2/24 Latte AMPS-176, PMPS-287

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
recap:

pmps-352 (pred cycle - stalled)
+1.25-365 (pred given)
+2.5-330
+4.5-340
+6-223
(I have no idea why I tested her so much last night!)

kibble eaten overnight

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7176

I am a tad anxious about this +1. I have to walk out the door at +3 and will be back about +7.
If she goes much lower in the next hr I have to skip fluids again. grrrrr Its quite possible she will bounce at any moment, however.

Carolyn- if youre reading this...is this dose still too much?! My 1.75 may be too close to 2. Could try 'my' f1.5. Could a lower dose help with these extremes? Might we just stay too high then? Or is there no answer until its tried?

I know I never seem happy with her numbers, but they are almost always in the 300's or she bottoms out. I show her all these other cats who stay flat in the 100's and 200's, but she just doesnt want to pay attention! Really, is it so much to ask for ....to stay flat on a flat insulin? :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100

Morning Carolyn...nice numbers for latte this morning..I hope she does what you would like today so that you can leave with a happy heart. Wish she was here so I could keep an eye on her. I know....we should have a full moon party on Sunday night fll_moon Tell her that she must behave for her Mama or she won't be allowed to go... :mrgreen:
I guess I should start the party planning, right? Shadow will be so excited...he'll call latte later, k?
Hope you have a good day today! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78

Im half tempted to call in late...or call in for the day (its only 3hrs work...and NOT the new job). Really HATE doing that, tho. Her drops slow after +2 and she is certain to bounce :sad: . But...she does not have much wiggle room here, in case she decides to change the way she does things.

Will get a +2.5, I guess and see where it's taken her.

She's pretty much stopped eating at this point, after finishing approx 3/4 of 3 oz can wellness.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78

Since the fluids drop her numbers, is there a reason to not give fluids and pred in the same cycle? It would seem that they would counteract the effect each has on Latte's numbers.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78

carolynandlatte said:
Hey...how far are you from Thunder Bay?

Hi Carolyn,
Sorry about the unpredictable numbers. These would be lovely if (a) you didn't have to be anywhere and (b) she would eat. I can't answer your questions, just sympathize. Sienne raises a good point.

I'm not anywhere near Thunder Bay. I'm guessing it would be about two hours by air. My nephew lives there, and I wouldn't mind visiting sometime bewteen winter and black fly season (whenever that two week window might be). I live just to the west of Toronto.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78

+2.5-84

Sienne- Thats a valid question, which has been visited before. And when you mention it I think, ""ya..lets do that!" Then I consider my pm schedule and how irregular it is (bartending, teaching classes). Some nights just getting her other meds, a little food in her, and shooting her not too early, and not so late that Im late for work is VERY hard and stressful. Adding another process to the mix might make my head explode :lol:

Then there are the meds that go through her iv line. One of them needs to be given every 24hrs. Really cant give early, and best not to give late (famotidine/pepcid). Could I give it outside the line, like her insulin? Yes. But consider she is already getting 5 injections a day...adding another...ack! I NEVER want to see her shaven in those areas. Her poor skin has to be so scarred.

Late afternoon MIGHT work, except for those days on the weekend when I work from 10-5 or 6pm. My schedule is just too erratic most of the year. Mornings are the only time I am ALWAYS here.

Wish I could be here 24/7 to do everything just right for her. :YMSIGH:

If she is dropping for +3, I will call and let them know I will be late. I can guarantee my presence at the job i have this week is not benefiting anyone, anyway. The same thing goes for anyone else that would be in my place.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78

Wow Carolyn, what a lot you have on your plate. Latte is your full time occupation.
Fingers crossed for a nice surf today.

I lived with my old girl Brandy (CRF) for a long period on time on fluids, multiple meds every day, corneal ulcer eye meds, and hovering over her with all types of food and encouraging eating- very time consuming and exhausting at times - not to mention the stress and Brandy didn't have diabetes. Pedro just had to throw that in to the mix to get more attention. You do an amazing job of keeping it all together.

Of course, it's mostly our stress not our kitties. You are doing everything right for Latte--- remember to take care of you.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78, +3-96

Hmmmm....

