4/1 SCRABBLE PMBG 89 BACK FROM VET NO SHOT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10690
I am so sad, I came home from work and Scrabble's sore looks worse than ever, it is bleeding and pussy now. My DH made him a makeshift cone so he would leave it alone for the night. I will call the vet at 8am when they open. His appt was not til Friday but I have to take him this morning since it has gotten worse. Poor baby! I wanted to cry when I came home and saw him! Don't know what his numbers will look like tonight because he probably has an infection, will report back in about half an hour. The funny part is he still seems to be himself. I feel terrible to have to test and shoot him but I have no choice!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Quite surprised by his number, thought it would be high from what he is dealing with. Poor baby is trying to take a bath with his cone on. He was hungry surprisingly and ate a lot of breakfast. DH told me he squeezed a lot of puss out of the sore. It really looks yucky, can't wait to take him in! I feel so bad!!!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Hi Michelle,
Oh my, I am so sorry to hear this about Scrabble with the sore getting worse. Try not to worry so much, easier said than done. The Vet will check it out this morning. It's probably hurting you much more (the sore) than it is Scrabble. She will be fine. I will be gone from 8 am and return early afternoon, so I will check your condo when I return.

Yesterday, I don't know where I misplaced my mind, but I got distracted and was late with Maggie's shot, so I had a worry night, too with her numbers. she seems okay though.

Take care and hugs to you and Scrabble.

Ann & Maggie
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Good idea on the cone DH.
I would definitely take Scrabble to the vets today. It does sound like it may be infected. They will probably put him on an AB.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

oh poor baby. He will feel much better in a day or two, just may have to wear that "thing" on his neck.
Good luck getting an early appointment, so you can ease your mind.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Awww Michelle. I hope 8am comes quickly. I know how hard it can be to wait. The vet will help you and scrabble take good care of it. On the upside, amps look great!

Good luck today.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Hoping I can get an appt right away, it stinks that my usual vet is off today so I will have to see someone different, hope it will clear up quick and not effect his numbers too much! I hate to ruin our great progress! I feel so bad for him!!!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

I wonder if the warm compresses brought the infection to a head? Poor little guy, but it sounds like he's feeling just fine so maybe I should be saying "poor mamabean" instead. {{Hugs}} The vet will get him all fixed up in no time =) Hubby did good improvising a cone! Scooby snack for hubby!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Scrabble's amps doesn't look bad at all considering his sore situation. I have to wonder too, if the warm compresses may have something to do with bringing the infection to a head. Your DH is a pretty good guy there, making up a cone for Scrabble....papabean must lubs him too! I was wondering if you had any anit-biotic gel that you can put on the sore (as long as he has his cone on) until you get to the vet. My Ali had a sore on her ear and I used that and it cleared up pretty quickly.

I hope you are able to get Scrabble in today, early, so that you can put your mind at ease and maybe get some zzzzzz's in.

Will be checking later...swamped here at work...can only check some condos quickly :sad:
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Well Michelle...it did rupture so that is a good thing. It will be able to drain now...and it will be good that you get him in to see the vet. that's what was happening..there was an infection going on underneath and he knew it, right?
It will be ok...try to not worry...AMPS are looking good! Keep us posted if you can...nice job by DH!!! :-D
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Warm compresses may be good. Just don't use peroxide to clean the wound -- it can damage the tissue.

If there's a delay with the vet, I'd post on Health. Someone had a kitty with an abscess a few months ago and the folks over there were very helpful.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Hi Michelle, You only have a few more hours to wait before the vet opens. Scrabble will be Ok. Your DH did great and you are doing great. That infection will clear up in no time with the right treatment and Scrabble's progress won't be impeded. Try to relax (easier said than done, of course!)!!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Guess it's vet week for you & me huh?? Glad it opened, and is infected--So best to have vet remove dead tissue & care for wound--My vet wanted wound to be open so air gets to it, & I had to take scab off every day & soak...It heals better on cats if sore is open(i have no idea why, but that's what moonie's dr said) Maybe yours has a different method..
I'm sure your baby will be well & happy when yoou get back & that thingy is being cared for even with the cone head!! Poor Scrabble!! HUGS~!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

I hope you are both feeling better soon. It looks like Scrabble is doing a-ok otherwise, which is great!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 sore has gotten worse!

