3/23 Tugger PMPS 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvie and Tugger

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9866&p=97347#p97347

I fell asleep after the +5 but the alarm woke me for the +6 which was in the 60's. I have him a bit more food with a teensy bit of gravy on it and went back to sleep. Boy picked up food at +10 and woke me but Tugger and I snuggled instead of tested, so I got a +11 of 53. I fed more LC food, no gravy, which he is currently eating. I wasn't sure if I should feed yet, but they were all underfoot and I couldn't think with the choir singing. So I did what the voices told me to and I fed ;) I did kind of figure the no food rule is so we don't get a food spiked number, and I don't think we have to worry too much about that when he's at 53!

So the question is, do I go ahead and give him his new reduced dose of 4.25 in a half hour, on time? I'll obviously want to test to see what breakfast might have done, but do I shoot on time or wait for that number to come up a bit?

+11 (from last night) 53
+12 56 after feeding...
+13 64
+14 101
+16 167
+18.5 190
PMPS - 246
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger AMPS -1 = 53 What to do?

Hi Marvie
I have no dosing advice for you, I am too new but that seems to me to be way to low, I personally wouldn't shoot that low but I am not any kind of expert! Hopefully someone will come along to help you! ~O) I'll be up for a while if you need anything
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger AMPS -1 = 53 What to do?

Wow Tugger.
What + number are you at now? 53 would not be your AMPS unless you shot which I don't believe you have.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger AMPS -1 = 53 What to do?

First, what does AMPS -1 mean?

You do not have the data to shoot a 53. You have a couple of options:
  • skip the shot;
  • stall 15 min, re-test, and do NOT feed. You may need to repeat this several times.

You do not want to shoot on a dropping number and what you're looking for is a rising number (or a surf, but this is too low right now to consider surfing).

Stalling will have an effect on your schedule. I don't know if that's a consideration.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger AMPS -1 = 53 What to do?

Right now is shot time, or should be. The first post would have been +11 from last night. I wasn't sure how to title the post so I used -1. He's at 56 now after eating a normal sized portion of lc food, he's the only one who really ate breakfast.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger AMPS -1 = 53 What to do?

Sienne and Gabby said:
First, what does AMPS -1 mean?

You do not have the data to shoot a 53. You have a couple of options:
  • skip the shot;
  • stall 15 min, re-test, and do NOT feed. You may need to repeat this several times.

You do not want to shoot on a dropping number and what you're looking for is a rising number (or a surf, but this is too low right now to consider surfing).

Stalling will have an effect on your schedule. I don't know if that's a consideration.

At this point I'm less concerned about the schedule than I am about doing it right. Which I guess I screwed up already since I fed after the 53. Since I did that, does this mean I should skip the shot? Am I totally screwing things up by making all these mistakes?
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger - 53 now 56 one hour later

It's not a screw up!! If Tugger's had spiked, we would have considered the food.as a reason for the numbers. As it is, you fed and he's still low. You can try re-testing in another 30 min. but I'm guessing that Tugger may still be low. You can stall for up to 2 hrs. if you want to try to see if you'll be able to shoot. What it's looking like is that Tugger's shed is very full and he's surfing in low numbers.

Any number before AMPS is a +11 (plus a decimal point) from the last PM cycle. If it's an hour past your usual AMPS and you haven't shot, it's +13.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger - 53 now 56 one hour later

Well, it sounds like it won't hurt anything to stall for a while then. We can see where he goes and determine later if he should get his shot. I'm not sure I understand the shed 100% but from what I gather it's not good to skip if you can help it because it can throw the numbers out of whack. We've already done that once, though it didn't really seem to make his numbers go way up or anything. I know we don't have enough data on his patterns yet though, so I'll do whatever you think is best. I know enough to admit when I don't know enough ;)

Should I pick up the food from bfast so the next tests will be food-free numbers?
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger - 53 now 56 one hour later

You have been shooting at 4.5. That's where Tugger's shed is -- at least that much in the reserve tank. However, he doesn't need that much insulin in his shed any more since he earned the reduction. There are also times, like now, when the shed may be overflowing so you're getting low numbers despite it being the end of the cycle. Generally, a skip is the least preferable option; other times it's the best option, especially in light of safety. Today may be one of those days for Tugger.

Sure, you can pick up the food. It doesn't seem like it's made a difference!!
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger - 53 now 56 one hour later

Ahhhh, that is one piece of info I hadn't found yet, how much insulin is actually in the shed. Another piece of info to file away =) He seemed to do alright the other night when we skipped, there was a bit of an overnight spike but I suspect that was him getting into the kitten's dry food before I stopped feeding it. (I think that was the last night I put Echo's food out because he seems to be tolerating the wet food without puking it up finally, little man went through a stage where he'd puke every time he ate big cat food so I put him on kitten kibble for about a month but that seems to be over now) So I suspect you're right. I was kind of excited to give him a reduced dose this morning, I was planning to throw a party and everything ;) I guess we'll have to re-schedule it for tonight if things stay like this today!

It's almost time for his next check... which will be +13. At what point do I figure it's ok to stop testing every half hour? Or are we looking at a pokefest day again? He's tolerating it all very well, so if we have to do it, I doubt he'll fuss much but I'm also sure he'd love a rest lol.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53, +12 56, +13 64, +14 101

Would you shoot now or just go without for this cycle? We're at 101 now, he's been napping for most of the last hour and hasn't eaten since the +13.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53, +12 56, +13 64, +14 101, +16 167

I ended up not shooting. He's a sleepy boy today. So is mommy. I should clean something but I'm really thinking about btb for a couple of hours.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53, +12 56, +13 64, +14 101, +16 167

After a night like that BTB is always good. We'll be there to party tonight, Tess is looking better back in green and wants to show off.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53, +12 56, +13 64, +14 101, +16 167

It always makes me feel bad for the peep, when think they screwed up -- you obviously are a wonderful caretaker, no screw ups here.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53, +12 56, +13 64, +14 101, +16 167

Marvie.. geeez.. you are doing really great.. in fact.. looking at your SS.. I don't think doing any more is humanly possible..

SLEEP SOME OK? aaaaalll the way to PMPS.. NO GETTING UP! numbers will be a little high because of the skipped shot but that's ok.. time for you to catch up on some sleep.. seriously!

YOU ARE GROUNDED!
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53,+1256,+13 64,+14 101,+16 167,+18 190

Well I didn't see the reply till I'd already done his +18 but I won't mind skipping again till pmps =) The girls and I curled up in the recliner with the electric blankie under us (and another blankie under them/on top of me) and slept till the boy came in the back door. I'm thinking he'll be walking the dog tonight and cooking me dinner so I can rest. Might sleep more, but probably won't at this point. I've got a friend coming over for our once a week girl's night. She comes over and we watch Idol together, but I'll pay more attention to the kitties tonight than I did last week and make sure Tugger is staying out of trouble =)

I'd forgotten how schedule changes mess with me, not as young as I used to be lol. I'll see y'all in about 5 hours... gonna go park my butt back in the chair now.
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53,+1256,+13 64,+14 101,+16 167,+18 190

Havent been following your condo till now, but thei looks real exciting--Nice movement her with these amazing numbers--Now by not shooting you can start fresh tomorrow--Great Job here Marvie!!
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53,+1256,+13 64,+14 101,+16 167,+18 190

Thank you =) I may have gone a little overboard with the testing and documenting, but the most common thing I was hearing those first few days were "not enough data" which is the truth since I was only randomly testing before last week. So, I started collecting data ;) Being unsure what things might be important, I've been trying to document everything I can think of to be safe and hopefully provide enough info to the awesome folks who have been helping me out.

Tugger has enjoyed his break from testing this afternoon though =) We're about a half hour out from PMPS and dinner and I've got cats climbing the counters to get to the food I picked up earlier and other cats following every move I make, just in case I might forget that IT'S DINNER TIME NAO! There's also a lot of chatter from them, the girls especially. They are not very happy with all these new food rules lol. I expect to find a hairball in my shoe any day now.

I'm going to go start getting their dinner ready, hopefully I can get them all settled in and have... nope I'm not going to say it. I'm just going to go take care of dinner and that's it.

PS I love that picture in your profile, Moonie looks very much like my Tux =)
 
Re: 3/23 Tugger +11 53,+1256,+13 64,+14 101,+16 167,+18 190

Marvie and Tugger said:
Thank you =) I may have gone a little overboard with the testing and documenting, but the most common thing I was hearing those first few days were "not enough data" which is the truth since I was only randomly testing before last week. So, I started collecting data ;) Being unsure what things might be important, I've been trying to document everything I can think of to be safe and hopefully provide enough info to the awesome folks who have been helping me out.

Don't get me wrong.. lots of testing and documenting is wonderful.. and the more data you collect the easier it will be to get a decent guess at when is good to sleep too hahaha.. but we need you to sleep once in a while now too or else you might end up giving the insulin to the wrong cat!! :)

P.S. I have days where I get a lil squirrelly and double check all day that I'm putting the right medication in the right cat ;). Could just be me though ;).
 
In the yellow at 246 but to be expected. Gave his new 4.25u dose after feeding. Good thing I practiced with water earlier today, that was hard to get. I've only done whole and half units before unless it was accidental due to bubbles or squirting too hard. I also find I'm wasting a lot because I have to draw more in than I need so I can squirt the bubble/excess out to get the line right. I'm not very good at controlling the squirt yet.

Off to watch some TV and eat my dinner now =)
 
I can't take credit for it, and don't even remember who I saw suggest it (but if that person reads this, thanks! :) ).. but somewhere on here a while ago I saw someone suggest twisting the knobby (yeah, here I am getting all technical ahhaa) on the needle instead of pushing, to get tiny bits out.. works great for me.. I don't even push at all (probably do a tiny bit subconsciously), just twist.
 
Twisting... I will try that tomorrow! Thanks =)

We have five cats. Tugger, his littermate Tux, BB our calico girl who is also ten years old and then the two "newbies" Bella the Siamese mix and Echo the wonderkitten who survived life on the streets as a blind baby till my boys found him and brought him home. Let's not forget the canine member of the household, Boomer the Great Dane who is Echo's seeing eye dog (though he's lacking in training but what can you do when it's a kitten training a dog :lol: ) and body guard. They keep me busy ;)
 
I request pictures of the other furries.. and I absolutely DEMAND pictures of Echo.. and strongly request pictures of Echo and Boomer together. :) Dog pictures without cats not nessisary! :).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top