2/4 Baby PMPS 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Very Active Member
Good Morning, LL
WCR Baby has eaten her breakfast & is playful. I am off today - so can get some spot checks. Early here.. but instead of back to bed.. headed to the gym.
Have a Blessed, Beautiful day!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +3 160

Dyana! Good catch! Geez I have been at work too much - QCR is term we use at work.. geez I met WCR.. I changed it :-D
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +3 160

Have a great day off, Nicole! Good for you for going to the gym so early in the morning. :D I hope it gets the day off on the right foot. Hope Baby gives you some great #s today, too.
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +3 160

Nice start for Baby today, hope while your home and able to see it she throws ya some pretty greens! Shes headed that way. Don't work out to hard at the Gym.
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +6 175

Thanks, everyone! I am excited to see her surf Blues & not drop so suddenly - but slow & steady, I am thinking tonight maybe we will see greens, since PM Cycle runs a bit lower typically!
I appreciate you cheering us on!!


:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +6 175

This looks like a good dose for Baby. No drastic drops but she still gets steady blues. That is how you want it. So hopefully that little liver of hers doesn't get all jumpy every day. Look at me talking like I know stuff, lol! I am still a newbie too but I think I am right. :mrgreen: From what I have learned from everyone else including you.

Nicole I especially learned from you on how to deal with low BG's so that when Webber got his I had your experiences to draw from. I think that is why I did not get super frantic.......I have basically been through it with you already :YMHUG:

Great job Nicole and Baby! Yay!!! Lets get out of LTS ok? cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +6 175

Nicole & Baby said:
Thanks, everyone! I am excited to see her surf Blues & not drop so suddenly - but slow & steady, I am thinking tonight maybe we will see greens, since PM Cycle runs a bit lower typically!
I appreciate you cheering us on!!


:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Can you send Baby to show Buzz what blues are? I think she only knows low greens and reds. :P
 
Re: 2/4 Baby AMPS 229 +6 175

It looks like Baby is doing quite well on her newly revised dose. Hope you get to see some green tonight.
 
Sarah and Buzz, I feel your pain! We also get good #s & then pay for it the next few days.. would love to be a lucky one who does not bounce; however I would not trade Baby for the entire world - it will happen in time.. but just wish we could consistenly get good readings.. not looking for low greens.. but high greens/low blues would be snazzy! :mrgreen:

Paige, I got teary eyed reading that - how sweet... I am so thankful we have helped you learn.. it was scary & now when Baby gets where Webber is.. we will have learned from you too. I appreciate your daily support & encouragment... and friendship too.

Thank you everyone for supporting us! We shall see what the next few days bring :-D
 
I must be doing something wrong, other kitties are in the green & they started when Baby did. It has been nearly a month on Insulin. Maybe my Insulin is bad - this is the 28th day. I do realize we can use it for a very long time - but I don't understand why her PMPS is high & she is not dropping at +2 like she normally does - she used to drop a 100 points or more.
 
Can't answer you about if the insulin is still good or not. But I can say that you really can't compare Baby to any other kitty, even if they started the same day, hour or minute that you guys did. Look at Pat, Raja, Shadow. She started with her two kitties at the same time and one is OTJ and the other is still working it.

Baby will come around when she's ready and her pancreas heals. Kitties are living breathing beings and not machines, they are unique. You'll just make yourself crazy if you compare Baby to any other kitty. It's not fair to her either. (((Nicole))) It will be ok, you'll get there. Give her a hug and call her :
 
Nicole & Baby said:
I must be doing something wrong, other kitties are in the green & they started when Baby did. It has been nearly a month on Insulin. Maybe my Insulin is bad - this is the 28th day. I do realize we can use it for a very long time - but I don't understand why her PMPS is high & she is not dropping at +2 like she normally does - she used to drop a 100 points or more.

Nicole,

You and Baby will get there. I know all of your dose changes where based on protocol and advice from others, but maybe Baby needs a little more stability. Remember that every cat is different and sometimes you have to try different things to see if that effects the outcome. I have done this with Sami and so far it has worked for us. These are some of the things that I have tried with Sami some work and some didn't, but it might give you a jumping off point to try different things with Baby.

1. I have held the dose a little longer if I start to see any improvement. Even if protocol states that I could give an increase after 3 days, if I saw some improvement in the 6th cycle I would hold the dose another cycle or two to see what happens. In a few cases this has worked out for us. Worst come to it you can still do your increase after another cycle or two. Sometimes speed might not be the best option.

2. I have started giving Sami mini meals instead of giving her full can at one time. If you look at yesterday's post you will see that Sami didn't have a food spike after her AMPS, and then surfed the 50s almost all day. I think this has a lot to do with the mini meal. It could be a coincidence, but I don't think so.

3. Awhile back I switched from shooting in the scruff to shooting in the flank. I did this mainly because I read that sometimes the scruff doesn't have good blood flow and the insulin doesn't get absorbed quickly enough. At first I didn't see much difference, except that it was easier to give the shot to Sami there. So I stuck with it.

4. I experimented with giving Sami her shot before she got her first taste of food in the morning and each time I did this she would stay just about stagnant for the day. I don't know if this is a coincidence either, but when I tested first allowed her to eat a bit and then gave her the shot she dropped lower after her meal spike. It might be that the body sensed the insulin without food and decided it needed more sugar production, who knows.

5. I have tried keeping track of what percentage of food Sami was eating each day. Usually she eats food under 10%, with most of the food being under 5%, but I thought maybe some of the days that she was having higher numbers might be because she had food with 7 or 8% carb. I didn't really see a difference in fluctuating glucose because of this.

Hopefully this will give you some ideas to try different things to see what might work for baby. She has seen those greens, so we know she can get there, you just need to find a way to make them stick.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top