6/23 Six update +2.5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Six

Member Since 2009
I was planning on updating tomorrow after his acupuncture vet appointment, but Six really, really, really wanted to visit his friends.

A few weeks ago I discovered that as Alpha Trak user I had been following the wrong dosing scale. I decided to compare our One Touch for three days with the Alpha and based on those comparisons (he does heat higher carb food - every day, but not at always at every meal) I decreased the dose by .25. Since the decrease he's been skirting the next decrease protocol...

If the nadir glucose concentration is 70 - <80 mg/dL at least three times on separate days

That is until last night - Mr. 43 @ +3 on an Alpha Trak!!!!! I think it has been March since his last need for HC.

So I decreased today to 1IU, but he's still dropping below the 70 mg/dL protocol that earned him another decrease (or just did at +2 - he fed himself). Since I will be around tomorrow (and he has his appointment - could increase or decrease his numbers), I'm going to stick with the 1IU until I have more evidence that he earned another decrease.

So I'm not really sure what's going on...maybe the inflammation associated with his CP is decreasing? Since this is only 24 hours into this crazy number drop, not going to get too excited yet!

As usual, any other thoughts are more than welcome.

Other kitty updates...our oldest Meghan (13) was dx with CRF last week. She's on fluids, epakitin and something else (Rummi 8???) that I'm waiting to arrive in the mail - my vet had to order it. Based upon her numbers, she's probably about middle of the road with the dx. We lost a CRF kitty a few years ago so we know what we will be dealing with and hope that since we caught it earlier than our previous kitty we will be able to slow the progress.

Lyle is still doing well.

My food craziness...well, now I am looking for lower carb, lower fat AND phosphorus # and tastes great to 7 kitties. :lol: I'm still feeding gobs of different foods to all my different kitties. :lol:
 
Re: 6/22 Six Update

Nice numbers. :mrgreen:

I wouldn't decrease again just yet, today could still be shed action. I agree with hanging out here for a little bit, if Six will let you.

Crazy number drops are fun. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/22 Six Update

Hey Six, You've got to come around here more often, man! You're my pal and I miss seeing you. Fantastic about your numbers! Too bad you missed the solstice party. We grilled lizards. They were delicious. See you soon,

Stu
 
Acupuncture appointment went well. No changes in his Chinese meds. Pleased as punch and a model diabetes kitty :smile: Today he did pull out two of the needles about half way through the session. They were bugging him.

His "stress" number at the vet was 101. I didn't test him after the vet until PMPS - that was my promise to him.

His PMPS 105
and +2.5 61

***This is on an Alpha Trak meter and on 4% carb dinner. Breakfast was 8% carb.

How many days should I wait to see if this is still shed action or determine if it's time for another decrease?
 
Congrats on the great numbers!

That supplement for the CRF kitty was probably Rehmannia 8. My vet told me about that years ago, but we tried a few other things, Kasha's kidney numbers are still borderline and we never got around to trying that. It's highly recommended for kidney disease though, so I hope you keep us updated on how it works for you.

Have you considered trying Azodyl? It's also supposed to be good for CRF kitties - it's just probiotics and psyllium powder, but it's supposed to slow down toxin build up and reduce or prevent further kidney damage. I give it to Kasha for good measure (and not totally consistently) - she could use the probiotics anyway. People commonly use it with Epakitin
 
I see on your spreadsheet that Six has hung around in the high 50's/60's for a little while. It has been 4 cycles, I think I would go ahead and try another reduction. These numbers *could* be related to the vet visit (especially if acupuncture made him feel great), so if it the reduction doesn't hold don't wait too long to go back up.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top