2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- PMPS 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bustercat

Member Since 2009
Sunny yellow this morning. Don't know why he is having yellow days and then pink days... I'll try to do a curve this week, or weekend sometime.

Calling area vets to find a discount dental for pet dental health month. Gotta swing by and pick up the Capstar too. Busy day :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276

Whoa! Just called two different vets here in town, the both quoted me over $600 for a dental!
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276

AHHH! Just got home from work and found the full syringe still on the counter! I tested and fed, and forgot to shoot before I ran out the door!!!

I'm scared to test him right now!

His regular shot time is in 1hr and 20 minutes. Do I wait until his regular shot time to shoot???

ETA: Just tested him 327. Guess it could have been worse :roll:
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- Forgot to shoot!!!

Make sure you find out what's involved in the "discount" dental. The two other prices are pretty comparable to what I paid. Keep in mind that Buster will be under anesthesia for this procedure and you want to have him carefully monitored.

Jill put together this list of what should be done and/or what you need to ask about:

1). pre-dental antiobiotic - clindamyacin (begin 5 days prior to dental)
2). have pre-dental x-rays done.
3). have bloodwork done.
4). monitor blood pressure with doppler machine.
5). monitor heart rate.
6). IV fluids - only if needed. place an IV cath prior to procedure so there is quick veinous access, but don't need fluids unless kidneys are compromised.
7). anesthesia - Isoflurane? or sevo? either of these are good choices.
8). do you administer pain meds during the dental and after? would like buprenex if there are extractions.
9). post dental antiobiotics - administer clindamyacin for 5 days post-dental. do not give 14 day covenia shot.
10). use fortiflora (probiotic) while on antibiotics.
11). perform post dental x-rays to make sure nothing was missed.
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- Forgot to shoot!!!

I think you wait to shoot until normal shot time, but don't trust me. Too new at this...let's wait to see what others say.
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- Forgot to shoot!!!

Yeah, I forgot to shoot one day too...tested and then just went about my business and 3 hours later said .... wait a minute! Then kicked myself around the house for an hour or so. It didn't really do too much damage, just had a high number for the day, and not even that much higher.

Unless you want to change your shot time to an earlier time, you need to wait until the regular time to shoot as the next shots after that will have to be at 12 hour intervals.
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276

Bustercat said:
AHHH! Just got home from work and found the full syringe still on the counter! I tested and fed, and forgot to shoot before I ran out the door!!!

I'm scared to test him right now!

His regular shot time is in 1hr and 20 minutes. Do I wait until his regular shot time to shoot???

ETA: Just tested him 327. Guess it could have been worse :roll:
I would consider it a fur shot... and go on with life. It happens.
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- Forgot to shoot!!!

Shucks..... geez... it is Ok....
I have a not so funny thing that has been happening to me.. I get up at 3:30am each morning, BG test Baby, feed & shoot.. then we go back to bed for 2 hours.. so I get up, shower.. get ready for work & then test her at +3 before I walk out the door....... the last few mornings (& we have been at this about a month... I wake up to the sound of the 2 hour back to bed alarm.. & freak out..with a complete sense of panic.. thinking I overslept her shot..) I figure it out.. but really have to stop & think.. so... I am now leaving myself a note on the counter.. which I will remove once I shoot... so I know what I did & did not do :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Buster- AMPS 276- Forgot to shoot!!!

fur shots happen. ;-) Please make a note on your spreadsheet so if things get wonnky the next couple of days we'll remember why. Actually it's hard to imagine Buster's numbers getting wonky, he is the picture of consistency.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top