? 12-14 Money amps 261… pmps/248

Roxy450

Member Since 2021
Is it normal thick drool in mouth!!? She didn’t get up to eat but she ate once I brought it to her in bed this morning gave dose 1.25 … I noticed the thick drool and tested she’s at 275 .. IM REALLY FREAKING OUT AND WORKING FROM HOME WHAT SHOULD I DO ???
 
Thx guys❤️ .. I’m really worried .. no not happy hasn’t really moved from my bed all day … had to give breakfast in bed which I’ve never done … seems tired and weak …
 
upload_2022-12-14_13-59-9.jpeg

its very hard to take a pic im alone and she doesn’t really wanna open mouth
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-14_13-59-9.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-14_13-59-9.jpeg
    33 KB · Views: 176
I don't see anything abnormal. If she doesn't want to open her mouth, it's possible she has some dental issue. Has she been to the vet lately and had her mouth checked out?
 
It’s very thick drool not liquify and is all in her mouth .. she won’t get up either .. like refuses ! Im on hold with vet now ..
 
Thx guys❤️ .. I’m really worried .. no not happy hasn’t really moved from my bed all day … had to give breakfast in bed which I’ve never done … seems tired and weak …
I'm glad @Wendy&Neko is here, also glad you called the vet, since it sounds like this is something you've never seen from her. I'm a big worrier and probably incur more vet bills than is strictly necessary, but the peace of mind is usually worth it to me.
 
It’s very thick drool not liquify and is all in her mouth .. she won’t get up either .. like refuses ! Im on hold with vet now ..
Drooling is a sign of nausea. She needs anti nausea meds asap. Hopefully vet can get you some soon! I will be wishing you good luck :bighug:
 
I'm glad @Wendy&Neko is here, also glad you called the vet, since it sounds like this is something you've never seen from her. I'm a big worrier and probably incur more vet bills than is strictly necessary, but the peace of mind is usually worth it to me.
So am I !! I’m crying like a baby during work !! Vet only can fit me in tmr morning … they said her bg is not low and she’s still eating .. she said it might be pancreatis … I feel so bad !!!! I sometimes think I’m not doing right by her and she’s suffering :(:(:(
 
So am I !! I’m crying like a baby during work !! Vet only can fit me in tmr morning … they said her bg is not low and she’s still eating .. she said it might be pancreatis … I feel so bad !!!! I sometimes think I’m not doing right by her and she’s suffering :(:(:(
It does sound potentially like pancreatitis. Do you have any Cerenia or ondansetron? Can you give sub q fluids? If not, perhaps just encourage her to drink as much as possible. We are thinking about you and Money :bighug:
 
So am I !! I’m crying like a baby during work !! Vet only can fit me in tmr morning … they said her bg is not low and she’s still eating .. she said it might be pancreatis … I feel so bad !!!! I sometimes think I’m not doing right by her and she’s suffering :(:(:(
It's great that her BG is not low, and also that she is eating, so try to keep yourself and her calm until you see the vet tomorrow (way to go, grabbing that early appointment). Maybe put on some calming music for her, to help shift the focus? It sounds like you are doing everything right, and there's no doubt that she appreciates you, so hang in there, and keep us posted. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Neither of my cats drooled with pancreatitis but it is a sign of nausea. Ask your vet if you can pick up ondansetron or cerenia. A shot of cerenia would be good as it works more quickly. It’s given sun-q so you could give it but it does sting.
 
Feel so bad for her :(:(:(
I will ask but they are not the nicest vet … it was the only place avail .. at least she will get all her tests done … but I’m very worried !!! She wasn’t moved from bed since last night
 
Feel so bad for her :(:(:(
I will ask but they are not the nicest vet … it was the only place avail .. at least she will get all her tests done … but I’m very worried !!! She wasn’t moved from bed since last night

Is she hiding? I’d test her more often right now
 
No not hiding .. just sleeping and won’t leave TGE bed .. not even for her beloved TUNA !!!!! :nailbiting:
My libre is done so I was going to replace it tmr … but she’s like crying when I’m poking her .. like morning and groaning … I just feel terrible !!! Like she’s not feeling good and poking her !!! Just a shitty situation all around !!! Also her rates haven’t moved at all today … 260-270 all day … really hope she eats supper if not no shot right ?
 
