2/8 LILY AMPS - 143, is 1.25 units the proper dosage?

Sorry I got a little caught up and it was difficult to get blood out of Lily's ear. I felt bad and was poking so many times, but she is such a sweet cat and was patient with me!!!

Lily had her snack at 12:45 PM last (2 tsp of gravy & honey)
ok so I was able to get the blood at 1:24PM - which I rounded to +3 = 72
 
1.24pm is +4 since you shot at 9.30.
Nice to see her at 70.
But she's not letting us off altogether.

I think it might be good to give her a little more food, but lets just try the glycobalance, two teaspoons, including the morsels no honey this time, but give her an hour before you next test.
 
Yes I meant + 4. Thank you! you are correct. I put it in the SS correctly. phew! Still getting used to the lingo and correct math for + 1, + 2, + 3, etc. lol
 
Do you think Lily's body will level out and start absorbing her breakfast with her numbers rising again? Is it safe not to give anymore snacks?
I'm not sure what you mean.
She is still in the part of the cycle that is most active, this is why I am suggesting continuing with the snacks to keep her safe.
I do think that we are going to have to think about the dose.
Would it be better to do the snack and check at +5 or should I make it later in the day? Will I have to check Lily's BG every hour today?
Yes snack now and test at +5
 
I checked Lily's + 5 = 133! I did it 7 mins earlier than when I fed her last snack. So technically it was at 53 mins instead of the hour. My mom is not doing good today. I am worried about My Mom now.
 
That's good. You don't need to worry about feeding her again. You can test again at +6 to make sure she's holding her own with no food on board.

Is your mom with you? You could go sit with her for a bit.
 
If you are going to have to leave to go to your mom, give lily some glycobalance not just the gravy actual food 3 -4 teaspoons, without honey. Just to be safe while you are away. She probably doesn't need it, but it would be safer than leaving without gibgiv her anything.
Though she has come up, we don't know if once the honey and carbs wear of +6 whether she would come back down.
Which is no problem if you are there but if you're not it would worry me.
 
I will be in the house and sitting with My mom. I will give Lily a few teaspoons of glycobalance. Should I be checking Lily's blood every hour up until +12?
 
Yes please, any advice you can leave for deciding whether to do 1 unit or 1.25 units would be helpful. Don't want to skip a dose but I imagine her numbers will be higher than 143 this morning...I dunno, we'll see?

I fed Lily 3 tsp of glycobalance, no honey.

Thank you guys for helping me! Going to sign off. I will try to check Lily's blood later. Her PM shots will be between 8:30PM - 9:30PM ish. We did 9:30 AM this morning as we had to decide what to do. Usually I try to do 8:30AMs in the morning.

Going to sit with my Mom and family now. Thank you especially today Gill!!! :cat:
 
I'm just going to be heading of to bed shortly (hopefully if my cat lets me), I just wanted to pop in and say I hope all is well as can be expected, and I hope that Lily is still her happy contented self.
On SLGS, she did earn a reduction, because she dropped below 90, and we were fighting those numbers for quite a while this morning. Given your current situation and ability to monitor, even though I would prefer to perhaps keep the dose and have you feed higher carb, I'm not sure that given the circumstances, that this is a realistic goal.
So perhaps reducing the dose down to 1u tonight may be a safer option all things considered. It will take a few cycles for Lily to settle into the new dose.

I think you should try and get some high carb food, the fancy feast gravy lovers are what I believe a lot of folk use
On the link below you can see what carb % the different varieties are as well as the carb % of other brands.
the beef gravy lover is the highest carb so it seems at 20%

http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

I have sent a message out, but I don't know if they are available I hope that someone will stop by before you shoot tonight. If the number is low, below 200, edit the title on this condo and ask for advice. I'm hoping that she will bounce so that you will get some rest.
Even if she is high I would make sure you get a +2 or +3 to make sure she is staying that way.
 
I know your hands are more than full right now, but when you have a minute, can I ask you to do a few things to help us keep the picture clear? 1) Change the meter in your signature to the ReliOn, so we know you aren't still using the AT (you can leave the part about the AT if you want and just add "switched to ReliOn on xx/xx/xx"). 2) Add your location to your signature - mainly we need to know what time zone you are in. 3) Add a blank line on your spreadsheet to separate the readings you got with the AT from the ones with the ReliOn.

Hang in there. I will keep you and your family in my prayers.
 
Thanks for the message earlier @Gill & George ! Really appreciate you leaving that. :cat:

Lily's BG was - 361, I gave her 1 unit of insulin and fed her regular meal to her at 9:34PM.

Thank you for walking me through the day. I kind of understand what we were doing trying to prevent Lily from getting too low and also trying to prevent her from bouncing too high. I always thought feeding a high protein diet and staying away from carbs was recommended. Would I need to switch her food completely to only gravy lovers diet all the time? OR are the high carbs just used to regulate cats between the cycle when the get low numbers?

Today was a rough day. My Mom is progressing to get sicker. It really is a sad time in my life right now. Thank you guys for the support with Lily & even my Mom. If I can keep one part of what is going on in my life a little less hectic that is a blessing. Thank you @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey for the prayers ! And thanks for the tips to make it easier to get help. Lily is doing good and such a trooper.

I will continue to check on Lily and will try to do + 2 & + 3 tonight.
 
Hope everything went ok last night.

Would I need to switch her food completely to only gravy lovers diet all the time? OR are the high carbs just used to regulate cats between the cycle when the get low numbers?
The HC food is just a tool to keep her safe, when she is dropping.
You want to be using the LC food as a general rule.

In some instances, where you may want to shoot, but due to circumstances you can't be there to monitor enough, you could use the MC food (@13% the Glycobalance is MC) to just boost her BG a bit more to keep her safer when you are not able to monitor.

From the info I've seen on her ss and read on the condo, I'm not sure how you arrived at the dose of 1.5u??
When you post the new condo just tag me and if you could explain that would be great.

Also, when you post the new condo remember to include a link of this condo/thread in the new condo so it's easier to follow the history and look back, that will be useful for you and for anyone stopping by and helping.

George is bouncing this morning, so I've got to go and get some chores done, I won't be around much, if at all today.
 
Back
Top