3/21 Mouzer: PMPS +12 176 /+12.25 118/+12.5 186/+1 265/+2 285/+5 273

Yes to both! You can take a break from tests. Get a second test between +6 and +9 if you can. Just as a data gathering exercise, but it's okay if you want to poke him less and skip the test.

I just realized this is the third day on 1.75
Are we going to leave it at 1.75 a little longer?
And I have noticed it seems that the second day on a new dose is the more active day.
 
Yup! It's 7:30pm here. Sunday's almost over. :)

Your shot time is 8am/pm?

I have shot time moved to 7:45a/7:45p now.
I think I am sticking to that time.
I have slowly moved Mouzer by 5 minutes to get to this time.

If we speak again later this day, you will be speaking to me from Monday hahaha
You know my future hahaha
 
Hope Mouzer slides down for you today :bighug:
So, if there is any blue, it is not remission, even though so much green?
I don't think this is true - a cat not on insulin may occasionally have some blues; however, Jax is on insulin - so the insulin is doing the work and his pancreas is perhaps doing some. To take a cat off insulin, one would dose down the cat little by little (similar to how we dose up). Hope that makes sense.
 
Nice to see some green today. Mouzer may bounce back up tonight from that drop.

I am having high anxiety with what pmps will have to say. And now, I see he can be in high yellow and drop to green hahaha Great! Just Great!
I hate that upward is more comfy for me.
 
They can surprise us sometimes and drop. The thing to keep in mind is you can keep Mouzer safe with testing and feeding. Eventually you'll learn his patters on Lantus.
 
They can surprise us sometimes and drop. The thing to keep in mind is you can keep Mouzer safe with testing and feeding. Eventually you'll learn his patters on Lantus.

An experience I have with Mouzer, and is the Know Thy Cat knowledge that I do have, is that ...
Mouzer did not respond to food, honey or syrup.
This does not help with my confidence in giving a shot at a level that has me too scared to shoot.
 
Which percent carbs did you give him? When Max was stubborn and dropped under 40 I would give gravy and add a little Karo syrup and the combo would bring him up.
 
Last edited:
Which percent carbs did you give him? When Maxwas stubborn and dropped under 40 I would give gravy and add a little Karo syrup and the combo would bring him up.

I thought what I gave was the 20%, which is what I have ordered again.
I cannot recall but that honey was told to be added -- but in my freak out moments, I gave honey and I also put some syrup in his mouth and then I watched with thinking he would come up and I had hoped I did not give too much of the HC items, but it had no impact on him at all.

I have to go prepare for pmps. I will catch an alert if you respond.
 
I did a shot at 204 for Mouzer in 2017. First read was 183, 30 minutes later was 204
I want to stall and see if I can get to this...
And 204 is scary for me and I do not know if anyone will be here if things went low to my trip out zone.
I would rather skip than be sick in a trip out.
 
I am home if you want to shoot and I will check on you. It’s up to you.

I am shaking like a leaf, my heart is pounding and I have cotton mouth.
From 2017 SS, I stalled for 30 minutes and then gave the shot with the 204.
Is that ok to do now? Is a 30 minute wait on the shot ok?
 
A 30 minute wait is fine. The only thing that might happen is he will drop more from not eating. Of course he could also go up. I’m sorry you are getting so anxious. What about doing SLGS? It’s not worth it if this makes you sick. There’s nothing wrong with SLGS. :bighug:
 
A 30 minute wait is fine. The only thing that might happen is he will drop more from not eating. Of course he could also go up. I’m sorry you are getting so anxious. What about doing SLGS? It’s not worth it if this makes you sick. There’s nothing wrong with SLGS. :bighug:

I was doing SLGS but Bandit's Mom and I took it to TR because he needed quicker increases.
She said I can change back to SLGS anytime. I am going by my past experience with Mouzer and am looking over 2017 SS, to see what I chose in these circumstances.
I do see I chose to skip a shot and Mouzer did go way back up but was soon brought back to the greens.
I do not know if this is a time to change back to SLGS or if I should continue TR ... but my TR will have a little different range on the shot ordeal than you all with shooting 50 ahahahahaaa
I wish Marje was here. She knows about Mouzer not being impacted by foods and honey and such. She could advise me here.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-15-mouzer-pmps-25-5-111.179255/#post-1982680
 
You can work your way up to shooting 50. Even with SLGS you would shoot 176. It doesn’t make sense to go by how he acted in 2017. Heck even what happened a month ago won’t necessarily be what happens today.
 
You can work your way up to shooting 50. Even with SLGS you would shoot 176. It doesn’t make sense to go by how he acted in 2017. Heck even what happened a month ago won’t necessarily be what happens today.

And what happened four years ago can happen again :D
There are no guarantees either way.
He could go way down, he could go way up - and it all has my nerves sick :)
 
The other thing with TR vs SLGS, when you have a cat that has come out of remission, the faster you can get him regulated again, the higher the chance of a second remission. TR allows faster increases and more time in green. And as Elise said, what a cat did years ago isn't a measure of what they'll do now.

Mouzer is on his way up now, and will continue to go up until onset in a couple hours. I'll put on my Marje hat "SHOOOOOOT!"
 
The other thing with TR vs SLGS, when you have a cat that has come out of remission, the faster you can get him regulated again, the higher the chance of a second remission. TR allows faster increases and more time in green. And as Elise said, what a cat did years ago isn't a measure of what they'll do now.

Mouzer is on his way up now, and will continue to go up until onset in a couple hours. I'll put on my Marje hat "SHOOOOOOT!"

