12/08 Mačka AM 177 stalled for 2.5hours, +1 225

+1 225, going up.
This means that it takes him about 3.5/4 hours to have a food bump (it's 9:30am, he ate at 5:30am).

Should I test again in 2 hours? I feel like taking a +2 would be too soon.
 
3.5/4 hours to have a food bump
Not necessarily. It could be that the lack of insulin (delayed shot), at least, is part of it. Lantus likes to grab lower numbers which helps the "surf" you see on regulated kitties.

That's ok, you will have another opportunity. I completely understand your hesitation. We are all that way in the beginning, then you get to where you are addicted to shooting lower numbers and testing :D
 
Not necessarily. It could be that the lack of insulin (delayed shot), at least, is part of it. Lantus likes to grab lower numbers which helps the "surf" you see on regulated kitties.

That's ok, you will have another opportunity. I completely understand your hesitation. We are all that way in the beginning, then you get to where you are addicted to shooting lower numbers and testing :D
I live for that day! I can’t even imagine how I can ever be at peace with the FD dance. It took me many tears this morning to finally shoot :/
 
Penelope:

Take a look at Charlotte's spreadsheet. I suspect what has you worried is that if your pre-shot number is in the 500s, Macka can drop into the low 100s. Thus, if you shoot in the 100s, will the numbers drop so low as to cause severe hypoglycemia. Charlotte's spreadsheet tells a different story.

The desired Lantus curve is flat. Our basic mantra is "Shoot low to stay low" and you see that on Charlotte's spreadsheet.

It's just something for you to consider.
 
Back in August, you shot a 187 (though after a delay) and that was on an AT, so possibly even a lower number on the human meter. You have some data of what happens when you shoot lower numbers.

Don't let the size of dose influence your decision. A kitty needs whatever size dose they need. The size of dose does not change how much they drop. An example with a higher dose than Charlotte is Amethyst's SS. She has acromegaly and IAA, like my girl did, so her dose is higher. Amethyst is on Levemir, but the type of insulin action is the same, just delayed a couple hours.

Shooting lower numbers means flatter cycles which are much more predictable that what happens if you shoot a higher number. I'll admit that I was worried the first few times I shot low blues and eventually greens with higher doses, but data is your friend. One you have data to see how Mačka responds, it'll be much easier.
 
An example with a higher dose than Charlotte is Amethyst's SS. She has acromegaly and IAA, like my girl did, so her dose is higher. Amethyst is on Levemir, but the type of insulin action is the same, just delayed a couple hours.
That's a beautiful SS!

One you have data to see how Mačka responds, it'll be much easier.
I second this. It is frightening and scary at first and it probably will be for a while. But the more it happens, the more knowledge and experience you gain. Eventually, it won't be as scary.

It took me many tears this morning to finally shoot :/
I've done this too. I remember begging not to shoot a blue number and the good people here helping me get through it. :p
 
Don't let the size of dose influence your decision. A kitty needs whatever size dose they need. The size of dose does not change how much they drop. An example with a higher dose than Charlotte is Amethyst's SS. She has acromegaly and IAA, like my girl did, so her dose is higher. Amethyst is on Levemir, but the type of insulin action is the same, just delayed a couple hours.
What strikes me in Amethyst's SS is that when the pre-shot number is in the blues, it actually means a longer cycle. It's very clear on her spreadsheet.
Back in August, you shot a 187 (though after a delay) and that was on an AT, so possibly even a lower number on the human meter. You have some data of what happens when you shoot lower numbers.
Yes I did! i remember this one, because it was the only other time it happened :) The only difference was the dose size, and yes, since Macka is now at 5 units, it scares me way more. This morning, in my panic, I worried that he would go below zero with such a dose, starting in the 100s.
I suspect what has you worried is that if your pre-shot number is in the 500s, Macka can drop into the low 100s. Thus, if you shoot in the 100s, will the numbers drop so low as to cause severe hypoglycemia.
That's exactly my fear. Charlotte's SS shows me that blues at pre-shot are very positive. They announce better curves and numbers to come. I would be way less worried to shoot a 1u than a 5u though... I have to keep in mind that the size of the unit does not influence the drop.

Thanks to both of you!
 
Yes, I went from AT to Human meter (I could make it clearer in the signature, thanks).
I give Mačka a few dry kibble after each shot, as a reward. He eats Fancy Feast classics (sometimes with dry topping if he does not eat much, to encourage him, like this am).
I only feed him LC dry food when he is sick, as he won't eat anything else when crummy, or has an upset tummy.

ohhh... If you were using the AT meter, you were probably used to high numbers. I understand your hesitation now.. I freaked out when we first got blue numbers and haven't switched to the human meter yet ( It's on the way). Once you see you can do it - it'll be so much easier to handle the next thing.
Paw crossed but -you've got this.
 
ohhh... If you were using the AT meter, you were probably used to high numbers. I understand your hesitation now.. I freaked out when we first got blue numbers and haven't switched to the human meter yet ( It's on the way). Once you see you can do it - it'll be so much easier to handle the next thing.
Paw crossed but -you've got this.
Yes! We used to have numbers as high as 700s. So seeing a blue is still a shock :)
 
Penelope! I'm so proud that you were able to finally listen to the supportive advice you were getting and that you had the courage to give Macka his insulin.

It will be less scary each time you shoot lower numbers. My dear, what ever are you going to do when he starts to improve and you have to shoot a number lower than 100? Many of us do it so you need to be brave - weigh the factors (that were discussed with you this morning)...are you home to monitor, are you prepared in the event of falling numbers. Please try not to be so afraid that you're not able to help Macka heal. He's depending on your to help him get better...so tell yourself that anytime you have to give him insulin - you are saving his life!

Be brave, take a deep breath and so what you need to do to help him get better. Lots of people here to help and support you but only you can do what needs to be done to help Macka! Sending you hugs!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Penelope! I'm so proud that you were able to finally listen to the supportive advice you were getting and that you had the courage to give Macka his insulin.
Thank you Sue. I am not as strong as I’d like to be. I’ve had the life of other dear, dear cats in my hands and wasn’t able to save them. Thus my hesitations, fears, guilt. Having the power and control in my hands is more of a curse than a blessing, at least that’s the way I experience it. My heart is very much broken by the loss of my previous cats over the last few years. Macka is the last baby and we are so bonded.
But you’re right, I have to remind myself to breath and that I am healing him, not putting him in danger :bighug:
 
Thank you Sue. I am not as strong as I’d like to be. I’ve had the life of other dear, dear cats in my hands and wasn’t able to save them. Thus my hesitations, fears, guilt. Having the power and control in my hands is more of a curse than a blessing, at least that’s the way I experience it. My heart is very much broken by the loss of my previous cats over the last few years. Macka is the last baby and we are so bonded.
But you’re right, I have to remind myself to breath and that I am healing him, not putting him in danger :bighug:

I'm so sorry that you have had those experiences and were unable to save those cats. Since I'm unfamiliar with those circumstances I cannot comment - but I'm sure that you did everything that was possible to help them! And you will do everything you can to help Macka too! It does take mustering up your courage sometimes to do what needs to be done - but try to remember that you do have help and guidance - and you're not alone - but it is up to you to help him by giving him his insulin - he depends on it and on you to help him. He'll continue to improve - you've both come so far already!!

Have a great evening Penelope!:bighug:
 
Back
Top