Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-22-binie-amps-381-3-333-6-324-9-340.289109/
Good evening,
thank you so much for your advice and keeping your fingers and paws crossed for Binie! Binie had her surgery today. They had to remove quite a lot of tissue and the vet is not 100 % sure, what is was. Her guess is, that it was a fistula because of a bite wound. They sended everything to the pathology and we will know more in a few days. A fistula sounds much better for me than all the other possible explanations she gave me before. I hope she is right. She had a inhalation anesthesia and was sent home with a good dose of morphine. Tomorrow I have to start the pain meds (Onsior) and I hope I get it in and she has no side effects. She also did a dental x-ray and thank god everything is fine and we don't have to deal with another surgery.
The hours after the surgery have been quite difficult so far. Binie was not happy at all with her onesie the vet put on because the wound is on her breast and under her right frontleg and she can lick there easily. She was like paralized and didn't even move when she was lying. After coming home she peed herself and the onsie and after she managed to wiggle one front leg out of it I found no other way to deal with it than to cut it open. I would never ever have managed to put it on again. Thank god I bought a soft cone a few days ago and so we have at least some protection. I will stay with her tonight in the hallway, where she can not hurt herself and I try to stay awake to make sure she does not remove her cone. Thank god I took a day off tomorrow and maybe my vet has an idea what to do. I tried to cover the wound with a scarf but after she got really aggressive I felt it is too stressful for her.
Her bloodsugar is really high. Unfortunately I did a furshot yesterday morning and the reduced dose today because of the surgery also drained her depot. I hope it will get better the next days. Dealing with this big wound is really enough at the moment.
I hope everyone is having a calm and safe night!


Good evening,
thank you so much for your advice and keeping your fingers and paws crossed for Binie! Binie had her surgery today. They had to remove quite a lot of tissue and the vet is not 100 % sure, what is was. Her guess is, that it was a fistula because of a bite wound. They sended everything to the pathology and we will know more in a few days. A fistula sounds much better for me than all the other possible explanations she gave me before. I hope she is right. She had a inhalation anesthesia and was sent home with a good dose of morphine. Tomorrow I have to start the pain meds (Onsior) and I hope I get it in and she has no side effects. She also did a dental x-ray and thank god everything is fine and we don't have to deal with another surgery.
The hours after the surgery have been quite difficult so far. Binie was not happy at all with her onesie the vet put on because the wound is on her breast and under her right frontleg and she can lick there easily. She was like paralized and didn't even move when she was lying. After coming home she peed herself and the onsie and after she managed to wiggle one front leg out of it I found no other way to deal with it than to cut it open. I would never ever have managed to put it on again. Thank god I bought a soft cone a few days ago and so we have at least some protection. I will stay with her tonight in the hallway, where she can not hurt herself and I try to stay awake to make sure she does not remove her cone. Thank god I took a day off tomorrow and maybe my vet has an idea what to do. I tried to cover the wound with a scarf but after she got really aggressive I felt it is too stressful for her.
Her bloodsugar is really high. Unfortunately I did a furshot yesterday morning and the reduced dose today because of the surgery also drained her depot. I hope it will get better the next days. Dealing with this big wound is really enough at the moment.
I hope everyone is having a calm and safe night!


