4/30 PMPS 375bg

Status
Not open for further replies.
If your other cats have been eating the same food Willow has for the past several days and just today started vomiting, it's probably the batch of food, not the brand/type

Your other cats haven't been vomiting for the past week or so, have they?
Hi
we have been giving everyone the same fish or chicken fancy feast for a while now.
We just got another case of the gravy food and they always loved it so my wife gave them some. They never had a problem before. Willow also vomited on the one can. It could be either a bad batch or just that one can. Today Willow had some and she did not vomit. Go figure.
 
It also sounds like your cats were dealing with hairballs.....just the act of "yacking" up a hairball can cause them to vomit their food too

I wouldn't worry too much about it....just check the numbers on the cans (if you can find them) that caused the problem and compare it to any others of that type/brand

ALL our cats love the gravy! You'll just have to convince your wife that it's only for "special" occasions! ;)
 
Yes...I understand all this. I've read all her condos. It's just going to take a little time to see what this dose will do. As we've said many times in this thread, the numbers today might be from the 3u depot.

Her dose will get to a point where the LC will work for her. There is no right or wrong time for her to drop. It is what it is and cats' cycles vary between cats and Willow's cycles are likely to change.

The point in looking at Bat-Bat's SS is not the dose or that she's well regulated. It's that she was dropping fast until Robin learned to manage the curve with food.

The goal in feeding the curve is to anticipate the drop and feed so that it is controlled and the nadirs are higher and numbers flatten out. The challenge is finding the right LC food to achieve that. A feeding schedule often helps these kitties so they, for example, might get four mini meals with the larger portions at AMPS and +1 and then a little less at +2 and +3.

This is going to be my learning curve! I know it is going to take time. These big drops and me not being able to be there to manage it correctly is really ticking me off.
I would loved to have been able to get her to surf the low numbers today. Instead it was two torpedoes.
I have the auto feeder to be able to do this. Did everyone have this much problem getting their kitty to surf the lower numbers?
 
It also sounds like your cats were dealing with hairballs.....just the act of "yacking" up a hairball can cause them to vomit their food too

I wouldn't worry too much about it....just check the numbers on the cans (if you can find them) that caused the problem and compare it to any others of that type/brand

ALL our cats love the gravy! You'll just have to convince your wife that it's only for "special" occasions! ;)
Hi
The wife is onboard
I noticed Willow shedding today. I say this because my other cats do this all the time and Willow had never done this. When she was dehydrated her fur was really dry and hard. As she got better her fur changed and today I noticed her fur shedding like the other cats.
Is this good or bad?
 
What we put into the cat has a direct relationship to their coat health.

It's totally normal that once they're on an appropriate diet that they lose the old coat and start growing in a new, softer one
 
This is going to be my learning curve! I know it is going to take time. These big drops and me not being able to be there to manage it correctly is really ticking me off.
I would loved to have been able to get her to surf the low numbers today. Instead it was two torpedoes.
I have the auto feeder to be able to do this. Did everyone have this much problem getting their kitty to surf the lower numbers?
A lot of members do, yes. We had to learn how to feed Gracie to flatten her curves. It's not u common for cats to dive and bounce and it just takes time and patience to figure out how to feed what and how much to feed.

The liver has to learn to get used to normal numbers again. The more time a kitty spends in green numbers, the less the liver releases glucagon and hormones to counteract the lower BG.
 
A lot of members do, yes. We had to learn how to feed Gracie to flatten her curves. It's not u common for cats to dive and bounce and it just takes time and patience to figure out how to feed what and how much to feed.

The liver has to learn to get used to normal numbers again. The more time a kitty spends in green numbers, the less the liver releases glucagon and hormones to counteract the lower BG.

I will get her there with everyone's help.
I completely understand the commitment in learning what to do with her.
Her drop tonight so far has not been too bad her +3 is 295bg
 
She had ate 1.5 cans of LC food and keep sliding
I could tell by the way she was acting something was wrong at her +5 today, this is why I started to check her every 15 minutes. Her walk was like she was drunk +5 84bg, this is why I started HC treatment plus I had to leave and no one was going to be home.

Hello James,

Just a question: when you measured the low numbers, is it well with the Relion meter?
You don't do changes between the Relion and the Alphatrak meters when testing her, do you?
 
Hello James,

Just a question: when you measured the low numbers, is it well with the Relion meter?
You don't do changes between the Relion and the Alphatrak meters when testing her, do you?
Hi
We are only using the Relion meter now, the alphatrak has been retired
 
Hey James, what a time you have had and I so understand your frustration. Most of Bubba's dives were in the early hours of the AM , of course, right. I have learned how to steer him without over carbing and I think it was Julie or Marje that said it is an art and a science and it truly is. Have you seen this: There are 2 posts in the second part of the Where Can I Find? on Feeding the curve or it might say manipulation of the curve. Some really good information there.


