10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390 +5 409

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381 (day 8)

She seems to be feeling much better the last couple of days, following me around the house, jumping on the couch to sit by us, etc. Also, jumping on the bed and is sleeping with us again.

She still tends to hang on or by the water bowl alot, but not as much as before.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381 (day 8)

As she gets used to the insulin, and her storage shed fills up, she'll be giving you more good #'s, and she won't be frequenting the water bowl hardly ever. This is a very good insulin, and I would recommend it to any diabetic kitty out there. Just takes time, and don't get discouraged. You will get there. :)
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381 (day 8)

I agree, you are already seeing a small improvement and it's just barely been a week. You guys are doing great!
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381, +3 317, +6 348 (day 8)

I think I am going to up her dosage tomorrow to 1.50 since her numbers are kinda steady, but high and she has been on 1.25 for 3 days as of today.
She is a 14# cat.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381, +3 317, +6 348 (day 8)

I'm glad to hear that Ginger is starting to feel better! :-D It is often the case that the cat starts to feel better before the numbers start to show any improvement. That's why you'll see that many of us give a WCR (whole cat report) every day in our condo...a cat is more than just his/her numbers. Behavior gives clues to help guide you too.

You may see where someone will say, 4 P's in place, or 3/5 P's...those P's are: peeing, pooping, purring, preening and playing. They are signs of a cat's health, and changes in those things can give you clues to improving health, or problems brewing.

I agree, you are doing great!

Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow!
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger AMPS 381, +3 317, +6 348 (day 8)

Providing there's no dramatic change between now and tomorrow, increasing to 1.5u tomorrow sounds like a good plan.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

Increased to 1.50 after PM reading today because of higher numbers at AM +9 and PMPS readings.
This morning's 1.25 dosage was a fat 1.25. So was last nights.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

Lots of luck with the dose increase for Ginger, and glad to see that she is feeling better. Sometimes you don't really realize all the things they stopped doing until they start to do it again.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

good luck with the dosecrease!

With Ginger's nadirs this high, you might want to consider increasing the dose more aggressively. It's entirely up to you, but the protocol allows for increases of 0.5 units at a time when nadirs are over 300.
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

Lantus really requires that you let dose increases settle. The effects of each dose are cumulative and Ginger has been on Lantus for only 8 days. You've changed the dose 5 times within that 8 day period. The initial dose needed to be held for a minimum of 5 days and each subsequent increase for 3 days. In addition, dosing is not based on the pre-shot number. Dose changes are based on the nadir. While the drop at +2 may be welcome, if numbers keep dropping you're likely to see a big bounce tomorrow.

For the future, please hold dose increases for 3 days unless a decrease is earned during that period.

(Also, if you want to post a recap of the day's numbers, it's best not to do so in the first post. People tend to move right past the initial posts to the last in the thread unless they are reading from top to bottom.)
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

actually I have to respectfully disagree with part of Sienne's suggestion that doses weren't held long enough. Our general guidelines do call for holding the initial dose longer. However, my opinion in your case is as follows:

  • I start counting on the 3rd day, because there was some dose hopping the first two days. That's not unusual, a lot of people have to find their way at the beginning.
  • So beginning on 9/29, the 1 unit dose was held for 6 cycles, which was enough time to see that the nadirs are staying well over 300. There was plenty of room for the increase to 1.25. You could have even gone to 1.5 but it is understandable to go slower.
  • Then the 1.25 was held for 5 cycles, which with nadirs over 300 is plenty. The protocol allows for increases in 48 hours with high flat numbers. We usually hold for 6 cycles but it is pretty clear that 1.25 isn't enough insulin so an increase is understandable. Again, an increase by 0.5 would be allowable, but an 0.25 increase is fine too.

To be clear, I do understand the concept of letting a dose settle, but I don't see much need to let them settle in pink and red.

So now you have two opinions to consider. :smile:
 
Re: 10/4 Ginger PMPS 498, +2 390

My vet emailed me and said she was glad I was doing the increase.

Because her numbers went pretty high at the PMPS and the one before that without any extra food, I think its time to increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top