2/27 Ivy Amps 207, +3 188, +7 173, +9 217, Pmps 220 Libre (soft stools)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/26/25
Amps 207 Libre

Good morning, Feeling hopeful that Ivy is starting to round the bend on the bout of pancreatitis. Anti-jinx anti-jinx. :nailbiting:

She ate well last night for dinner and her snacks. Ate her regular 6% lamb diet. And again same thing this morning, she ate well:cat:
Yay!! :)

I increased her dose of insulin back up to 3 units today, I want to make sure she’s getting enough insulin, but as long as she’s eating that’s key.
Hopefully the depot will rebalance, and it won’t be too much of a shock to her system.

Checking her urine for ketones with strips and getting negative results.

Last night after her dinner before her +1 snack, she was laying by her feeder, waiting for it to open.
(She never does that) I’m sure that’s a result of the mirtazapine. I’m wondering if the dose is too much but want to make sure it’s enough that she keeps eating. I don’t know how long I need to keep the mirtazapine in place. (Wondering if I can reduce the dose to 3/4 of a dose or half.)
Does anyone have an opinion on that since we need to keep her eating to continue eating??

(She’s still getting the Buprenorphine through Sunday morning.) And giving Cerenia 12 mg.

Her stools are still softer than they should be. But I’m pretty sure that’s a result of feeding her fancy feast and the A/D food on Tuesday when I was trying to get her to eat anything I could.

I can keep giving her the s. Boulardi to try to help with that, but I’ve been syringing that between 2 to 4 times a day and she really doesn’t love being syringed all the time.

I’m wondering if that’s something I can just mix in her food and she would eat it. Does anybody have good experience with that?

Usually she takes her supplements in her food and has no problem with it. But when I did a trial at the beginning of this pancreatic bout, she wouldn’t eat it, but then again, she wasn’t eating anything at that point, so I guess I can try it again:nailbiting:

Well, I think that’s the report for now, we’ll see how she does today. I’ll report back if there’s anything going on. Hope everyone has a very calm, extremely boring day :cat::cat::cat:
 
Such great news today! It's so good that she is intested in her food now, she must be hungry after eating less this week. Did she lose weight?
I always put the S. Boulardii in Bella's food, she did not seem to notice it. Maybe try in a small snack first, so if she does not want it you will have less to syringe?
 
Such great news today! It's so good that she is intested in her food now, she must be hungry after eating less this week. Did she lose weight?
I always put the S. Boulardii in Bella's food, she did not seem to notice it. Maybe try in a small snack first, so if she does not want it you will have less to syringe?
Hi Cecile, I’m glad to hear That you had no problem putting it in Bella‘s food. Ivy doesn’t seem to notice the other supplements she gets. I think I’ll try it in a little bit of baby food just to see how she feels about it as a test.
They weighed her at the vet on Monday and she hadn’t lost any weight which surprised me.

But I question their weighing methods.
I’ll have to try to weigh her at home. She doesn’t like me putting her on a scale. I have to resort to holding her and subtracting my weight, so that’s I feel like never quite accurate but it’s better than nothing.

I hope all is well with you and your family. Thanks for all of your support as always sending lots of love.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I got a baby scale and used grated mozzarella, Bella loved it once she understood there was going to be cheese ;)
Oh, I had an email finally, Ivy (black Ivy) was adopted, but they asked me if I would consider fostering because they need families. My son was reluctant until he read that 'foster fail" is OK and we could adopt if we wanted to. So we might do it soon!
 
Morning Staci , I have always put the S Boulardii in Tyler's food and he never noticed it . Awesome that Ivy ate her 6% lamb again this morning . Let's keep that going Miss Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I got a baby scale and used grated mozzarella, Bella loved it once she understood there was going to be cheese ;)
Oh, I had an email finally, Ivy (black Ivy) was adopted, but they asked me if I would consider fostering because they need families. My son was reluctant until he read that 'foster fail" is OK and we could adopt if we wanted to. So we might do it soon!
Oh, Bella just loved her treats and all foods!! I love the mozarella trick.
She was such a special girl with the biggest personality!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The perfect kitty is looking for you and it may be a foster fail that is just right for your family!
Keep us posted!! That's an exciting option :kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
I mixed the SBoulatdii in Chai’s food and she didn’t notice it. I mix the Visbiome in both my cats’ food and they don’t notice it either. Glad Ivy is improving.
 