No not hiding .. just sleeping and won’t leave TGE bed .. not even for her beloved TUNA !!!!! :nailbiting:
My libre is done so I was going to replace it tmr … but she’s like crying when I’m poking her .. like morning and groaning … I just feel terrible !!! Like she’s not feeling good and poking her !!! Just a shitty situation all around !!! Also her rates haven’t moved at all today … 260-270 all day … really hope she eats supper if not no shot right ?
Or a token dose, but i’ll leave that to more experienced members. You’d need to test PMPS. You’re taking her to the vet right? Could be a bunch of things. Has she lost any weight? Top things i can think of would be a stomach bug/flu, accidental ingestion of medication/plants, diabetic ketoacidosis (unlikely given her numbers), cancer, etc. I’d get at least one test result shortly and post it.
 
really hope she eats supper if not no shot right ?
No, not correct. Even cats undergoing anaesthesia can get at least a half dose. If she's high at PMPS, you can probably give even more. Insulin does more than counter the carbs in food, it is used by the cells to feed themselves, including food for brain cells. If for some reason cat has an infection or systemic inflammation, and is not eating enough, then you definitely want to give insulin or you risk ketones and DKA. Cats can get DKA with numbers in the 200's - that's another of those myths that it needs high numbers. I hope she's at least getting off the bed to use the litter box, so you can test for ketones.

As you are doing the right thing, and taking her into the vet tomorrow, I'm going to remove the 911.
 
It’s good she’s not hiding though. That’d indicate pain. She might just be fighting a cold, but wendy is right; test for ketones. I’ve read too many threads where cats suddenly go downhill and are gone within 2-3 days from sudden DKA. Any non normal numbers can cause it. Honestly the symptoms aren’t inconsistent with DKA; see if you can test for ketones ASAP.
 
Hey guys sooo wasn’t able to test for ketones …I’m guessing the vet will know after doing the tests … i tested pmps and she was at 248… she ate a bit but not like usual … only gave 1 unit tonight … I will test at +4… she seems to be a bit better , she got up once for a couple of minutes … hoping to see my hungry hippo tmr morning :p
I’ll keep u guys posted and thx :kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
Hey guys sooo wasn’t able to test for ketones …I’m guessing the vet will know after doing the tests … i tested pmps and she was at 248… she ate a bit but not like usual … only gave 1 unit tonight … I will test at +4… she seems to be a bit better , she got up once for a couple of minutes … hoping to see my hungry hippo tmr morning :p
I’ll keep u guys posted and thx :kiss::kiss::kiss:

If you can’t test for ketones then please monitor regularly. I’ve seen a lot of cats die from DKA on here in GA threads. If her condition goes downhill take her to an animal hospital ASAP. DKA can kill very very quickly, 1-2 days is the difference between being okay with intensive treatment and having no real chance.

Not trying to scare you; i’m sure you’re already monitoring her intensely. You’re doing a great job, keep it up!
 
Hey good morning guys .. woke up this morning and shes completely back to normal .. ate like a pig .. pee n poop .. running around like if nothing … should I still bring her considering she doesn’t really have a apt and will only be seen during the day in between apts ..? I can schedule apt for next week which would be a lot less stressful to her … FYI MONEY HAS EXTREME ANXIETY IN THE CAR .. I have to give her gabapentin and still she vomits , pees poops and hyperventilates…. All in the 5-10 min drive .. so I’m wondering the stress at vet all day … any advise ?
 
If you can’t test for ketones then please monitor regularly. I’ve seen a lot of cats die from DKA on here in GA threads. If her condition goes downhill take her to an animal hospital ASAP. DKA can kill very very quickly, 1-2 days is the difference between being okay with intensive treatment and having no real chance.

Not trying to scare you; i’m sure you’re already monitoring her intensely. You’re doing a great job, keep it up!
I ordered the ketone for cats thing where it’s like fake litter I will lock her up with me tonight and get that test
 
Since she’s not acting sick if my cat I would not take her to the vet today unless she appears unwell. When was her last vet visit? If a long time I’d make an appointment for maybe next week or so and see how she’s doing for awhile. If not due I would only go if she acts sick again. I’m SOOO glad to hear she’s feeling good again. :bighug::)
 
Since she’s not acting sick if my cat I would not take her to the vet today unless she appears unwell. When was her last vet visit? If a long time I’d make an appointment for maybe next week or so and see how she’s doing for awhile. If not due I would only go if she acts sick again. I’m SOOO glad to hear she’s feeling good again. :bighug::)
It’s been awhile so she is def due for a check up … I opted out for today since she’s acting perfectly normal . I’m soooo happy she’s ok
 
I’m so glad Money is feeling better! I don’t think it would hurt to get in for some labs pretty soon. If there is an underlying issue here it would be good to know so you can have the meds on hand to treat it and/or prevent (or reduce the severity of) another episode in the future.

Cerenia is very good for travel sickness by the way. Also Felliway spray in the carrier helps a lot. Definitely ask for some Cerenia at your vet appointment. It is good to have on hand to treat nausea and vomiting. If your vet will also prescribe ondansetron it wouldn’t hurt to have some of that just in case as well.
So glad Money is better :bighug:
 
Back
Top