I know you have this down to pretty much of a science. I wonder if plotting out what the meds are (which are given in the fluid line so they are given together), when Latte seems to have drops and how that all fits with your schedule, I wonder if there's a way to swap one of the meds with the pred so the fluids and pred can offset each other. Hadn't you thought about splitting the pred dose, as well, so half was in the AM? (I can't remember if you tried that or not.I think it was Linda/Bear who did.)
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78, +3-96

HI Carolyn
Popping by to see how your sweet Latte is doing.
She loves to stir the pot for you and yes you do have your hands full.
What devotion and love you have. We take one day at a time.
At least she is coming back up at +3.
Will check back later to see how the day unfolded for both of you.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78, +3-96,+7~224

Ok, back from being a 10yr olds punching bag!

A little lower at +7 today than yesterday. So that is good. I was also thinking the last few bounces have been clearing in less time. Another good thing, right?

Fluids are in her now, and maybe looks like she ate a small amount of kibble... ot much tho.

Sienne, I am considering splitting the pred dose. I am waiting to talk to her vet. I just hope it doesnt mess up her progress with the vomiting. She has made huge strides in that dept. I think with the fluids, when she is low it moves her downward a bit. When she is high, nothing budgees her. In a perfect world I would give them at pmps.

Amy - yes, a full time job it is! I couldnt imagine having another cat, even a healthy one. Kudos to people like Linda...mind boggling actually.

Well, since she looks stoned from this bounce and appears to only want to sleep I think I will head back out and run some errands.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78, +3-96

Sienne and Gabby said:
Hmmmm....

I know you have this down to pretty much of a science. I wonder if plotting out what the meds are (which are given in the fluid line so they are given together), when Latte seems to have drops and how that all fits with your schedule, I wonder if there's a way to swap one of the meds with the pred so the fluids and pred can offset each other. Hadn't you thought about splitting the pred dose, as well, so half was in the AM? (I can't remember if you tried that or not.I think it was Linda/Bear who did.)

I did try splitting the pred dose. I didn't like it, though, to be honest, I probably bailed out before I gave it a good try. My recollection was that it made him higher overall all day, instead of being high for a half day.
 
Re: 2/24 Latte AMPS-176, +1-100, +2-78, +3-96,+7~224

Hi Carolyn,

I'm a chronic airhead so make sure you send me a PM when I'm supposed to answer a question LOL I tripped and fell in today only because of a brief moment of clarity! :lol:

Um there's not gonna be any way to know if it's too high without trying to reduce, in my opinion. You can always get more insulin into her if you want to try a lesser dose for a little while but right now they look pretty good. She's got dry on board which may cause her numbers to go up in sync with your dose decrease so be sure to remember that if it appears your attempt to reduce dose fails. Personally I'd try reducing again and if it fails, just bump her up again :)
 
Today's wrap up:
amps-176
+1-100
+2-78
+2.5-84 (had I not been going to work I would have just waited until +3)
+3-96
+7.25-226
+10.25-231
pmps-287 (boo...pred cycle)
*reduced to f1.5, and can raise it back on friday or saturday if she is overall too high. Goal would be to reduce extremes (green-pink) and keep her mainly in bloos.

Gave pred before testing for some reason. Though she was a stinker and didnt eat half of it (give it in a compounded treat form). Had to attempt to pill the sucker. She didnt like me too well afterwards. She may still dislike me a bit for that experience. I told her if she was going to be that way, I could just give her the regular pill every night. The compounded version is too expensive to have to shove down her throat. They were meant to enjoy...and improve quality of life. Hopefully she took the conversation seriously and will not have future problems with it. :evil:

Overall, not a great eating day for her. Not as social as the beginning of the week either.
Got a little under the cover cuddles in late this afternoon. Purry and chatty (I think I dont like her tone, though...its kinda bossy! :lol: )

Gots me another errand to run....bbl!

(and pat...on this errand I will be bringing my phone with...I noticed when I left it at home this afternoon some minutes were eaten up! :shock: What was Shadow doing a few hours ago? ;-) Maybe latte is a little down in the dumps because her secret phone convo with shadow reminded her how much she missed him! :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top