3/1 Rocky PMPS 369 +2 347 +7 260 +9 179

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

I had a feeling that raising Rocky's insulin dose by a full .25u, from 1.75u up to 2.0u might send him diving. And I was right.. I was so worried about it I barely slept last night. I started intervening with the HC Friskies wet when Rocky's BG went to 55 at 2/28 PMPS +8.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114622

He is is now about one hour and a half away from his morning shot time. If I stall with the shot it is going to push that shot time too forward for me. The last time I had to stall the shot I never went back to his regular shot time. So, first he got his shot at 8am.. for awhile now he has been getting it at 9am. I can't do a 10am shot. I have too much to do during my days.

His BG went up to 60 since his second (1) TBS of HC Friskies. No Karo added at either of the HC food interventions. Did not give any food with a BG of 60.

Not sure what to do about his shot time now..or whether to give a shot at all this morning. :roll:

Will retest Rocky at +11.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60

Hi Tina,
Great job on keeping Rocky safe last night. So, will you be available all day to monitor Rocky if you decide to shoot? Looks like the lowest you've ever shot is 105. Do you have a no shoot number in mind? Curious to see Rocky's +11. Will Rocky's +12 be 2 hours after his last meal?
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60

Great. So no more food until shot time (unless he goes under 50 on his own) and let's just see where he's at. You'd be surprised by how quickly they will start to climb sometimes getting near shot time. Let's see what his body does between now and then ;-)
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Whoa! Just saw that 44. It's a no brainer. No shot.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Tina. You doing ok? Did you get a good sample? You could always retest to make sure he's really that low.
 
DIVING Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Hi Laura,

Well, his last full meal was at 9PM last night. When his BG went to 55 at +8 , I knew that he was going to go lower than that so I began the HC food intervention.

So, he has eaten (1)TBS of HC Friskies at 5am; another at 7am, and another at 8am. He is suppose to get his morning meal at 9am with is shot.

Not sure what to do now..
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Test every 15 minutes until he has 2 rising numbers without the influence of food. Do you have karo or syrup handy JIC?
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Feed him some hc now and retest after 20 min (takes time for the food to show). Don't worry about the morning shot, it's not happening on this schedule. Let's get him back up
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Yup,

I have the Karo sitting on the counter right beside the HC Friskies. I wanted to hold off using the Karo syrup to see if I could bring his BG up by just feeding him the HC Friskies. Rocky has always had a good appetite. The only time he has not had a good appetite is when he went DKA. This morning, he is excited as ever to see me coming with that HC Friskies, nearly jumping into the air to eat it, as if he were a dog. :lol:
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Tina, you could give him a few drops of karo just to get him up above 50 but remember karo wears off quickly. Food is the best option. You've been giving him 1T last few hours. You could maybe try an extra 1 teaspoon. Either more food or higher carb % may work to get him up.
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Hi Tina!

You "feed the forties"...no matter when they happen, but I usually like to try a teaspoon of China's regular LC food and retest in 20 minutes. This is where it's important to "Know Thy Cat" and how sensitive to carbs they are.

If you do stall, do you know you can work your way back 30 minutes a day to your chosen shot times? Just because you stalled once and are now shooting at 9 instead of 8, if 8 works better for you, you can either shoot 15 minutes early PER CYCLE or 30 minutes early PER DAY until you're back where you want to be.

I think I'd probably give a BCS since there's no way to know how the food will affect his pre-shot levels. Of course, if he's still under 50, I'd not shoot at all unless and until he was obviously climbing without the influence of HC food ...but I understand your schedule might not allow it.

Good luck! They sure like to keep us on our toes, don't they?
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Are you available to monitor him as much as necessary this morning (2 rising numbers without benefit of food)?
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Tina & Rocky said:
If I stall with the shot it is going to push that shot time too forward for me. The last time I had to stall the shot I never went back to his regular shot time. So, first he got his shot at 8am.. for awhile now he has been getting it at 9am. I can't do a 10am shot. I have too much to do during my days.

Tina - I'm assuming this means that you're not considering still shooting today, correct?
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Something I just noticed on your spreadsheet.

Is there a reason you only held the 1.75 for 4 cycles? He's definitely earned the decrease back to that when you're back to giving regular shots.

You might want to either give a BCS or skip today's morning shot if your schedule is tight..let his depot drain a little. ( I personally favor the BCS just because I know China will come up with the HC food...and then there's the inevitable bounce to deal with, so giving some might be better than giving nothing IF you're able to be home to test today)

He'll get back on track soon enough
 
Re: DIVING 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44

Tina - Rocky has dropping numbers and you've never shot this low and you don't have much data or experience with shooting this low a number. If Rocky were my kitty, I would consider skipping the shot.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

Chris and Laura-
Definitely not going to give Rocky a shot this morning.

