10/31 Lulu - Increase dose?

Maya_

Member
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-24-lulu-amps-223-5-376.295189/

Hello,

I did a curve on 10/30 and the BG levels were high throughout the day. Would it be best to increase the dose to 1.25 and see how the levels go?

As a side note, I've been giving the injection around the same area (near the right shoulder blade) since that's the only area my cat is comfortable with and she lost a lot of weight so it's hard to pick up enough skin in the other areas. Since I'm doing it in the same area every time, can that affect how the insulin works? For example, the skin becoming a bit thicker?
 
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-24-lulu-amps-223-5-376.295189/

Hello,

I did a curve on 10/30 and the BG levels were high throughout the day. Would it be best to increase the dose to 1.25 and see how the levels go?

As a side note, I've been giving the injection around the same area (near the right shoulder blade) since that's the only area my cat is comfortable with and she lost a lot of weight so it's hard to pick up enough skin in the other areas. Since I'm doing it in the same area every time, can that affect how the insulin works? For example, the skin becoming a bit thicker?
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
The skin can thicken if you use the same spot all the time. I tried to alternate left and right, and thought of shooting at different parts in a circle around each side from day to day.

I think you'd be good to increase to 1.25 units, but I strongly recommend trying to get some night cycle tests in. If you could get a test before you go to bed, as long as it's at least 2 hours after PMPS, that would be really helpful in giving us an idea how low Lulu is going on a dose. Many cats go lower at night, and we use those low points, or nadirs, to tell us when to change the dose.
 
@Wendy&Neko I tested Lulu's PM pre shot BG level now and it is currently 136, I gave her 1 unit in the morning. I'm going to wait another 20 mins to see if it goes up but if not, should I give the full 1 unit dose? I was going to increase it to 1.25 to stick to our plan but I'll hold off on it for now?
 
@Wendy&Neko I tested Lulu's PM pre shot BG level now and it is currently 136, I gave her 1 unit in the morning. I'm going to wait another 20 mins to see if it goes up but if not, should I give the full 1 unit dose? I was going to increase it to 1.25 to stick to our plan but I'll hold off on it for now?


Tested her again and it's still 135. I fed her meal now and will retest again to see how high it'll go
 
Tested her again and it's still 135. I fed her meal now and will retest again to see how high it'll go

Tested an hour after she finished eating and it's at 388, I'll give her 1 unit to help prevent it from spiking too high. Is it normal to spike that high after a meal?
 
Back
Top