Laura and Harley (GA)
Member Since 2011
'Morning all. Sorry, I forgot to wish everyone a Happy St. Patrick's Day yesterday. Hope it was great! :mrgreen:
Started Harley's new meds. last night: Prednisolone at night, fluids in the morning and buprenex in both morning and evening. And I've got to figure out when I can get either lactulose or miralax into him because he's not going for the pumpkin much anymore. Poor kid, I don't blame him.
I find myself in unfamiliar territory - with the pain, change in food to higher carb, lower fat, and the prednisolone on board, I find he's zooming. Yesterday was his first yellow day since he was first diagnosed. From what I've been reading, prednisolone can create temporary insulin resistance and drive up BGs.
So we are back to bid dosing starting today because I need to raise his doses (at least until he's better) - maybe by a lot. AMPS was 291. So I shot 0.5u and will check it at Noon. Maybe tonight I'll have to raise higher to 0.75 or even 1u.
Health and GD/GN to you all.
Started Harley's new meds. last night: Prednisolone at night, fluids in the morning and buprenex in both morning and evening. And I've got to figure out when I can get either lactulose or miralax into him because he's not going for the pumpkin much anymore. Poor kid, I don't blame him.
I find myself in unfamiliar territory - with the pain, change in food to higher carb, lower fat, and the prednisolone on board, I find he's zooming. Yesterday was his first yellow day since he was first diagnosed. From what I've been reading, prednisolone can create temporary insulin resistance and drive up BGs.
So we are back to bid dosing starting today because I need to raise his doses (at least until he's better) - maybe by a lot. AMPS was 291. So I shot 0.5u and will check it at Noon. Maybe tonight I'll have to raise higher to 0.75 or even 1u.
Health and GD/GN to you all.