Rocky's BG went back up to 62 after eating the latest (1)TBS of HC Friskies. His normal, regular, LC mealtime is in one half hour. (at 9am) I am going to go ahead and feed him that LC meal, even if his BG is below 50, and then see where his BG goes from there..

Chris, I was advised to hold the 1.75u shot for at least 4 cycles. Maybe I could have held it for longer, but because Rocky went DKA that one time, I am really afraid of a sea of pink numbers. I was told I could raise it after 4 cycles and I really wanted to raise it.

I wonder what his BG will be at +12. :roll:

Chris, what is a BCS?
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +12 62

BCS....Big Chicken Sh** (or big chicken shot)

It's giving less than the scheduled shot just so you don't lose ALL momentum, but not giving a full dose. It can be anything from just a little less, to a half shot or even less. It just keeps SOME insulin in so you don't drain the depot so much, but it's important that you are able to test today

For example..giving 1 unit instead of 1.75 or 2...or even less...as long as you can stay home to test today and have HC food around if necessary

I understand your concern seeing those sea's of pink, but if you're testing for ketones, it might be safer to just stay with at least 6 cycles for now.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

Tina & Rocky said:
Rocky's BG went back up to 62 after eating the latest (1)TBS of HC Friskies. His normal, regular, LC mealtime is in one half hour. (at 9am) I am going to go ahead and feed him that LC meal, even if his BG is below 50, and then see where his BG goes from there..

Since you're skipping the shot, feeding LC is a good plan but remember you have to see the 2 rising numbers without the influence of food before you can assume Rocky's fine. In MHO, because you just recently increased his dose, and because he's been going up and down this morning, I'd be a little more diligent in making sure he's ok before backing off.

I actually have to head out so won't be around but they'll be others around if you need any advice. Great job keeping him safe Tina.

Since you've skipped the shot, you can adjust his shot time to any time that works best for you.

So, if you want to go back to the 8am shot time, now's the time to do it.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

I kind of don't want Rocky skip a shot, but I am also afraid to give hm even a reduced dose.

It could get crazy here in about one hour, that's one hour after Rocky's normal shot time... :dizcat The delivery of our washer and dryer happens anytime between 10am - 2pm today, and I will be the only one home to deal with it. I won't be able to check Rocky during all of the commotion of removing the old machines and testing the new machines.

To me, it looks like his BG wants to go a bit too low, and then I bump it back up to an acceptable number by feeding him the HC Friskies. I hope his normal LC meal with push him up to a higher green, or even into the 100s, for now.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

Keeping your day in mind and the fact that you are wanting to shoot at 8 instead of 9 anyways I think Laura makes an excellent point that the skip will get you back on track. Tonight you could shoot at 8pm then. And personally I would be clenching the butt cheeks to shoot this morning at any time, and then not be able to be focused only on Rocky ;-)
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

MrZ said:
Since you've skipped the shot, you can adjust his shot time to any time that works best for you.

So, if you want to go back to the 8am shot time, now's the time to do it.

Oops. What I meant was you can do his shot at 8pm tonight and then 8am tomorrow and going forward. I was not proposing a shot this AM.

I hope Rocky doesn't spike but he may because of the low numbers this last cycle. It's just part of the process so don't let it upset you. The most important thing is to keep him safe.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10 54 +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62

i think a great take-away to learn from this is that Rocky needs the full 6 cycles to settle in to a dose. part of the reason i thought it was ok to increase was you were starting from a fat 1.5u, then to 1.75u, which wasn't a full 0.25u increase.

i would stay with the 0.25u increase/decreases for now, rather than fattening and skinnying doses.

it wouldn't be at all surprising for him to be sky-high by tonight from the skipped shot. just be prepared for it and don't let it bother you. the likely bounce may very well keep him in high numbers for 3 days - again, you have to sit through it without wanting to increase because of them.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47

Thanks everyone for being here and guiding me through Rocky's low numbers--- AGAIN!!

He went to 47 after the last test.. Rocky's BG is doing a yo-yo dance! dancing_cat

Yah, I think I've made the correct decision to skip his morning shot and just feed him his regular LC meal on time. I will retest at +12.30 to see what effect it's had on his BG.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47

Hi Julie,

I hope he doesn't bounce too high for too long. I will try to sit on my hands for as long as I can.. You are right. We learned something about the timing of his dosecreases. It appears it takes longer for his dosecreases to kick into his system. Either that, or his depot was really kind of drained from the FAT 1.50u and the 1.75u wasn't doing much to help it.

I was fine with the increase to 2.0u. I WANTED it for him. I was just afraid that it would be too much for his system and need some refining. However, since you've suggested let's not do 'fat and skinny' with him right now, I will hold off on that approach and stick with the flat doses.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47

OK Rocky. You made your point and you get the reducie, so let's come up now. As Laura and Julie mentioned, you will probably see some big numbers after this (bounce) but Rocky and his liver will get it all figured out. Just don't let the higher stuff get you down. You are truly doing a fabulous job with him Tina and he is VERY lucky to have you as his mamabean :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47

Tina, since Rocky keeps heading back down you might consider feeding more volume or higher carb. We don't want him in the 40s. We went him higher and steady.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +10.3 60 +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47

the goal is to give him the least necessary to get over 50 and stay there. you might keep dancing with him for a while, but every hour he spends in greens helps his body to get used to it and will ultimately reduce the bouncing.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50

I understand the higher and steady to keep him safe, at the same time, I don't want to send his BG over the moon again. :sad:

I was wondering if keeping him at around 50 for a longer period of time, rather than shooting his BG way up into the sky, would help him stay at lower BG numbers? :roll:
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50

Julie you were reading my mind there!! I am really nervous right now. Rocky has eaten that LC morning meal. I retested at 1/2 hr after eating and his BG was at 50. I want him to stay there, or to go a little bit up instead of down.

I am holding off feeding him more HC Friskies for at least another 15 minutes. I will feed him more of that *if* his BG has fallen below 50 again when I retest at +13.

He is happy and active. He doesn't look sick or lethargic at all.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50

Perfect Tina. Rocky has been maintaining at the amount you have been giving so keep that up. It really sounds like you have a good grasp on the concepts :-D
However, there is no need for him to be in the 40's as these are not healing or safe, so just keep bumping him up.
Rocky, you do know 80 or 90 is just as healing as a 50 but easier on the beans right? ;-)
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50

Considering you didn't shoot he's probably fine but it's just curious that he kept dropping so late in the cycle and even after having feed him HC.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11 44 +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50

i just know how much those high numbers are upsetting to you. i'm not *really* a mindreader, i just know you! :-D

If you see him start to rise to a # you feel comfortable with shooting, you could go ahead and shoot late, then deal with the "what to do to get back on schedule?" question later. Knowing you, i think you'd be happier shooting either a token dose (say 1u) soon, just to give something, or shooting the 1.75u as soon as he gets to a number you are comfortable with. i suspect even with the appliance people, you could sneak away for 2 minutes here and there to test him.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

Julie,

I am surprised you do know me that well!! However, I do ALWAYS complain about those stinky pinky numbers and the reds throw me into a near panic.

Yes, I would like to keep some insulin in his depot. If I had my way, I'd shoot. But, at the same time, I am really afraid of bringing him too low this time. His BG only moved up 2 points in the last 1/2 hr. He keeps moving up and down on this very thin line..

I will retest him at +13.30 to see where he is at. He gets his normal LC 2nd meal of the day at +14. I wonder what would be a safe number to shoot at +14 after he has eaten?
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

:lol: if i recall correctly, one earlier time you were going to skip you got up and shot in the middle of the night. ;-) nothing wrong with that, i was just thinking you are more likely to want to still shoot this morning if you can.

you shot a 105 on the 15th. Could you lower your comfort zone to 90 or so? remember, those lower preshots are a gift, giving you the opportunity to lower the entire range of numbers. i think you were absolutely right (and all the advice from others too) to not shoot a 40's or 50's, but experienced people will shoot 60's. it's a know your cat issue, combined with being able to monitor.

whatever you decide to do, get a +1 and +2 to make sure you know he's not diving back down from it. that's essential!!!
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

Tina, I don't think that I would feed the regular feeding. you are going to see a food influenced number and with as low as he is and flirting so long there....If it was me, no way to a full meal at this point.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

I agree with Julie...As long as you're home to test, and have the supplies needed if you need to use them, I'd suggest you go ahead and give the 1 unit. It will keep him from draining the depot so much and may help ease the bounce he's bound to have at some point.

The stress of having the appliance people might even raise him higher.

Hopefully he'll give you a CLEAR indication on your next test that he's on his way up to stay!
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

oops! Posted at same time as Julie :lol: But yes, if he gets up to a safe area on his own...
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +11.30 62 +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52

If you're up for it, I agree shooting when he's higher would be a good idea.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52 +13.30 61 +14 77

Hi everyone!

Delivery people came right after I took +13.30 test, darn it. I have been running around, helping them, holding door open, until just now.

