2/8 LILY AMPS - 143, is 1.25 units the proper dosage?

Calicos are Best (GA)

Member Since 2019
Good Morning!

Woke up and Lily's AMPS is 143. Yesterday morning her AMPS was 92. Would 1.25 units be ok to give this morning? Yesterday Lily's AM shot was skipped w/ breakfast, but she did get her PM shot 12 hours ago with dinner.
 
Good Morning!

Woke up and Lily's AMPS is 143. Yesterday morning her AMPS was 92. Would 1.25 units be ok to give this morning? Yesterday Lily's AM shot was skipped w/ breakfast, but she did get her PM shot 12 hours ago with dinner.
just looking at SS
How are you fixed for today time wise?
Have you got any high carb food you could give her.
I don't want to skip like we did yesterday because of the DKA.

How is she feeling?
 
If you haven't fed yet,
what I would suggest is that we stall for 20 minutes without feeding, then test again, sorry Lily, and see where her BG is heading. It may be that she's already on her way up or it may be she is dropping further. Our strategy would be different depending on where she is at.
 
I should be pretty good to be at home most of the day. I only have to run a couple small errands in town. My mom was very sick yesterday. As long as she doesn't progress and need to go to hospital or any facilities I can be homebound. I have other family members that are here too.

I actually only have Lily's normal diet - kitten fancy feast. The most carby food I have is royal canin glycobalance. So maybe today I need to get some cans of gravy fancy feast to have on hand at the store today or something. I usually don't have any foods that are high carby for her because I thought they were bad. What is a good carby food to have on hand?
 
Ohh I like that strategy! I can feed and wait 20 mins to check again. I forgot to answer. she is good this morning! Normal and hungry like usual.
 
The Glycobalance is 13 %, and you can bump the carbs up by adding a bit of honey to that, a couple of drops should we need to.

When you shoot you will need to start by getting a +1 and a +2 at the very least, maybe more if she drops early, and if she does start to drop early in the cycle we may need to start feeding the curve to try and flatten her out it is easier to control the BG if you get in there a little earlier, but I will walk you through this.

I have different foods available in europe, but I believe most use the gravy lovers, I'll get someone to pop round with advice for that a little bit later.
 
lol, phewww ok you just stopped me on time! I read before I gave her food. I put her food in the closet. Now I have a noisy hungry kitty. I will wait 17 more mins before i check again. Have not fed her yet.
 
lol, phewww ok you just stopped me on time! I read before I gave her food. I put her food in the closet. Now I have a noisy hungry kitty. I will wait 17 more mins before i check again. Have not fed her yet.
Can you test her now, it's 20 min since you got the 143, let's see where she is at.
I'd like to avoid you getting to far of schedule
 
The Glycobalance is 13 %, and you can bump the carbs up by adding a bit of honey to that, a couple of drops should we need to.

Does this mean I should feed Lily glycobalance or her regular meal? I prepared her regular kitten fancy feast meal with water in the closet. I can save it if she shouldn't eat that right now.
 
OK she's not dropping dramatically, she probably needs some food in her belly.

If this were me I would shoot the full dose of 1.25u, I don't want to reduce her till she earns the reduction.
Because of the DKA I'm reticent to suggest a one time reduced dose. But if you felt that's the way you wanted to go I would not shoot less than 1u, and to be honest any reduction will not likely affect the early part of the cycle but just cause her to be higher at the end.

I feel that a better option given the DKA would be to shoot the full dose and feed higher carbs if we need to, especially as you are able to be with Lily and there are folk about than can continue to feed her if you have to leave to attend to your mum.
 
OK, so you're saying feed her breakfast like usual, give Lily 1.25 units of insulin and monitor her +1, +2 glucose readings? which would be in like 10-12 mins would be +1, thennnnn check her + 2? Then after those readings decide whether to feed her glycobalance and honey?
 
If you post your +1 I will be here to guide you with the food choices after each test, George is keeping me busy:rolleyes: so not going anywhere, and in any case if we encourage someone to shoot we only do that if we can be there to make sure we can guide them and support them, until the excitement has passed, or we can get someone else with experience to take over.

