasing? Since this is only 24 hours into this crazy number drop, not going to get too excited yet!
As usual, any other thoughts are more than welcome.
Other kitty updates...our oldest Meghan (13) was dx with CRF last week. She's on fluids, epakitin and something else (Rummi 8???) that I'm waiting to arrive in the mail - my vet had to order it. Based upon her numbers, she's probably about middle of the road with the dx. We lost a CRF kitty a few years ago so we know what we will be dealing with and hope that since we caught it earlier than our previous kitty we will be able to slow the progress.
Lyle is still doing well.
My food craziness...well, now I am looking for lower carb, lower fat AND phosphorus # and tastes great to 7 kitties. :lol: I'm still feeding gobs of different foods to all my different kitties. :lol: