3/22 Molly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Molly

Member Since 2009
Knock on wood, fingers crossed, anti-jinx, Molly's numbers have been pretty good. It's clear that the correct dose is somewhere between 2u and 2.25u bid. With Pamela's help (thanks again Pamela) i decided that if at pre-shot she is below 120 i would shoot 2u. Over 120 i'd shoot 2.25u. I know, i know, that dose should not be determined by preshot but by nadir. For us, it's been working.

Tonight we were right on the cusp - a pmps of 128. I shot a skinny 2.25u and at +3 i'm looking at a 72.

Here's today

amps 142 - shot 2.25u
+10 135
pmps 128 - shot a skinny 2.25 or a fat 2u
+3 72

MIght have to leave care in the hands of Will (the dh), we all know how scary that is!!!! (and if you don't know Will, let me put it this way, i said "oh crap, she's at 72 and it's only the 3rd hour" in which he quickly replied "give her a candy bar, hurry!" -UGH!
 
Michele&Molly said:
Knock on wood, fingers crossed, anti-jinx, Molly's numbers have been pretty good. It's clear that the correct dose is somewhere between 2u and 2.25u bid. With Pamela's help (thanks again Pamela) i decided that if at pre-shot she is below 120 i would shoot 2u. Over 120 i'd shoot 2.25u. I know, i know, that dose should not be determined by preshot but by nadir. For us, it's been working.

Well, as you know that was suggested to you to help you with your comfort level. To give you a 'feel good' shot level where you could be shooting the full dose. There were a few times where you didn't seem certain about whether or not to shoot the full dose on some numbers, so this just helped to give you a cut off point to go by....for now.

But as I mentioned, things will change. This was so you could see what would happen and be comfortable with it.

Michele&Molly said:
Tonight we were right on the cusp - a pmps of 128. I shot a skinny 2.25u and at +3 i'm looking at a 72.

Here's today

amps 142 - shot 2.25u
+10 135
pmps 128 - shot a skinny 2.25 or a fat 2u
+3 72

MIght have to leave care in the hands of Will (the dh), we all know how scary that is!!!! (and if you don't know Will, let me put it this way, i said "oh crap, she's at 72 and it's only the 3rd hour" in which he quickly replied "give her a candy bar, hurry!" -UGH!

I think you could have gone with the full 2.25 and still would have been fine. But, again, this is for you to find out by trial and error. Plus the fact that you cannot be there to test during the day in order for you to ease your mind, does not help.

So stay with the plan! Get those before bed checks (good job tonight) and hopefully as the glucose toxicity clears from her previous high numbers you will be able to find a nice steady dose and be comfortable shooting it. :)

It may very well end up to be around 2 units (and maybe less later). But you don't want to backslide here yet by reducing that dose too soon.

P.S. BTW, can you get any checks before you go out the door for work...i.e. if you are feeding her and shooting her at 6AM and aren't leaving until 8AM?
 
Glad to see the amPS was not horribly high, but it is higher. Will be interested to see the rest of the day. And also what her nadir is. What time is Will leaving?

Well, anyway.. wonder if the 2u/2.25u cut off needs to come up a bit to 135 or so?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top