So I'm not going to leave you in the lurch.
 
Thanks Gill! How is your George doing this morning? :cat: You guys are so good at this stuff! I am always amazed...like when you said that her BG might go down so we needed to check again. I was in shock when I saw it go to 128...I was like what??? How can is possibly be going down more now.
 
I was in shock when I saw it go to 128...I was like what???
128 was down a bit but not much. It's the end of the cycle she hasn't had food for a good while, so it's not unusual to see them dip a little when we stall, but equally she could have been going up, it would have also been feasible that she had actually dropped lower earlier in the cycle and that the 143 you got was her on the way up to another bounce, or her insulin duration might have been up, in both those instances we would have seen the second test actually be higher.

With George I often got up one hour before shot time got a +11 and then got a PS I liked to know whether his numbers were on the rise or dropping. If they were rising at PS then usually the cycle even if active, would be less exciting.. But if he was dropping at PS compared to his +11 then I knew I had to hold on to my hat.
 
Wow! You certainly understand the way the numbers work very well! I'll have to keep those tips you are providing in mind. Very good advice. I just checked Lily and updated her SS. She is now at 95. I checked about 10 mins ago. Is the next step to check at + 2?
 
But please update with a +1.5 as soon as you get it so I can advise you promptly and you can take prompt action if needed. I want to help you try to avoid chasing the numbers, the best way to do this is if we can communicate effectively in near enough real time.

I'm sorry I know that perhaps there are other things going on. It's not a disaster if you can't but it will work a lot better if you can.
 
She's not in any danger, you have got this.
We just need to manage the numbers and as your girl is a little guzzler it makes it all much easier, plus it's good that she is getting a few extra calories given her DKA recent history.
Just breath.

So next step is get a +2.

Do you have some of that urinary food from the other cat available? that was quite high in carbs?
 
Ok so + 2 would be in 9 mins. I could grab some of the other kitties food if needed. Would it be ok to use the dry kind? My family member is very picky if I take the wet kind. They won't notice if I take the dry. lol
 
Ok so + 2 would be in 9 mins. I could grab some of the other kitties food if needed. Would it be ok to use the dry kind? My family member is very picky if I take the wet kind. They won't notice if I take the dry. lol
The wet is a better choice, because it won't have a prolonged effect on the BG, it will to in and out of the system very quickly.

You could stick with the glycobalance and some honey (a couple of teaspoons of gravy with honey added) if it's going to cause problems.
Save the dry for if we really need it.
 
Lily's +2 = 75. I hope I am following the instructions properly. I gave Lily 2 tsp of glycobalance w/ morsels & gravy @ 10:58AM, then I gave her the glycobalance gravy & honey the second time (no morsels). (2 tsp)
 
Lily's +2 = 75. I hope I am following the instructions properly. I gave Lily 2 tsp of glycobalance w/ morsels & gravy @ 10:58AM, then I gave her the glycobalance gravy & honey the second time (no morsels). (2 tsp)
We cross posted.
tell me in +times when you fed please, just to be clear.
 
It's good that she's not dropped further at +2 given that it is still quite early in this cycle.

I think it would be a good idea to give her a little more food, couple of tsp of glyco with a little honey, right now (if you haven't already given her)

I want to give you a little more breathing space by bumping her up a bit further.
 
8:38 AM - BG = 143
9:13 AM - AMPS = 128

9:30 AM - ****** fed Lily & gave 1.25 units of insulin *****
10:32 AM - BG = 95

10:58 AM - gave Lily 2 tsp of glycobalnce morsels w/ gravy, no honey
11:05 AM - BG = 77

11:18 AM - gave Lily 2 tsp of glycobalance only gravy and honey this time
11:30 AM - BG = 75
 
Give her 2 tsp of glyco gravy and a couple of drops of honey.

Then check 30minutes after the food. which woud be +2 3/4 if you do that right now
 
Back
Top