4/12 mocha pmps 264 +3 223

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251

Good morning, Mocha!!! New Lantus today…… Ooooooooooo the possibilities furry, friend!! Wishing you a wonderful day & grrrrrrrreat #s!! Hear me? I know you do!!! Goooooooo Mocha!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

sometimes I feel like we are running 100 mphs 2in away from a brick wall and getting no where.
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

I know how you feel. I would suggest at least trying a different injection site. Knock on wood but I think it might be helping us out. I know for a fact the skin at the old site which has seen a few hundred injections was definitely feeling tougher and thicker. I think they might develop a callous and it's harder to absorb. I can certainly tell that the needle goes in way easier since I changed, not to mention his numbers actually go down at nadir now.
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

where do you shoot now? I asked peter if he thought we should shoot in the neck last night, the scruff area, but he didn't think that was a good idea.
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

Hi Devon-

I can hear your frustration; I'd be the same way. I read in another condo that you thought you missed an opportunity to shoot when she was lower and that you regreted it ever since. What happened?

All I can say is that I've seen cats who weren't gettting much action all of a sudden one day the number start going down. Some cats have gone into remission after over a year too. There is hope!

I usually gave Boomer his shot in the shoulder area but I do think I got more action when I shot in the flank. I also think that when he eats consistantly his numbers are better because he's releasing his own insulin all the time. I've also noticed that his numbers are lower if I give him pate food.

Just some thoughts. Hang in there. This can be brutal, I know!!!
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

what exactly is the flank area again? We almost always shoot mocha on her right side, towards the back by her hip area. That is the best spot so far for peter being able to "tent" her skin. He has a very difficult time tenting on the left side in the same area. I have to hold mocha in my arms, with her head under my chin and my arms wrapped around her while peter gives her the shot. She is feisty!

Traci, it was several months ago, not long after mocha was diagnosed that she was showing "better" numbers but of course, we were too scared to shoot her full dose at the time, and right around then she started eating less, probably because of her lower numbers, of course I freaked out and ran to the vet where she advised me to half her dose that night and I did and soon after we lost all momentum. yes, we have seen greens and blues since, but I think we missed our opportunity for any real regulation. She is coming up on 1 year since her diagnosis (next month) I cannot believe it has almost been a year and now we are coming up on yet another camping season we won't get to use our camper ... grrrrr .. I know it is silly to hold onto the camper when we probably won't get to use it, but I also know Im not ready to sell it either. Besides, we are making truck payments on the truck we went out specifically and bought so we could pull the darn camper! I need to justify those payments in my mind somehow or the next thing to go is the truck!

Mocha gets small frequent meals throughout the day. She gets 1/16th of a can (5.5oz) on average every 2-3 hours. If she is sleeping I won't bother her, and some days she doesn't hound me for food. Other days if there is even the remote possibility I am going to the kitchen, she races me there.
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

I shoot Baby on the side of the chest.. Jus a lil behind her front leg.. Sometimes in the side of her belly.. But she kind of yelps at that.. I love shooting the side of the chest :thumbup
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267

I guess we will have to try to experiment with shot spots. Is there any spot we SHOULD NOT shoot at or near?
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267 +9 216

The only place I heard that wasn't a good place to shoot was the back of the neck - shoulders are okay. It sounds like your doing it in the flank already.

I just read a post here that D suggested the Do Lou's mom shoot early before he got to a too-high number. I wonder if that's something you could look into? Take a look at that condo.

Don't get too down on yourself. Hypo stuff is scary; you had good reason to be afraid to shoot the full dose. I'll bet you'll get another chance.
 
Re: 4/12 mocha amps 251 +4 267 +9 216

Devon, it sounds to me like where you are currently shooting is what I interpret as the flank. At least I think that's where I have now started shooting Angel. I'm not sure if it is the best area but I think what is important for us anyway is that it is a different area. I calculate I've given 500+ injections around the same area behind and above his left shoulder... he also does not like the right side injected though I alternated side for about 8 months.

Now that I've shot the flank and feel how easily the needle slips in it makes me realize how tough the skin has gotten in the shoulder area. I just know it must have thickened and become tougher. Dyana said the same thing happened with J.D. - she needed to switch from shoulder to flank because of the changes in the skin. I don't know... you may have the reverse problem happening. The flank skin might have toughened up after 600 or so shots in the same area and it might do you good to try a change to the shoulder. Might be worth experimenting with?
 
Re: 4/12 mocha pmps 264

"She is feisty!"

yes, that is putting it in a friendly tone. ;)

I shot Velcro in the shoulder-ish area too. I think I read somewhere that insulin absorbs slower or something in the scruff area. Good luck in the morning :)
 
ahhhh sarah! Someone who can back us up on her "attitude" Anyways, shot her in the side, behind her front left leg. No real change in numbers. Tomorrow we go up again to a (F)2.0. Tomorrow night we'll be back to a flat 2.0 knowing mocha!
 
Devon, I just want to mention that Kitty had a few HORRIBLE months before we ever found this website. And I remember Jojo saying that scores from a couple of months or so aren't relevant anymore.

All in all, I'm not sure there is only one moment that turns the course of treatment. So don't let go of that camper yet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top