/30/2024 Max AMPS 90 Need advice please

MaxsMom74

Member Since 2024
Hello,

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...314-4-248-6-220-8-256-10-329-pmps-398.292501/

Max had to go back to the vet yesterday to get another libre put on. He now has a onesie on to prevent him from pulling it off. He had a slightly unusual day yesterday. He steamed to be all over but overall lower than he has been. Today, I checked his libre and it said 87. I checked with regualr monitor and it said 90. I gave him his regular food but he didn't really want it. I tried a few different flavors and he wasn't impressed. He is acting normally otherwise. He did eat all the chicken I offered him but he wants dry, which I did not give him (its a low carb one I am using to transition other cats off of dry). His normal injection time was a half hour ago and he is at 127. If he doesn't go above 200 by the one hour mark do I skip this dose or reduce dose?

I've attached his libre trends for yesterday and today

upload_2024-7-30_7-20-40.png
upload_2024-7-30_7-21-55.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-30_7-20-40.png
    upload_2024-7-30_7-20-40.png
    100.1 KB · Views: 93
  • upload_2024-7-30_7-21-55.png
    upload_2024-7-30_7-21-55.png
    96.5 KB · Views: 93
This morning the Libre said 87. I then used my regualar meter, which said 90. I normally give him his dose at 6:45. I just tested him at 8:15 and he is at 195.
 
This morning the Libre said 87. I then used my regualar meter, which said 90. I normally give him his dose at 6:45. I just tested him at 8:15 and he is at 195.
It’s good your libre and handheld meters are very close (mine are very far apart). I use a Libre 3.

What do you feel comfortable doing with him being at 195? Since you’re 2 hours past your normal time it may be best to skip or you will have a hard time getting back on schedule.

I was hoping someone who is qualified to give dosing help would jump in here.
 
I skipped but I just checked him and he is now at 420 :-( Poor guy. In the future, if I reduce the dose, how much do I reduce by?
 
Sorry I’m just seeing this. With SLGS you dint shoot if under 100. Next time if you can be off schedule stall without food and test again in 20-30 minutes. As you can see he bounced and you could have shot your new reduced dose. Congrats on the reduction.
 
I skipped but I just checked him and he is now at 420 :-( Poor guy. In the future, if I reduce the dose, how much do I reduce by?
Whenever you reduce or increase its by .25 unit.
Poor guy being so high now. He bounced from that low green number.
Tonight you’ll get back on track.
I’m hoping you’ll get further insight from more experienced people who can guide you more clearly.
You did great by posting for help!! :bighug:
 
Your spreadsheet says you have shot 155 before with the full dose. However, the Remarks column said you stalled until he came up to 248. Could you change the spreadsheet 7/28, to show 248 as his PMPS. In the +11 column you could put 155@+12. Then that 248 you could put 248@+<whatever it was>. 7PM doesn't mean anything to us as we are all over the world in different time zones and I don't know when your regular shot time is.

One option would have been to stall until he got closer to 200 and shoot, such as that 195. Remember that meters can be up to 20% out, so you can shoot within 20% of 200 to start. Over time and with data and experience, you can gradually lower your no shoot number to 90.
 
Whenever you reduce or increase its by .25 unit.
Poor guy being so high now. He bounced from that low green number.
Tonight you’ll get back on track.
I’m hoping you’ll get further insight from more experienced people who can guide you more clearly.
You did great by posting for help!! :bighug:
Thank you for your help and support. So very much appreicated!
 
Your spreadsheet says you have shot 155 before with the full dose. However, the Remarks column said you stalled until he came up to 248. Could you change the spreadsheet 7/28, to show 248 as his PMPS. In the +11 column you could put 155@+12. Then that 248 you could put 248@+<whatever it was>. 7PM doesn't mean anything to us as we are all over the world in different time zones and I don't know when your regular shot time is.

One option would have been to stall until he got closer to 200 and shoot, such as that 195. Remember that meters can be up to 20% out, so you can shoot within 20% of 200 to start. Over time and with data and experience, you can gradually lower your no shoot number to 90.

Sorry for the confusion. On 7/28/24 I didn't shoot at the 155. I tested at 6 got the 155. I fed Max, then retested at 7 to get 248, which is when I gave the insulin. His normal time to shoot is 6:45. I test at 6-6:15, feed, then give insulin 6:30-6:45. My vet told me to feed then give insulin 20-30 mins later? This morning he was low so I fed him and checked back and he was at 127 and I was waiting to get some feedback. By the time he was at 195 he was 1.5 hours past his normal time and I thought it was too far past.

Just to make sure I am understanding correctly, in the future if he is low, I can stall to 1.5 hours then give his full dose and then slowly readjust his time back to the normal time by 15 minute increments? Would that work? Or, would it have been better to have just given him 1 unit or less when he was at 127?
 
Normally we test, feed, then shoot (TFS) all within 10-15 minutes. Your 155 above was +11.5, if 6:30 is your normal PS time. As you've seen, cat's numbers can zoom up a lot in an hour and he might have been safe to shoot by +12.

You can stall and shoot later, provided you can shoot the next shot 12 hours after that, or possibly 11.5 or 11.75 hours later if you start making up the time. This post has some examples. Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

Whether you shoot late or not depends on your flexibility to shoot later the following few cycles.
 
Back
Top