3/18 Harley AMPS 291 PMPS 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
'Morning all. Sorry, I forgot to wish everyone a Happy St. Patrick's Day yesterday. Hope it was great! :mrgreen:

Started Harley's new meds. last night: Prednisolone at night, fluids in the morning and buprenex in both morning and evening. And I've got to figure out when I can get either lactulose or miralax into him because he's not going for the pumpkin much anymore. Poor kid, I don't blame him.

I find myself in unfamiliar territory - with the pain, change in food to higher carb, lower fat, and the prednisolone on board, I find he's zooming. Yesterday was his first yellow day since he was first diagnosed. From what I've been reading, prednisolone can create temporary insulin resistance and drive up BGs.

So we are back to bid dosing starting today because I need to raise his doses (at least until he's better) - maybe by a lot. AMPS was 291. So I shot 0.5u and will check it at Noon. Maybe tonight I'll have to raise higher to 0.75 or even 1u.

Health and GD/GN to you all.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

Hard to think about adjusting upward when you were doing so well. But you are right on top of things and will do the very best for your Harley. Hope things settle out soon for you two.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

Sue and Oliver said:
Hard to think about adjusting upward when you were doing so well. But you are right on top of things and will do the very best for your Harley. Hope things settle out soon for you two.

Yeah, it is a real setback. But I know I've got to stop or at least slow this upward climb. I'm scared of ketones. Cross paws, antijinx, antijinx.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

Pretty good +6 for a Harley who is not feeling good. You are right on top of things and your persistence paid off (in finding the pancreatitis). Hope Harley feels better soon.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

Thanks Holly - truth to be told , I'm scared to death and still trying to figure out what it is I'm supposed to be doing, but also trying to push through that for my boy's sake. One of my co-workers here has a 10 year old dog who was diagnosed with pancreatitis last week while I was on vacation. Apparently his progression is rapidly going downhill and it looks like he may not recover. Between that on one hand and all the kitty DKA cases I'm reading about on the other, I feel like a tightrope walker trying balance the pole while trying not to fall.

The good news is Harley seemed to be feeling a little better at lunchtime. With his fluids on board, his buprenex and prednisolone possibly working a little, he ate 1/4 can of a Fancy Feast Elegant Medley Chicken Fare on his own. OK, I cheated and added some FortiFlora to it. :twisted:
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

I can relate to the "scared to death" comment.

Just want to let you know I am thinking about you and Harley and wishing you the best. I admire your courage.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

I can relate too. I thought the diabetes was hard enough for me to handle, let alone adding in other complications. Just take it a day at a time and as Sue says, remember to breathe. Glad to hear that Harley is eating a little better. Baby steps and paws crossed he'll be on his way to feeling better.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291

PMPS=164

Never underestimate the power of a steroid and pain medicine! Got to figure out what I'm going to shoot. nailbite_smile
 
Rats, I didn't see your post Sue. I just shot 0.20u. I've shot both 0.10u and 0.20u for the 160s. It's kind of a crapshoot at this point. The difference between now and then was I was feeding 4% carb food and now he's eating 9-11% carbs so there's more for the insulin to work with. Plus I'm about to give his prednisolone pill and we had an unholy battle last night. Forget the pill pockets and the gel caps that the vet gave me. He just kept spitting it out and I ended up getting only 1/2 a pill into him. I figure I'm in for more of the same tonight and that's got to be stressful and will raise BGs. I'll be home and watching him just in case. He's lucky I love him so much! ;-)
 
Aww...good luck tonight with the pills. So hard when you're doing what's best and they fight you. Harley is definitely a very lucky kitty. I almost forgot the good part...yeah for a nice PMPS!
 
Thanks Holly! Thank goodness he let me get the pill in him on the third try tonight.

+2=318

Well, I know the pred. is working! I'm toying with giving a 1u shot. Thoughts? I won't shoot until I get some input. Now I know how this is going to operate, the insulin resistance is rearing it's ugly head in the PM and will wear off during the day.
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291 PMPS 164 PM+2=318 Please Advise

Boy, I don't know, Laura. You mean shooting one unit again now? I don't think I would shoot again. You don't have any real history of when and if the pred wears off or how that affects the insulin. After tonight you might be able to think that you will need a higher pm dose to counter it and give it first, then shoot a higher dose?

Would you want to post on Health and ask for specific advice on dose change and pred? I just have no history - never used it.

High numbers are scary but a hypo is worse.....
 
Re: 3/18 Harley AMPS 291 PMPS 164 PM+2=318 Please Advise

Sue and Oliver said:
Boy, I don't know, Laura. You mean shooting one unit again now? I don't think I would shoot again. You don't have any real history of when and if the pred wears off or how that affects the insulin. After tonight you might be able to think that you will need a higher pm dose to counter it and give it first, then shoot a higher dose?

Would you want to post on Health and ask for specific advice on dose change and pred? I just have no history - never used it.

High numbers are scary but a hypo is worse.....

You're right, sorry, I guess I'm not used to seeing pink - we've been so spoiled! I don't want a hypo. Maybe a 0.5u would have been a more reasonable suggestion. I know it brought the 291 down nicely this morning and that was with the pred. on the downswing.

Hard as this is to do, you are right and cooler heads need to prevail. I'll gather data tonight so I can see what I should do for tomorrow night. I just hate seeing him hide in the closet like he's doing because he doesn't feel well.
 
You'd posted that to my other thread and I did read it. JoJo is a wealth of CP knowledge! I'll admit I haven't looked into the alternative therapies like milk thistle yet. I'll bet that one tastes real good going down. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top