Bobbie And Bubba
Member Since 2015
Good job! And remember that your PM shot will be 12 hours from when you shot.OK I shot the full dose.
I will test at +1 and +2 as a start.
Good job! And remember that your PM shot will be 12 hours from when you shot.OK I shot the full dose.
I will test at +1 and +2 as a start.
Wishing you and Macka all the best. I know how scary it is, but you are there with supplies to keep him safe and smart people here to guide you.OK I shot the full dose.
I will test at +1 and +2 as a start.

Not necessarily. It could be that the lack of insulin (delayed shot), at least, is part of it. Lantus likes to grab lower numbers which helps the "surf" you see on regulated kitties.3.5/4 hours to have a food bump
I live for that day! I can’t even imagine how I can ever be at peace with the FD dance. It took me many tears this morning to finally shoot :/Not necessarily. It could be that the lack of insulin (delayed shot), at least, is part of it. Lantus likes to grab lower numbers which helps the "surf" you see on regulated kitties.
That's ok, you will have another opportunity. I completely understand your hesitation. We are all that way in the beginning, then you get to where you are addicted to shooting lower numbers and testing![]()
That's a beautiful SS!An example with a higher dose than Charlotte is Amethyst's SS. She has acromegaly and IAA, like my girl did, so her dose is higher. Amethyst is on Levemir, but the type of insulin action is the same, just delayed a couple hours.
I second this. It is frightening and scary at first and it probably will be for a while. But the more it happens, the more knowledge and experience you gain. Eventually, it won't be as scary.One you have data to see how Mačka responds, it'll be much easier.
I've done this too. I remember begging not to shoot a blue number and the good people here helping me get through it.It took me many tears this morning to finally shoot :/
What strikes me in Amethyst's SS is that when the pre-shot number is in the blues, it actually means a longer cycle. It's very clear on her spreadsheet.Don't let the size of dose influence your decision. A kitty needs whatever size dose they need. The size of dose does not change how much they drop. An example with a higher dose than Charlotte is Amethyst's SS. She has acromegaly and IAA, like my girl did, so her dose is higher. Amethyst is on Levemir, but the type of insulin action is the same, just delayed a couple hours.
Yes I did! i remember this one, because it was the only other time it happenedBack in August, you shot a 187 (though after a delay) and that was on an AT, so possibly even a lower number on the human meter. You have some data of what happens when you shoot lower numbers.
That's exactly my fear. Charlotte's SS shows me that blues at pre-shot are very positive. They announce better curves and numbers to come. I would be way less worried to shoot a 1u than a 5u though... I have to keep in mind that the size of the unit does not influence the drop.I suspect what has you worried is that if your pre-shot number is in the 500s, Macka can drop into the low 100s. Thus, if you shoot in the 100s, will the numbers drop so low as to cause severe hypoglycemia.
Yes, I went from AT to Human meter (I could make it clearer in the signature, thanks).
I give Mačka a few dry kibble after each shot, as a reward. He eats Fancy Feast classics (sometimes with dry topping if he does not eat much, to encourage him, like this am).
I only feed him LC dry food when he is sick, as he won't eat anything else when crummy, or has an upset tummy.
Yes! We used to have numbers as high as 700s. So seeing a blue is still a shockohhh... If you were using the AT meter, you were probably used to high numbers. I understand your hesitation now.. I freaked out when we first got blue numbers and haven't switched to the human meter yet ( It's on the way). Once you see you can do it - it'll be so much easier to handle the next thing.
Paw crossed but -you've got this.




Thank you Sue. I am not as strong as I’d like to be. I’ve had the life of other dear, dear cats in my hands and wasn’t able to save them. Thus my hesitations, fears, guilt. Having the power and control in my hands is more of a curse than a blessing, at least that’s the way I experience it. My heart is very much broken by the loss of my previous cats over the last few years. Macka is the last baby and we are so bonded.Penelope! I'm so proud that you were able to finally listen to the supportive advice you were getting and that you had the courage to give Macka his insulin.

Thank you Sue. I am not as strong as I’d like to be. I’ve had the life of other dear, dear cats in my hands and wasn’t able to save them. Thus my hesitations, fears, guilt. Having the power and control in my hands is more of a curse than a blessing, at least that’s the way I experience it. My heart is very much broken by the loss of my previous cats over the last few years. Macka is the last baby and we are so bonded.
But you’re right, I have to remind myself to breath and that I am healing him, not putting him in danger![]()