Oh, Bella just loved her treats and all foods!! I love the mozarella trick.
She was such a special girl with the biggest personality!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The perfect kitty is looking for you and it may be a foster fail that is just right for your family!
Keep us posted!! That's an exciting option :kiss::kiss::kiss:
Yes :-) and I am glad I finally figured out why Lucas seemed not so willing to foster. he was afraid to have to let go of a cat he would love.
Good luck today, I hope Ivy will keep eating and eat her probiotics too so all goes back in order.
 
Morning Staci , I have always put the S Boulardii in Tyler's food and he never noticed it . Awesome that Ivy ate her 6% lamb again this morning . Let's keep that going Miss Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Ok good to know, Diane! Do you recall what dose you gave Tyler as a maintenance?

Ivy already gets a pre/probiotic Adored Beast Healthy Cut, so I need to find what I should give her as an ongoing dose, if needed above what she gets already.

Thanks! :kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
I mixed the SBoulatdii in Chai’s food and she didn’t notice it. I mix the Visbiome in both my cats’ food and they don’t notice it either. Glad Ivy is improving.
Thanks, Elise. I give Ivy's regular AB Healthy guy dose in her food and she has no issues with that (or the multitude of other supps in her meal as well). She's normally ok with supps in her food.

I think she's just used to it. :bighug::bighug:
 
S boulardii with MOS has a bitter taste which some cats might not like. So syringing it into the cat is the only way. Maybe Ivy won't notice it mixed with food?
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy! Looks like she's coming down nicely and steadily. Hopefully those bakery products firm up as well.
Still sending more PAWsitive thoughts and healing vines :bighug::cat:❤️ :bighug::cat:❤️
 
Hi Staci,

soooooooo glad Ivys appetite is back and things seem to go back to normal! :bighug::bighug::bighug: We also used Mirtazapine in the past and I reduced the dose after I felt she is eating better but still needs a bit help. I worked for us.

Binie gets her probiotics with a churu while I test or inject. She doesn't mind it at all. I know many people mix it in food but I would only do this if it has a neutral taste. You don't want her to start disliking her food because of that.

I hope you and Ivy can start to relax a bit. It have been tough days! :bighug::kiss::bighug: Good luck with the new dose too!
 
Ok good to know, Diane! Do you recall what dose you gave Tyler as a maintenance?

Ivy already gets a pre/probiotic Adored Beast Healthy Cut, so I need to find what I should give her as an ongoing dose, if needed above what she gets already.

Thanks! :kiss::kiss::kiss:
I used the Jarrows one with the MOS and Tyler still ate it in his food
About maintenance I only used it when Tyler was diagnosed with small cell lymphoma to see if it would help with the diarrhea since I wasn't going to treat it . I found this maybe it will be helpful

https://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/how-to-use-s-boulardii-for-diarrhea.html

So like you said give Ivy some in her lamb food and see if she will eat it now that she's been eating or the baby food
@Staci & Ivy
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci,

soooooooo glad Ivys appetite is back and things seem to go back to normal! :bighug::bighug::bighug: We also used Mirtazapine in the past and I reduced the dose after I felt she is eating better but still needs a bit help. I worked for us.

Binie gets her probiotics with a churu while I test or inject. She doesn't mind it at all. I know many people mix it in food but I would only do this if it has a neutral taste. You don't want her to start disliking her food because of that.

I hope you and Ivy can start to relax a bit. It have been tough days! :bighug::kiss::bighug: Good luck with the new dose too!
Hi Heike, how low did you take the dose when you reduced it? I’m wondering if I should give her 3/4 of a dose or half a dose. I just don’t want to reduce it too much and then she won’t eat again.

