Nicole & Baby said:
I must be doing something wrong, other kitties are in the green & they started when Baby did. It has been nearly a month on Insulin. Maybe my Insulin is bad - this is the 28th day. I do realize we can use it for a very long time - but I don't understand why her PMPS is high & she is not dropping at +2 like she normally does - she used to drop a 100 points or more.
Nicole,
You and Baby will get there. I know all of your dose changes where based on protocol and advice from others, but maybe Baby needs a little more stability. Remember that every cat is different and sometimes you have to try different things to see if that effects the outcome. I have done this with Sami and so far it has worked for us. These are some of the things that I have tried with Sami some work and some didn't, but it might give you a jumping off point to try different things with Baby.
1. I have held the dose a little longer if I start to see any improvement. Even if protocol states that I could give an increase after 3 days, if I saw some improvement in the 6th cycle I would hold the dose another cycle or two to see what happens. In a few cases this has worked out for us. Worst come to it you can still do your increase after another cycle or two. Sometimes speed might not be the best option.
2. I have started giving Sami mini meals instead of giving her full can at one time. If you look at yesterday's post you will see that Sami didn't have a food spike after her AMPS, and then surfed the 50s almost all day. I think this has a lot to do with the mini meal. It could be a coincidence, but I don't think so.
3. Awhile back I switched from shooting in the scruff to shooting in the flank. I did this mainly because I read that sometimes the scruff doesn't have good blood flow and the insulin doesn't get absorbed quickly enough. At first I didn't see much difference, except that it was easier to give the shot to Sami there. So I stuck with it.
4. I experimented with giving Sami her shot before she got her first taste of food in the morning and each time I did this she would stay just about stagnant for the day. I don't know if this is a coincidence either, but when I tested first allowed her to eat a bit and then gave her the shot she dropped lower after her meal spike. It might be that the body sensed the insulin without food and decided it needed more sugar production, who knows.
5. I have tried keeping track of what percentage of food Sami was eating each day. Usually she eats food under 10%, with most of the food being under 5%, but I thought maybe some of the days that she was having higher numbers might be because she had food with 7 or 8% carb. I didn't really see a difference in fluctuating glucose because of this.
Hopefully this will give you some ideas to try different things to see what might work for baby. She has seen those greens, so we know she can get there, you just need to find a way to make them stick.