Mouzer was on his way up earlier today and dropped to what I got at 91 and I dont know if he went lower.
That does not help at all hahaha
I know the faster regulated better chances of remission.
I know I know I Know lololol
I hate thinking I will slow anything but my nerves will only do what they can handle.
I cannot run to emergency.
I will see what read I get next. Maybe it will be better and not have my stomach sick.
 
Mouzer was on his way up earlier today and dropped to what I got at 91 and I dont know if he went lower.
Doesn't matter, that 91 was mid cycle and he's been on his way up since then. That's the trend.

Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food/karo on hand?

Marje's suggestion for almost 4 years ago after steroid induced diabetes and needing less insulin on one particular day, do not relate to now.
 
+12.25 is 118

From what I am seeing, I have no HC food
I have 14% and 15%, honey and karo that have proven not to work in past.
We cannot know if they will work now.
I am not willing to take the chance because if it goes bad, Mouzer will die.
 
Mouzer is giving me the evil eye, every time I walk through the house :D
I headed towards his way and he jumped up, ran and hid.
He is back to where he was before I headed in his direction.
I have to test him again in 20 minutes and I am hoping he does not run faster than I get to him.
 
pmps +1 265
I will get a +2 and being as Mouzer went from high yellows to 91 green after amps, I will be getting a +4 and +6, unless he drops at +2 and needs a +3.
Depending on what these levels have to show, I can make further decisions.
 
Sounds good.

I will feel nervous for a little while. I feel better than I did at pmps but Mouzer trips me out the way he goes way up then all of the sudden way down. He surprises me and leaves me lacking confidence. I do thank you and anyone else who is here for being here. It helps knowing that I am not here all by myself in this.
Dont let my trip out actions disturb you lolol I will have them, it is a given :D
 
pmps +2 285
I will get the +4 and +6 for certain.
I wish I got more after amps, so I could know when Mouzer dropped and if lower than the +7.5 91, but I thought I saw a chance to get some sleep.
How dare we think to get any sleep :D

3/21 Mouzer: AMPS 264/+2 283/+7.5 91/+8.75 123/+10 143/
PMPS +12 176 /+12.25 118/+12.5 186/+1 265/+2 285
 
Last edited:
If you want to get a +4, that's fine, but if he's still yellow, get that sleep. Even if he went a little bit lower than 91 today, still not low enough to earn a reduction.
 
If you want to get a +4, that's fine, but if he's still yellow, get that sleep. Even if he went a little bit lower than 91 today, still not low enough to earn a reduction.

I feel ok that he wont drop to danger, but since I did not test between +2 and +7.5, does it matter that I did not catch when he started the drop?
 
He’s bouncing for sure. It doesn’t matter that you didn’t catch when he started to drop. Get some sleep. Relax.
 
He’s bouncing for sure. It doesn’t matter that you didn’t catch when he started to drop. Get some sleep. Relax.

lol ok - I will go for a +something - I do not think I can sleep now. I am all jacked up on adrenaline and coffee and I did get a bit more sleep last night and then some today. My body most likely will not allow sleep for now. I keep looking over Mouzer's SS because I am trying to figure him out and how to know what he is going to do but I am not experienced enough to fully comprehend -- I just keep looking at what took place from yellow to blue and to green and count how many yellows did he have in between hahaha in hopes I can guestimate him. I dont know that he is guestimateable hahaha
 
I completely agree with Wendy that it’s important to get him regulated as soon as you safely can when coming back from remission.

For example, the TR protocol states to hold the dose 6-10 cycles if the nadir is below 200. But, IMHO, I would not hold him ten cycles with his BG as it currently is. You have experience and you do understand what works for him and what doesn’t although things change over time. Holding ten cycles with curves like this is more for new members.

He has gotten to 91 two cycles but he’s not surfing and he’s got room for an increase. I know you are a bit nervous about it all but you can do this! I’d see what he does tonight but if he doesn’t come back down into green, if you have all the supplies you need including the correct food to help with lower numbers, you could increase tomorrow or even Tuesday if you wanted to give him a total of eight cycles.

Of course, if you elect to wait and he does get into a nice cycle of green tomorrow, you might want to give him a little longer. Let your meter be your guide. And ask :)
 
Last edited:
I completely agree with Wendy that it’s important to get him regulated as soon as you safely can when coming back from remission.

For example, the TR protocol states to hold the dose 6-10 cycles if the nadir is below 100. But, IMHO, I would not hold him ten cycles with his BG as it currently is. You have experience and you do understand what works for him and what doesn’t although things change over time. Holding ten cycles with curves like this is more for new members.

He has gotten to 91 two cycles but he’s not surfing and he’s got room for an increase. I know you are a bit nervous about it all but you can do this! I’d see what he does tonight but if he doesn’t come back down into green, if you have all the supplies you need including the correct food to help with lower numbers, you could increase tomorrow or even Tuesday if you wanted to give him a total of eight cycles.

Of course, if you elect to wait and he does get into a nice cycle of green tomorrow, you might want to give him a little longer. Let your meter be your guide. And ask :)

Thank You! I will get a few more test throughout this pm cycle. If he does not go low this pm cycle, I will give 2.0u in the am.
If he does go low and this pm cycle leaves me uncomfy for increasing dose in the am, I will see how he does throughout tomorrow and see about the Tuesday increase.
And from here for future days to come, I will pay attention to the how low and long of green we get and decide if a cycle 6 or 8 is warranting an increase.
-And I do grasp that he has only touched green, so we are not there yet and an increase might be just what we need to do.
 
Back
Top