11/1 Bast PMPS 133 +4.5 81 +5 97 +6 109 +10 192 +11 214

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184

ran home at lunch (traded to get an early one) and got a +3 184
Bast is fine- my SO is sick with a fever and stuffed head :?
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78

he had food all day- not a problem- just getting him off the bed to eat- LOL He seems to drop like that alot.

He ate well at +9 so hope is number go up some by pm shot time
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78

he had food all day- not a problem- just getting him off the bed to eat- LOL He seems to drop like that alot.

He ate well at +9 so hope is number go up some by pm shot time
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78

If the AMPS was a bounce from the low numbers early in last night's cycle, Bast sure did move past the bounce quickly. I would get a +11 so you have something to compare the PMPS number to, if that's possible.

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

+11 is 110

I really hope he goes up because i don't want to hold off to 12.5 or more again - I am just getting back on track!
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

He's coming up. Remember that some cats get a second dip on lantus late in the cycle.

A second dip means they nadir, come up, and then come back down late in the cycle (but not as low as nadir) and then go back up at PS or shortly after. This is different from a dropping number where they start higher at PS and drop all the way into the next PS.

I will be here so post a +11.75....don't feed.
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

Misty,

Trying to figure out a couple things before PMPS gets here.

First off, what time zone are you in?
Your routine - in a perfect world, how long after PMPS would you normally go to sleep for the night?
And when do you wake up in relation to AMPS?

Do you have a good supply of strips?
How low a number do you feel completely comfortable giving insulin on?

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

ok 117 (sigh)

First off, what time zone are you in? California- PST

Your routine - in a perfect world, how long after PMPS would you normally go to sleep for the night? Right now I am shooting at 10:30. I usually go to bed at 2-4am (so I get a few tests in) however to be honest I am so sleep deprived I almost fell asleep at work today so I was hopeing for midnight.And just a wake up in a fe hours.
And when do you wake up in relation to AMPS? I wake about 9:45am and give him his AMPS before I leave for work at apx 10:45

Do you have a good supply of strips? yes right now - I bought more the other night

How low a number do you feel completely comfortable giving insulin on? i don't know- I was told not under 200 especially with his tendancy to drop in the first few hours. We keep doing this dance- I am fustrated.
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

Understand the frustration. Bast isn't making things simple for you.

One rule I try to live by is "beans need sleep". Kitties don't care about bean rules. They sleep in 20 minute segments all day long, and probably wonder why we don't do the same thing. :smile:

My concern about skipping a shot, if it comes to that, is Bast's past bout with ketones. My concern about shooting is his habit of dropping early in the cycle, which causes you to poke him lots of times while not getting enough rest. The end result is falling asleep at your desk and frustration.

Let me ponder for a few minutes...
Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

suggestions? Do i wait and throw everything off again or shoot a skinny or less dose and then test all night..

I hate to keep skipping shots- this is not a good thing. I can stay up some tonight-
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

In each of the cycles that I see him dropping early, he was clearing a bounce fast. It looks to me like he's already cleared his bounce earlier today. Unfortunately, I can't predict what he will do tonight.

Our motto here is shoot low to stay low. We don't want you shooting under 150 by yourself the first time. But we do want you gradually learning to shoot lower and lower. Many of us routinely shoot all numbers above 50 and that's where we will eventually want to get you doing....with lots of help and coaching from us.

You've only been at this a week and the first few weeks are the toughest. You are learning at a rapid rate, you are trying to balance his care and your life.

If he were mine, I'd shoot his full dose on time if he's still around the same number or higher due to his history. But you'll have to get a +1 and +2 and maybe other tests. The complicating issue is Carl and I both are only going to be here a little longer tonight. If you shoot a reduced dose, you will still see a cycle similar to what he will do anyway due to the cumulative nature of lantus.

So your other option is to skip and I, personally, would only do it if I am utterly exhausted....and it sounds like you are.
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

Hold on for just a few and let Marje catch up...

ETA - Gotta love cross-posting!
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

ok I wanted to shoot at 10:45 (moving for the weekend time change) so I am going to get another test. My SO is more awake so he can keep me up longer.
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

Misty,
If you shoot, I can stay up till your +2, and you should get a +1 and +2. At that time, I am expecting Jane in S. Africa to be online, and she can help. Others on the west coast might be on as well.

This is your call. Shooting a reduced dose is probably not going to help, because you will likely see the same sort of cycle even if you reduce. Skipping is an option, maybe not an attractive one. But... you can do what you can do. And nobody expects someone to stay up all night every night. You need to also take care of you.

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

ok +12.5 is 133

I am going to shoot and feed him his favorite stinky tuna (trader joes) so he eats it. I will test again in an hour.

thank you all for your help- I feel like a whiney twit. I have my own business and make lots of important decisions but I am having problems learning all this. I WILL learn ! Now if my internter would stop flicking off & on!
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

OK, then decision time for you, Misty. If you feel okay with shooting that number, then you can. And somebody will do their best to be right here to help you if you need help.
What you would want to do over the first couple of hours of the cycle is try to get her to eat a normal amount, however you can try to do that.

Again, your call, and whatever you decide, "we" are good with it.

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

You're not a whiney twit! This is not easy for anyone at first. Very overwhelming and foreign. It does get easier, but it's easy to say that, not so easy to believe it. Lots to learn. Hey, I learned most of what I know AFTER Bob's days on insulin were over.