Thank you so much for the support. We are so thrilled. She’s been eating and feeling a lot better the past 24 hours.

Sending you and Binie lots of love :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
@Staci & Ivy

Just found this also
https://www.ibdkitties.net/supplements/probiotics/
Start reading where it says
EMERGENCY “STOP DIARRHEA” DOSING INSTRUCTIONS
It also gives
Adult Cat Therapeutic doses and
Adult Cat Maintenance dose


Just read this
The S. boulardi with MOS, while the best, does have a bad taste.

I guess it didn't bother Tyler if you are using the one with MOS and Ivy won't eat it, you will most likely have to pull her or keep syringing it

I assume the one without the MOS refers to this
Does S. boulardii have a taste?

S. Boulardii is the the best probiotic for most situations and it improves digestion and benefits the microbiome. The taste is a bit yeasty but not terrible.
 
Last edited:
@Staci & Ivy

Just found this also
https://www.ibdkitties.net/supplements/probiotics/
Start reading where it says
EMERGENCY “STOP DIARRHEA” DOSING INSTRUCTIONS
It also gives
Adult Cat Therapeutic doses and
Adult Cat Maintenance dose


Just read this
The S. boulardi with MOS, while the best, does have a bad taste.

I guess it didn't bother Tyler if you are using the one with MOS and Ivy won't eat it, you will most likely have to pull her or keep syringing it

I assume the one without the MOS refers to this
Does S. boulardii have a taste?

S. Boulardii is the the best probiotic for most situations and it improves digestion and benefits the microbiome. The taste is a bit yeasty but not terrible.
Hi Diane, I am using the one with MOS, So maybe a taste yucky.

I think I will try giving it to her in some baby food again tonight and perhaps not ruin her regular food with it.
I don’t want her to be turned off from her dinner because that’s so critical that we want her to eat that.
If she turns her nose up at the baby food, then I can always syringe her if needed.

She did eat it this morning in a little bit of baby food, so hopefully she’ll do that again.

Maybe I’ll just split the capsule in half morning and night. I don’t think I need it four or more times a day at this point but I do wanna perhaps continue it at least for a little while until I see things back to normal.

Thanks again for your help, you’re the best researcher, Ever.

I still remember all of the green sparkly patience pants you’ve pulled up over the past few years.
Every time I think of it, I crack up :p:joyful::p
 
:bighug:
Good meowning Staci and Ivy! Looks like she's coming down nicely and steadily. Hopefully those bakery products firm up as well.
Still sending more PAWsitive thoughts and healing vines :bighug::cat:❤️ :bighug::cat:❤️
Hi Karolina, It’s slow going, but at least I think she’s headed in the right direction. We just need to get her to continue that and hope we never have to go down this road again. What a nightmare.
Hope you and the boys are doing well. Please give them kisses from me.:kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
S boulardii with MOS has a bitter taste which some cats might not like. So syringing it into the cat is the only way. Maybe Ivy won't notice it mixed with food?
I’m kind of afraid to Put it in her regular food right now. I’ll try it in baby food and see how we do. I don’t wanna turn her off from her food now that I finally got it in there eating it again.
:nailbiting:
 
Yes :) and I am glad I finally figured out why Lucas seemed not so willing to foster. he was afraid to have to let go of a cat he would love.
Good luck today, I hope Ivy will keep eating and eat her probiotics too so all goes back in order.
I can understand why Lucas would feel that way. I think I would feel the Same way.
I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to help it and I would definitely be a foster fail. Just put a kitten in my house and forget about it, they’re mine :cat::cat:
 
Hi Diane, I am using the one with MOS, So maybe a taste yucky.

I think I will try giving it to her in some baby food again tonight and perhaps not ruin her regular food with it.
I don’t want her to be turned off from her dinner because that’s so critical that we want her to eat that.
If she turns her nose up at the baby food, then I can always syringe her if needed.

She did eat it this morning in a little bit of baby food, so hopefully she’ll do that again.