Quickly ran to get Rocky his +14 meal. I'm sorry, I didn't see your post until it was too late. I ran to take it away from him but he had SCARFED up the entire 1/2can with (2)TBS of water in about 30 secs!!
igher
Ok.. so his BG PRE feeding was 77. So he is now rising up without the HC foods. This LC food should make him go higher too.

It's 11:19am here. Do you think I should shoot when he gets to 80, or is it 90, no matter what time of the day it is?

Thanks!
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52 +13.30 61 +14 77

you can shoot him at any point you feel comfortable, including 77. as i said, experienced people will shoot 60's, some even 50's. you just have to monitor.

whenever you make the call it's fine.
 
Re: 3/1 Rocky AMBG +12 47 +12.30 50 +13 52 +13.30 61 +14 77

I decided to give him the shot of 1.75u at +14.30. I will retest him at +1.

Does that mean I will need to give him his second shot tonight at 11:30PM, provided his BG numbers are within a normal range?
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77

If it was 11:30am there, then yes at 11:30pm tonight. You could move back a half hour ONCE per day, so you could do 11pm
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147

So here goes his climb, the bounce. doubled his BG numbers in one hour, now at 147.I don't think Rocky's numbers will be falling any time soon. Glad I decided to give him the shot instead of skipping it.
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147

Thank you everyone!!

I will get a +2 as well, to make sure that he is not diving back down from the AM shot.

My car broke down last night while making my CC (community cat) rounds. I smelled the electrical smoke, then my instrument panel lights started to dim, and the battery light came on. I drove to one more place to feed the CC cats and then the car wouldn't start. Had to call DH to come pick me up. He was none too happy. I forgot to renew our AAA membership so looks like if we have to tow it, we'll need to cover those costs. In addition, I don't know if I mentioned this before, we had to get a new alternator for it about one week ago as the same thing happened to me. Luckily that time I was able to drive it into a gas station that also does repairs.

I have to go take care of my car sometime today. I hope that Rocky's numbers will at least stay in the blue while doing all of that. Need to wait for DH to get home from his bike ride so that he can take me to my car.

About the washer and dryer, and you a few of you ladies being jealous. Oh my goodness.. well, it's good but it is also bad. Washers cost A LOT of money these days and who knows if they will last as long as their older sister models. The one that I had, that finally died on us, was 22 years old and built in Kansas. GE no longer has repair parts for that model of machine.

Anyway, to get any kind of energy efficiency you'll have to pay at LEAST $700.00 for a washer. In addition, the front loads are so HUGE that they don't fit in any small space.

I had to have the matching dryer too, of course, although the 10 year old machine is working fine. We just bought this house and moved here in 2012. We had to bring our old appliances with us. I knew that one day we would need to replace these machines, I just didn't think it would be so soon.

DH is very unhappy about this purchase. He thinks we should have bought a $250-$500 model. We were in total disagreement about this. When I looked at everything in that price range they were not energy efficient, and, they were all small capacity washers, like from 3.4cu ft. to 3.6cu. ft. That drum size isn't even the size of my old dead washing machine. Our new Samsung washer is 5.0cu. ft.

I'm very happy to have the new washer and dryer but it was a TON OF MONEY and we put it on credit w/ zero percent interest for 18 months. It will be Ok.. I figure it will pay for itself in about 3 years and the plan is to keep them for at least 10 yrs, if not 20 yrs.

In a few years you ladies who want the new washer will be leaps and bounds ahead of me. You will pay a lot less for your new machine, and it will be even MORE energy efficient, saving you lots of money. :mrgreen:
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147

Good shooting Tina!!

Glad we talked you into it...LOL

Hopefully he won't bounce too high and will surf those pretty blue numbers for the rest of the day so you can get some rest! It's been a stressful day so far for you!
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147

Oh Tina what a day! I so understand what you went and are going thru! Great job!

Rocky now listen Momma has a ton of things to get done and we need you to co-operate!

To bad you are not in MN we own the local mechanical shop here and have lots of tow trucks. :razz:
Hope all goes well.
 
Re: SHOT! 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147

Good luck with getting your running around done (darn car). And nope, no matter what you say, I'm still jealous. :lol:
 
Re: New Dinner time? 3/1 Rocky AMPS 77 +1 147 +2 224

Because Rocky's PM shot time is now mando moved to at least 11PM tonight, when do I feed him his evening meal?

In the past, I would give him his food after testing PMPS, then let him eat his meal, then give him his shot.

This morning I gave him him his breakfast at the normal time (8AM), and then stalled the shot until after his normal 2nd meal of the day (11AM).

What time should I feed him his dinner tonight? Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top