Willow
Member Since 2016
Good morning,
Previous tread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-willow-pmps-518bg.157025/#post-1666616
Well, an interesting morning, woke up at 4am Willows ears are cold and she is needy, around 5am or close to her +11 I decided to check her to make sure she had not dropped too low. She was 200bg, of course she now wants to eat and we left a can of wet food out for her over night, she ate 3/4 of that can at 5am.
I decided to wait until my morning shot time of 6:30am to keep every thing on the correct schedule.
When I checked her again at 6:30am she was only 260bg. Her number 1.5 hour later after eating 3/4 of a can should have gone up a lot. Why did she only go up 60bg
I went ahead and reduced her units to 2.5 because I strongly believe the food change is having a major affect on her numbers. I could be wrong and have to increase her in a few days. Because the goal is still the same get her into the low numbers and keep her there. I just want to do it slowly vs slamming into them and blowing past safe numbers at times. When I look at her spreadsheet I clearly see the food causing havoc on her numbers.
I would really like to pass on becoming an expert in life saving techniques with Willow. Not that it is not fun and has its moment, just imagine me with a camping light on my head, thick reading glasses so I can see up close , barking orders at my wife, does the car have enough gas?, check to make sure that the vet is open?, please get me both of the syringes with syrup, can you get me more test strips? Meanwhile Willow is looking up at me with this looks of, here we go again, he has gone nuts and thinks he's a doctor, maybe I should play dead and really have some fun with him this time!
I'll be getting some HC gravy food and get my safety key in better order, I'm sure I'll end up using it again since we will be playing in the light green numbers sooner then later.
Also note both of our other cats were vomiting last night after eating the gravy food for a second time. Could be something wrong with the food.
Another interesting observation is that when willows numbers are low she is cold and when her numbers are high she is hot. What I mean are her ears. I noticed this a while ago and have been paying attention to any and all signs to be able to pick up on early warning problems before they happen.
Previous tread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-willow-pmps-518bg.157025/#post-1666616
Well, an interesting morning, woke up at 4am Willows ears are cold and she is needy, around 5am or close to her +11 I decided to check her to make sure she had not dropped too low. She was 200bg, of course she now wants to eat and we left a can of wet food out for her over night, she ate 3/4 of that can at 5am.
I decided to wait until my morning shot time of 6:30am to keep every thing on the correct schedule.
When I checked her again at 6:30am she was only 260bg. Her number 1.5 hour later after eating 3/4 of a can should have gone up a lot. Why did she only go up 60bg
I went ahead and reduced her units to 2.5 because I strongly believe the food change is having a major affect on her numbers. I could be wrong and have to increase her in a few days. Because the goal is still the same get her into the low numbers and keep her there. I just want to do it slowly vs slamming into them and blowing past safe numbers at times. When I look at her spreadsheet I clearly see the food causing havoc on her numbers.
I would really like to pass on becoming an expert in life saving techniques with Willow. Not that it is not fun and has its moment, just imagine me with a camping light on my head, thick reading glasses so I can see up close , barking orders at my wife, does the car have enough gas?, check to make sure that the vet is open?, please get me both of the syringes with syrup, can you get me more test strips? Meanwhile Willow is looking up at me with this looks of, here we go again, he has gone nuts and thinks he's a doctor, maybe I should play dead and really have some fun with him this time!
I'll be getting some HC gravy food and get my safety key in better order, I'm sure I'll end up using it again since we will be playing in the light green numbers sooner then later.
Also note both of our other cats were vomiting last night after eating the gravy food for a second time. Could be something wrong with the food.
Another interesting observation is that when willows numbers are low she is cold and when her numbers are high she is hot. What I mean are her ears. I noticed this a while ago and have been paying attention to any and all signs to be able to pick up on early warning problems before they happen.
.. They never vomited and luckily never had diabetes, pancreatitis or health issues. Only been the last 6 yrs that the food seems to be creating problems. Wonder if the industry had major changes.