Hi Michelle. Hoping for a quick healing infection, with medication, for poor little guy.
We'll be waiting to hear from you.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53

+4 53 weird lowest +4 in a while, thought he would jump up with all that is going on. I am waiting for someone to answer at vet office so I can calm myself down!! I am so tired it is unbelievable, I haven't slept just a couple of winks!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet's @ 9am

Got an urgent care appt for 9 am, gonna have some coffee then pack up my boy, with my luck he will go below 50 and earn a dosecrease today! ha! Just want to get him all fixed up! I will post when I get back
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet's @ 9am

good luck at the vets! I hope the dr can get you guys all taken care of and that scrabble heals up quick!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet's @ 9am

Sendig good luck vet vines Michelle!!
You are truly devoted to Scrabble and he will be fine under your care.
We are waiting for news.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet's @ 9am

Everything will be okay (but DON'T let your vet take a BG....they'll FREAK! :mrgreen: ). Where is the sore?
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet's @ 9am

Well the news is not good. The wound is deep and infected, vet tried to clean it while I was there but Scrabble is in a lot of pain. There is an absess and it has a lot of puss. The puss was very smelly. The only way to remove the bad tissue is to put him under. He is there now, vet is going to clean his teeth while he is there. I am so upset, poor baby!!!! My regular vet was not there but I was very happy with the vet that we saw today. He was very kind and compassionate. He was so impressed at how well Scrabble is doing on the insulin and how well I am testing. This whole experience today is going to cost me $1000!!! Ugh! So who knows what his levels will be today, I am sure they will be high. Scrabble should be home by 1pm assuming everything goes well. Will keep you updated today! Please send healing vines to Scrabble!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh my. It is so good that you didn't wait to take Scrabble in to see the vet. He's getting the care he needs for the wound and dental at the same time. Just one anesthesia event, that's good.

Of course the vet should be impressed with the level of care and specialized treatment Scrabble is getting from you. You are doing a wonderful job and his pancreas is healing.

Now with help from the vet, Scrabble's boo-boo will heal and he'll have clean teeth. Unfortunately, your pocketbook will be cleaned out too... sorry about that part.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh my! Glad you got him in today then, and we're sending healing vines your way!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh Michelle, So sorry to hear that the infection is a bad one. But it's good that you got to the vet on time and that he is a good vet. Lots of healing vines are heading your way. Your Scrabble will be so happy to get home and he will realize that he will feel much better soon. Do keep us all posted.
Ella

Stu says: Get well, man! Ditch that infection!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

So sorry to hear about the dx. But it is being taken care of and the teeth too! :thumbup

Hugs and healing vines.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

that's weird, i posted a reply but it's missing.
glad scrabble is getting a tooth cleaning in the meantime so that's a good thing. guessing he'll get a convenia shot as antibiotic. it is used for skin infections. just monitor him as some cats have a reaction to it. cleo did not, and i liked it very much for her.
sending quick recovery vibes for scrabble.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh Michelle-

So glad your got him there. Your intuition kicked in and you knew something was off...you did all the right things. So lucky to be able to kill 2 birds w/ one stone with getting the dental done. He will be SO much happier getting all this yuk out. I can't believe they can get him back to you already after lunch.that's amazing and great!

The $1k - OUCH! ...our estimate for dental alone was just barely under that though. these vets must all be driving lexus. I know how relieved you will be to get this all taken care of.
His counts look just great! Can you imagine if he doesn't have all this infection and then clean teeth on top? Ya'll will practically be free falling down the ladder...you almost were already. You on the other hand may have high BG's today yourself stressing about your baby! So take care of yourself.

We are sending healing thoughts your way...am so glad he is in good hands and will be well soon. i know you'll be so glad it's all handled.

B & H
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Sending healing vines for Scrabble today that his booboo gets
all cleaned out and he comes home with shiny new teeth.
We are thinking of you and holding hands while you wait.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

I know that the vets can be pretty pricey, but I am sure you feel that Scrabble is more than worth it; I know that's how I felt about Shadoe.

So it's fantastic that you got the earlier appt and now Scrabble's going to feel sooo much better! The dental stuff is something that I sure learned makes a BIG difference. You may find out that shining up those choppers and getting that infection cleaned out gives a whole new lease on life; something that is well worth every penny!