As far as you taking a reduction when Willow didn't "earn" it, I have done that before because I knew how hard I worked to keep him safe. And it did work out okay and he held the reduction. Another time I did the same thing and gave a reduction when it wasn't earned and it didn't hold. There is a protocol for TR but we as caregivers have to have a comfort level too. So, I understand where you are coming from. :)
 
Hey James, what a time you have had and I so understand your frustration. Most of Bubba's dives were in the early hours of the AM , of course, right. I have learned how to steer him without over carbing and I think it was Julie or Marje that said it is an art and a science and it truly is. Have you seen this: There are 2 posts in the second part of the Where Can I Find? on Feeding the curve or it might say manipulation of the curve. Some really good information there.


As far as you taking a reduction when Willow didn't "earn" it, I have done that before because I knew how hard I worked to keep him safe. And it did work out okay and he held the reduction. Another time I did the same thing and gave a reduction when it wasn't earned and it didn't hold. There is a protocol for TR but we as caregivers have to have a comfort level too. So, I understand where you are coming from. :)
So true Bobbie! There has to be a comfort level for us when dealing with this. James, hang in there.
 
Hey James, what a time you have had and I so understand your frustration. Most of Bubba's dives were in the early hours of the AM , of course, right. I have learned how to steer him without over carbing and I think it was Julie or Marje that said it is an art and a science and it truly is. Have you seen this: There are 2 posts in the second part of the Where Can I Find? on Feeding the curve or it might say manipulation of the curve. Some really good information there.


As far as you taking a reduction when Willow didn't "earn" it, I have done that before because I knew how hard I worked to keep him safe. And it did work out okay and he held the reduction. Another time I did the same thing and gave a reduction when it wasn't earned and it didn't hold. There is a protocol for TR but we as caregivers have to have a comfort level too. So, I understand where you are coming from. :)

Hi
Thanks
Yeah this morning at 2:30am she was 108bg and really hungry, just finished vomiting water. I went ahead and gave her some food. She ate like she had not eaten for awhile. I knew her number would be a little higher today. Considering she has spent months in the high blacks I'm okay with her being in the pink for a day if needed.
What the protocol does not account for is a major change in diet or how a diet could have been affecting the numbers.
As far as I can tell the protocol is set for when the diet is being maintained correctly. And clearly I have had this diet wrong and with all the advise from her solved this problem. Now that the diet is correct I must get to a safe insulin amount by where I can increase it by .25 when the time comes. This is where my challenge is currently. And I have to do this while running a company and taking care of my personal clients. Some days I don't have a lot of work and can check her all day, while others days I'm gone all day. My wife is still in school and is doing her masters. So she does not have any free time considering her work load at school.
Thank you again for the help.
We will get there together.
By the way I noticed something very interesting this morning with Willow. She has always been skin and bones, when she got fat only her belly was fat her spine and back legs were still bones. Since she has been getting the correct food and insulin added with her low numbers I noticed her spine and back legs have put on muscle. This is a good sign.
 
What the protocol does not account for is a major change in diet or how a diet could have been affecting the numbers.
This is not true. For those following the TR protocol, it is very specific that a requisite is that you feed a low carb canned or raw food diet.

You were feeding dry at first and then HC canned food. In that case, you should have been following SLGS which does account for feeding those kinds of diets. We have had many, many members over time that started with SLGS because the kitty was on dry and then transitioned to a LC canned diet. What you are seeing with Willow's numbers is no different than what they saw. In fact, some saw the numbers drop a lot more and faster.
 
This is not true. For those following the TR protocol, it is very specific that a requisite is that you feed a low carb canned or raw food diet.

You were feeding dry at first and then HC canned food. In that case, you should have been following SLGS which does account for feeding those kinds of diets. We have had many, many members over time that started with SLGS because the kitty was on dry and then transitioned to a LC canned diet. What you are seeing with Willow's numbers is no different than what they saw. In fact, some saw the numbers drop a lot more and faster.
Hi
I was following the SLGS at first and went to TR, this of course was before we found out about the food problem.
It was one of the members who said Willow is getting into dry food based in her numbers. They were right I found small amounts of dry food in the carpet. The dry food is like kitty crack
 
I understand all that. I haven't posted much on Willow's condo but I have been reading it every day.

However, my point is simply that you stated the TR Protocol does not account for a major change in diet. The reason you perceive it that way was because you weren't following the requisite of feeding s low carb, canned or raw diet. Under the TR protocol, there should be no need for a major change in diet in relation to the % of calories from carbs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top