3/4: Esse AMPS=370 PMPS=282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Very Active Member
Daily Digest:
PMPS+9=311. Rebound time...
AMPS=370. Wellness Beef/Chix out for breakfast, Evo for lunch. Shot 3U.
+7=358
+11=290
PMPS=282. TJ Turkey and giblets out, shot 3U
*********************************************************************
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7963#unread

Morning, LL!

Esse at 311 shows me she's in rebound...and while the missed shot was 36 hours ago, and her rebounds previously have been closer to the lows, I'm thinking the reduced shots (and last night's being late) for the last two cycles are contributing to it. So...I'm taking her back to 3 units this morning. Esse, however, is fine, and confused as to why I am up, why I didn't sleep a long time, and why there are lights on...she doesn't quite get the whole study thing. LOL.

Sienne, yes, please send me over the article, if you can...I need to understand this a bit better. The meter debate is an issue I haven't settled completely within myself; what I'd adore is if I could have a "loaner" meter from my vet, and for a period of a week do side-by-side checks (especially if Esse goes low) to gather data and get the information, and perhaps see any sort of percentage difference for Esse/myself. ('Course, that's the scientist in me...gimme a way to test things...).

I think what the vet is thinking is that because Esse is not showing symptoms when she 'should' be showing symptoms of a hypo event, that it must be the meter that's wrong, rather than something else in the equation. I do understand that the size of cells is different, and it may be that there is a filtration rate which creates a difference in numbers, but I also don't think Esse would be at, say, 47 on my meter and 147 on another...kwim? Is there any "formula" that has been developed to address the differences between the two meters? And yes, I am looking for/at trends, rather than at numbers, and mostly, I'm looking at my 'patient' instead of the monitors...which is what is important in the end, anyway.

I've got to get back to studying...but I'll be online until about 6 this morning....

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/4: Esse PMPS+9 Rebound time...

Im wondering if your vet would "loan" you their meter if you said you were interested in buying one. My vet did ask me if I wanted to use theirs for a week when Spike was first dx, I declined because I wasnt going to spend all that money on theirs when mine was perfectly accurate. Remember humans use these meters and they need them to be as accurate as possible...their life depends on it.
 
Re: 3/4: Esse PMPS+9 Rebound time...

Two or three times, my vet has tested my meter against his. I think he thought he'd get a radically different number, and he didn't. The last time, he asked my to show him how I pricked the ear, and I got a big enough blood sample for us both to dip our meters in. I don't remember the numbers exactly, but I think the number difference was like 7 to 10 points. I think my vet was amazed. I use a One Touch Ultra Smart.
Happy Studying.
 
Re: 3/4: Esse PMPS+9 Rebound time...AMPS=370

Hi Michele (1L)

The meter issue is just IMO an argument of equivalent to what size spoon to use to eat ice cream with. Point being, a spoon is a spoon and as long as the ice cream gets eaten, it doesn't matter. The protocol (and there are 2 versions, one for the human meter and one for the animal meter) we use is based on the use of a human meter.

I think the issue you are having with your vet is .... typical... and the result of too much training with other types of insulin. Non-Dx cats who eat low carb food walk around in the 50s.... but vets don't see that in their practice because of several reasons including the lab coat effect (stress). The same people also refer to hypos and somoguy (I can't get that word spelled right grrr) effect when the terms have a very specific definition and the rebound condition experienced by the cat on lantus isn't either - ok... I'm blaming ESL for the lack of clarity here. ;-)

Clinical hypos on lantus using the protocol is very very rare.... do not be affraid my friend. Look at the data from the SS on the board..... it speaks for itself. This does not mean shoot willynilly, it means, be confident. As you know, we have cat safety as our #1 priority and concern and remember..... you always have the last word. Essemama is your cat and we are here to help you!
 
Re: 3/4: Esse PMPS+9 Rebound time...AMPS=370

She's coming back down...yay!! I survived the week...YAY! We BOTH survived the week...YAY!! I cannot begin to tell you how tired I am right now...

About the meter. I am less concerned about her trying to make the vet money than the other vets. She knows my finances, understands the whole student thing. She also isn't treating me like I'm an idiot. She is relying on her training, and like Helene said, she is experienced with other insulin and their issues. She also is not accounting for the lab coat factor. She (and her office) were more nervous about the low numbers than I was, if that makes any sense. Bless her heart - this is why I think she's still reachable/teachable. I'll spend some time researching things, and hopefully Sienne, you can send that article over to me, so I can read it (and perhaps forward to her).

As for the Mamacat, she is a bit less energetic than she's been the last few weeks, but she's also back down in the yellow...clearing the rebound quickly, I think. I am hoping that another 3U cycle and she'll be back down into the blues...but how to get the dose right so she stays in the 60-80 range...that's going to be the trick. I am sure we here at LL can figure it out...she did miss that shot, too. Can't forget that.

I am so tired right now I can't think straight. I felt better about this exam than I have in several exams, but I'll get the results next week...and I can go from there. As for plans for the weekend, I'm hoping to get back up and hang with my horse, and spend time with my father, and catch up on sleep. It's been a hard week for sure. '

Dinner for Esse? Tuna. Dinner for me? Carne Asada nachos...all ingredients from Trader Joes. Yum!

Best-
Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top