2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478

Lydia and Basil said:
I hope Alex has a good day today and that you aren't just snowed under down there!


Awww thanks Lydia...we are sooooo snowed in! On days like this I wish I lived in Manhattan. They have what I have but at least you can walk around. I hear you guys JUST turned to snow from rain today? How is this possible? You're north of me..well North east.

anyway..looks like Basil is well on his way to the falls..must be the Yoga :lol:
keep up the good work!

so far Alex is having a good day too...thank you :)

Have a great day !
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478

just caught up on yesterdays action...darn ketones again - ok you dealt with you and knew what to do. see you got it.

doubling the b12 really isn't going to do anything, except go through your supply quicker. The fact is, his body will use ONLY the amount it needs and then the rest will be peed out. You can't fix the weakness by increasing the b12. It only gets fixed by getting his BG's down and yes the b12 helps speed the healing process, but it's not the fix that you can just double it and all will work again.
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478

Hillary & Maui said:
just caught up on yesterdays action...darn ketones again - ok you dealt with you and knew what to do. see you got it.

doubling the b12 really isn't going to do anything, except go through your supply quicker. The fact is, his body will use ONLY the amount it needs and then the rest will be peed out. You can't fix the weakness by increasing the b12. It only gets fixed by getting his BG's down and yes the b12 helps speed the healing process, but it's not the fix that you can just double it and all will work again.

Really? I had read that on a website. That some cats require 3 mgs a day and if you don't see improvement to give it twice a day. I had Alex on it twice a day and cut back. i was just going to go back to his original dose I had him on to see if it helped.....

I didn't actually know what to do. I had an idea, since I have done it before,,, but when I was hyper ventilating, Jaime walked me through what to do.... :lol:
I will NEVER get used to having Alex smell like nail polish remover. It never gets "old'....if ya' kwim
 
well i could be wrong, it was my understanding that 3-5 mg per day was the amount to give.

if you're giving 3 mg bid - then you're giving 6 which is the same as giving the 5 once a day.

i thought you had the 5 mg (that's the size I used) and doubling that would be a waste, but what you're doing is fine -

2 - 3 mg per day....that's what I would call within the normal 3-5 range.

so keep doing what you doing......and ignore me......what i wrote i mean!
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,+5~141,+6~87

Hillary & Maui said:
Wow! He's really coming down isn't he.

yes ma'am he is...but what I'd really like is a nice surf in the low 100's-I don't mean for just one day . (I won't even say what I'd really REALLY like until after I get THAT, if ever)I would really love to see Alex nice and even for a change and I have no idea how to get him there.
 
can someone look at Alex's ss please ?

and give an opinion as to whether or not I should be doing anything with Alex's dose. Adjusting it in any way? I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. It's every color of the rainbow. It's a mess :( Yes, he has green, and blue, and yellow and pink, and red in almost every cycle. Yesterday AM was a fur shot so that was an exception. i don't know what the nadir is because it's different all the time.
There's no pattern that i can read and i don't know what I should be doing? Should I raise his dose?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

I guess Alex got over that fur shot in a hurry! I am going to try to learn how to read spreadsheets right now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Hey Caryl,

u used TOR this morning? Is that "R" right?

when u use it, please add it to ur first post, so we know right off the bat that you used it.

EDIT TO ADD: how much did u use?



I cant give u any dosing help, are u asking for tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hey Caryl,

u used TOR this morning? Is that "R" right?

when u use it, please add it to ur first post, so we know right off the bat that you used it.

EDIT TO ADD: how much dod u use?



I cant give u any dosing help, are u asking for tomorrow morning?

Yes it's right. Just a touch, a pinch..less than 0.1 probably and only because he had ketones last night and was so high this morning....and It doesn't have to be for tomorrow morning. I just don't know what to do. I'd like to see what to do but I'm not in a "rush". I am very confused about that subject (R)at this point so that's why I only put it on my ss. I really hardly ever use it anymore at all but I'm still sqeamish about mentioning it(for myself)
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

well, all I can say is you should mention it every time you use it, here in ur condo, not everyone peeks at SS's,
and it's good info to know when Alex starts his days. I think it's very important to know this.

you dont have any notes collected from the early days when u learned about R?

Hang in there Caryl.
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Is it my imagination, or have there been more trampoline kitties recently? Are we full moon or something?

Those are some huge drops and rises Alex is throwing. The highs make you want to increase the dose, but how can you, when you're getting 60s?

What do more experienced people think about that?
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Kathy and Kitty said:
Is it my imagination, or have there been more trampoline kitties recently? Are we full moon or something?

Those are some huge drops and rises Alex is throwing. The highs make you want to increase the dose, but how can you, when you're getting 60s?

What do more experienced people think about that?

Look at my Condo....you and Ronnie are the most experienced people that have been here since I posted for help...you guys are the most experienced ones... :-D
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Unfortunately, I stink at spreadsheets! :lol: Pretty unfortunate, considering Kitty has been on insulin just over a year now.

When we got our real "breakthrough," Kitty had pink the morning and green in mid-cycle. Oh, paws crossed it could be that way for Alex.
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Kathy and Kitty said:
Unfortunately, I stink at spreadsheets! :lol: Pretty unfortunate, considering Kitty has been on insulin just over a year now.

When we got our real "breakthrough," Kitty had pink the morning and green in mid-cycle. Oh, paws crossed it could be that way for Alex.

but not red..right?
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

alex is definitely a bouncy kitty. he has seen green the last 4 days. in looking at his ss, he may have gone lower last night than we know. he dropped from 150 to 69 in 1.5 hours. that's a good size drop in a short period of time.
if it were me, i'd hold off on thinking about an increase until the shed refills from that furshot. the bigger the dose... the bigger the shed.
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

Jill & Alex said:
alex is definitely a bouncy kitty. he has seen green the last 4 days. in looking at his ss, he may have gone lower last night than we know. he dropped from 150 to 69 in 1.5 hours. that's a good size drop in a short period of time.
if it were me, i'd hold off on thinking about an increase until the shed refills from that furshot. the bigger the dose... the bigger the shed.

How will i know when that has happened? i'm serious, I really don't know...
 
Re: 2/26 Alex AMPS 478,+2~237,Need Eyes/Advice plz

unfortunately, there's no way of knowing for sure. i'd give him a few more cycles to refill...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top