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

It's possible he came down lower than 74 today and might be on his way up so it might be an I eventful night. If his +2 is much higher than his preshot, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. No promises but..... :-D

You're doing fine! This IS hard. But it will get better and you will find a rhythm.
 
Re: 11/1 Bast AMPS 340 +3 184 +9 78 +11 110

OMG! Is it that late already!

Good morning Jane!

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

+1 157

Hello my advisers :lol: I would never make it through this without you! You all deserve metals!
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

Exactly want you want to see at +1. Nothing bouncy, and a slight boost from eating. A +2 with no big drop would be another welcome sight. :-)
Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

side question- i have been sitting with the cat to make him eat (he likes it when i talk to him). I notice he never "bites" his food. he laps at it and chases it around the dish. eventually the chunks break up and he does flip a bit into his mouth and I see him get a look like he might cough. I have added water and mushed it up real well so he can lap it up better but he still chases it around the dish. I started using pie pans years ago because they knocked the food off the dish.

his teeth are fine- anyone have a cat who doesn't bite food?
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

Hi Misty

Yes, our Emperor as we call him, Karre, doesn't like to chew/bite his canned food. He will chew raw meat, though. But the canned food, he chases up the sides of the bowl and round and round :lol: His teeth are perfect, all thirty of them :mrgreen: It might just be a quirk of Bast's! If you do ever get worried about it, you can try checking for anything else in his mouth, a little blister or cut from chewing on something is possible. If he won't let you check, you can always make a mental note to have his vet look next time. But really, if Bast has always done this, it's probably just a quirk.

Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

Mullet does that too, but mostly because I encourage it. He eats twice as fast as Bob, so I feed him on a flat saucer, and I mash his food flat so he has to lick it to unstick it. Sort of mean on my part, but if I let him gobble, he steals Bob's food. Bob eats fast too, but Mullet pretty much inhales his food if served "normally"
Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

I know he can chew- have seen him crunch kibble (no more!) When i have given him small slices of meat, he licks it and then sucks/flips it into his mouth and tils his head back (like a goose or swan) it is wierd. LOL
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

+2 75
i got him to eat a few bites but he just wants me to leave him alone- LOL

Always that 2-3 hour mark with him
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

I was hoping for a 125 or so. Encourage snacking, and get a +2.5?

What do you think, Jane?
Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

He always does this big drop! grr He ate a few bites (mabe a tablespoon)
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

A TBS is ok for now, we don't want him too full this early in the cycle, since we'll most likely want him to eat more as the cycle moves along.

Have you got higher-carb food in the house as well? And honey/syrup/karo? Just in case.

Re-test at (+2.5) please, alright? We'll go from there.

Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

ok i put a tbsp of HC food on his LC food and he is eating
I think he is too smart- he realizes if he doesn't eat he gets a food he likes- grrr
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +9 78 +11 110 +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157

HC is the right choice at this point - we don't want Lt. Bast in the 40s like this.

If you have it, try feeding HC *gravy* rather than the solic parts - the gravy is where the carbs are, and we may need Bast to eat more as the cycle wear on, alright?

Re-test on 20-30 minutes, please, ok?

You're doing a wonderful job, Misty!

Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45

yes he loves the gravy so i put some of the friskies gravey on the reg food
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45

themewedd said:
yes he loves the gravy so i put some of the friskies gravey on the reg food

Nice :smile:

Keep in mind: When he's in the 40s, you're also ok to give *only* gravy without LC, if he'll eat it that way.

What we want to see happening is a quick bump up out of the 40s - that's why we sometimes recommend pure gravy without solids.

Once he's out of that low range and has come up a bit, one can add LC to give longer duration from the food.

See you in a few with the next test :smile:

Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45 +3 53

he really shouldn't be having these drops every night/day- this is getting ridickulus! I am so afraid to ever leave him. I just dropped the lantus dose- do i need to do it again?
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45 +3 53

Hang in there, Misty! I know this is really tough, but you really are doing great!

About the dose: Looking at his SS, technically this is Bast's 4th cycle on 0.75u, but the skinny dose on 30th of October and the skipped shot on the 31st also factor in to the picture, so I would argue one could also count a bit differently - six cycles since the last "regular" dose of 1u ("regular" in the sense thata doseshave, like you did from 1u to skinny 1u, doesn't quite make for a full reduction).

Based on this, and given the fact that he is dropping this early in this way, and considering how exhausted you are - YES, I would reduce the dose once more, to 0.5u.

I would do this because:
(a) IF the reduction does not hold, you can take the dose back up, likely without losing too much ground in your progress, and
(b) IF it *does* hold, you have a chance at calmer waters once the depot has drained and adjusted to the 0.5u.

Does this make sense to you?
Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45 +3 53

LOL someone posted on my facebook page- he you are up- bet you are getting lots done. Now is the time to use those teeth strips.... Like I am getting anthing done typing in the bathroom on the laptop with the cat! HAHAAHHAH :lol:
 
Re: 11/1 Bast +11.75 117 PMPS 133 +1 157 +2 75 +2.5 45 +3 53

:smile: Ok. Just review my suggestion when you've had some sleep, ok? By your next shot time, you will have further feedback as well, so I'm sure you'll be able to make the right choice.

Also, before I forget:

Here are Misty/Bast's past few LL condos:

31st October
30th October
29th October
27th October
26th October
25th October
24th October
23rd October


Misty - we link the previous condo in every new condo. It makes it easier to backtrack when necessary :smile:

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top