Good wishes for Scrabble's recovery and healing.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Thanks everyone, I am holding my breath waiting to hear from the vet! Hope this doesn't screw his numbers up for long! Glad the teeth are getting done at the same time since this is something I wanted to do! Will keep you guys updated! Thanks!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh Michelle, I'm so sorry that Scrabble's infection is so bad. Good that it's being cleaned out now, and it can get on the road to recovery. He'll be feeling better, before you know it!
Big cyber hug to you, for having to worry so!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh wow! Well, good that you trusted your gut and got him in there today. Sending healing vines to Scrabble!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Michelle & Scrabble said:
Thanks everyone, I am holding my breath waiting to hear from the vet! Hope this doesn't screw his numbers up for long! Glad the teeth are getting done at the same time since this is something I wanted to do! Will keep you guys updated! Thanks!

Who knows, maybe the teeth cleaning will ultimately contribute to lower numbers. It's just great you were able to get Scrabble to the vet and hopefully nip whatever infection he has in the bud.

If Scrabble ends up on antibiotics, as he likely will be, you might want to ask your vet for some Fortiflora or go and buy some probiotics to counter what the antibiotic may do to his GI tract (e.g., kill off the good bacteria in his tummy, trigger some diarrhea).

Fingers crossed for a quick and full recovery!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

(((Michelle & Scrabble))) soooooooo happy to hear you took him to the Vet & that he is healing now! Yay! He held his own with his BG #s to have all that going on! :thumbup
I have no doubt Scrabble will be on his way to a wonderful recovery soon.. Cheering you all on!! Gooooooo Scrabble!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

(((michelle)))
sorry scrabble had to have this done today, but glad you brought him in. when you get him home, test him. if possible, get a couple of tests before pm shot time. anesthesia is known to have a blood glucose lowering effect in some kitties. post your pmps number before shooting for dose advice. you may want to reduce the dose tonight. look at moonie's ss for an example of what we call the nom-nom effect (lowering effect of anesthesia on bg's): http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Ajs8RZsEo7LRcHJIODhJcEhuZGpiY0dQbjN1RWRhSHc&hl=en. check out 11/18 (dental day). roni shot a reduced dose for both am & pm shots and moonie still managed to drop into the 40s.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Oh wow ... good thing you got scrabble to the dr right away! Glad to hear you can also do the dental .. scrabble is going to feel like a million bucks when this is all said and done! $1000.00 for the dental and cleaning of the wound is a lot of money but worth it especially if it helps scrabbles numbers and he doesn't have any toof pain going on anymore. Mochas dental alone was well over that price.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Just talked to vet, he said scrabble is doing well! I am going to pick him up @315. He said his teeth look great & there are no tooth problems & he was impressed how good his teeth looked for his age! Said wound is all clean & stitched, he will probably be completely healed from that in 2 weeks. I will get a ps shot # & hopefully someone will be able to advise on dose. Will update when I bring him home, thx all for your great wishes & thoughts!!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Except for the $1000 everything sounds great. Sooooo glad he got to go in today and got a dental too.
Heal fast Scrabble!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Sending hugs, Michelle, and congrats on acting so quickly for Scrabble.

This will be just a memory soon. Scrabble is doing great, and he'll be back on track very soon.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 108 +4 53 vet update!!!

Sending lots of 'fast healing' vines and snowflakes to your boy! So sorry you had to do this (and especially the cost!) but it sounds like you had no choice, and soon he will be healed and back to his old self again!

(((Michelle and Scrabble)))
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE pmps 89 home now dose advice pls!!!

Michelle -

Sorry to hear of Scrabble's woes, but it sounds like he's on the mend!

Here's to hoping your boy continues to heal well, and his BG doesn't suffer too much because of this! He's a trooper - he'll do just fine!
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE pmps 89 home now dose advice pls!!!

Michelle, what is your usual shot time? Can you check back in an hour with another test?

Remember to feed only a small bite at intervals until the anesthesia really wears off. Even though BG is low, you want to avoid having him throw up.
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE pmps 89 home now dose advice pls!!!

since you just got hom and he's green now, and presumably hasn't been out of anesthesia for too long, I would definitely skip. Get some spot checks tonight in case he starts dropping. Some cats do and some don't, but it's way better to be safe than sorry.

Feed small amounts at a time so he hopefully won't puke.

Do you go to work tonight?
 
Re: 4/1 SCRABBLE pmps 89 home now dose advice pls!!!

Yes I work tonight, but dh will be home, to get a test, I don't leave til +3
I would feel better not giving him his shot since he just got home and is still a little groggy, starting antibiotics tonight which is clavamox
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top