Maybe I’ll just split the capsule in half morning and night. I don’t think I need it four or more times a day at this point but I do wanna perhaps continue it at least for a little while until I see things back to normal.

Thanks again for your help, you’re the best researcher, Ever.

I still remember all of the green sparkly patience pants you’ve pulled up over the past few years.
Every time I think of it, I crack up :p:joyful::p
Sounds good , you're right you don't want to turn her off to eating it in her lamb food. I'm glad she ate some in the baby food, splitting it up sounds like a
good idea. Give my fluffy girl a kiss for me :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

I remember the pants see below :p
 
Last edited:
upload_2025-2-27_14-34-49.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-27_14-34-49.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-27_14-34-49.jpeg
    9.9 KB · Views: 172
I can understand why Lucas would feel that way. I think I would feel the Same way.
I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to help it and I would definitely be a foster fail. Just put a kitten in my house and forget about it, they’re mine :cat::cat:
I am fully expecting to be a foster fail :cat: but that will also be an easy way to convince my husband... no, we're not adopting... :rolleyes:
I tried the S. Boulardii, it has a very mild yeast taste. Very, very mild.
 
I am fully expecting to be a foster fail :cat: but that will also be an easy way to convince my husband... no, we're not adopting... :rolleyes:
I tried the S. Boulardii, it has a very mild yeast taste. Very, very mild.
I mean, how could you not fall in love with a kitty living in your house that you’re bonding with????!!!!
If I could convince my husband, then anyone can convince their husband!! :smuggrin:
Thanks for tht taste test!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I mean, how could you not fall in love with a kitty living in your house that you’re bonding with????!!!!
If I could convince my husband, then anyone can convince their husband!! :smuggrin:
Thanks for tht taste test!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Try fostering 15 kittens at a time and you’ll definitely have trouble convincing your husband (and kids and yourself) trust me. It’s a lot of work, too. But each separation takes a little piece of my heart.
 
So glad you’re getting back to normal! I told you how great you were at figuring out what’s best for Ivy. Such a great mom….
Hi Deb, I’m definitely not good at figuring this stuff out. It certainly has taken a village here to get her on track.
And I really appreciate your intense help the other day. You were great at guiding me and your advice was awesome.
Sending you a Tiger lots of big hugs :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Quick update, Ivy is acting back to her self a bit. A little more interactive, definitely not hiding in the corner anymore.
She ate her dinner very well, of course she had the mirtazapine on board.
I gave a smidge less This time so we’ll see how she does in the next 24 hours.
She did have a BM this afternoon and it was definitely more formed (1/2 of it was a little mushy but getting better).

She’s been on Cerenia for five days and I am reading that it seems like that’s about what they recommend is five day limit.

So I need to figure out how and when to either give that a rest, take a break, or keep dosing one or two more days at most.

If anyone has an opinion on that, I’m all ears. Thanks and hope everyone is having a safe and quiet day.:cat::cat:
 
I’ve read it taste, kinda yucky and can be bitter tasting. I guess I could taste it to find out :rolleyes:
I think you get a FDMB badge for doing this.

I have a multi strain probiotic with the main ingredient of S boulardii (no MOS) tho. I mix it with Bell’s wet food but I also add fortiflora to cover the taste. Bell seems to really like the taste of the fortiflora even if it isn’t a good probiotic.

super super glad Ivy has her appetite back!
 
I think you get a FDMB badge for doing this.

I have a multi strain probiotic with the main ingredient of S boulardii (no MOS) tho. I mix it with Bell’s wet food but I also add fortiflora to cover the taste. Bell seems to really like the taste of the fortiflora even if it isn’t a good probiotic.

super super glad Ivy has her appetite back!
:p:p:p
You know, I would do anything for my girl.
My badge would say crazy cat lady. :rolleyes:
I actually tried the fortiflora last week when she wasn’t eating and she turned her face away from it, but I think she was just feeling like complete crap and didn’t want to eat anything.
I should probably try it again once she isn’t completely sick just to see how she reacts to it :cat:
 
Back
Top