10/30 KHAN +12 135 +18 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28565 currently updating the SS

10/30 Amps 135
10/29 pmps: 364
10/29 +5.5 323
10/29 Amps 306
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

Morning. 135 is actually a good #. :) Nothing to worry about. I think you would've been fine with shooting the regular dose, however, someone more knowledgeable than I could tell you. :) Otherwise, good job! :)
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

I think you are getting enough data to be able to start shooting lower numbers, Hopefully others will be around soon to talk you through it.

When were you supposed to have shot?

BTW your link isn't working you are missing http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/ and did you use the URL button?
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

I won't be here for a while this morning since I have to go buy more fancy feast as well as vet food for (pepper whom is close to blocking) and buy more hypo food since I used that to try and get Pepper to eat the s/d as well as my grandma to eat. Normal shot time is 630 am and it is 844am
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

Ok my grandma is Briquette shei s 18 yr old just diagnosed with hyperthyroid.. yes lots going on in my house and have a 3yr old. I plan on being here most of the rest of the day after I run around this morning. I'll get numbers for Khan then.

I would like to get some advice..do I shoot or not?
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

I see that you have not gotten any PM cycle checks during the past couple of days....is there a way that you can get a before bed check at least during that PM cycle? This 135 is not considered an "AMPS" if there was no shot...technically, it would be more like your +12=135, right?
There are many things to consider when you get a lower-than-usual preshot number. One of the considerations is whether you will be around to monitor during the cycle. There is a post from Libby that talks about low preshots (actually lower numbers than you saw this morning, but still, it is good to print this out to have in hard copy for the future...) viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894

The starred sticky at the top of the page:
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - DATA READY TO SHOOT LOW NUMBERS? viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

When we have a lot of data for our kitty, we can see that shooting a lower number will be okay ...provided we will be able to monitor. You may see higher numbers this evening due to the lack of insulin on board. The shed will drain a bit and it will take a little time to get back on track. But this is all good information for you as you note the response to the no shot this morning.

If you have a questions as to whether to shoot or not, you may post and talk it over with people as you make your decision. Giving some insulin, if possible, by giving a BCS dose is preferable to not shooting anything.
So, not shooting is one option you had, but in the end, it might not be the ideal. It depends very much on the circumstances...and it sounds as if you have a lot going on today.
You do want to keep the 12/12 schedule in mind as well, so any delay will throw off your shooting times.
Please read the above links and come back with any questions you may have, okay?

Oh, and maybe put Khans' name in your header? ;-)
 
Re: 10/30 Amps 135! I did not shoot

I agree with everything Pat said. It may be time to get mentally prepared to shoot lower numbers. You shot some higher blues, hopefully, there will be another opportunity to shoot in this range soon and it will be on a day when you can monitor.
 
Re: 10/30 +12 135 ,+18 320

yes I agree. I wish I wouldn't of been so afraid to shoot today. Khan is getting 3mg of Methyl B12 twice a day..should I go up in the dose? He is still walking on his hocks but it has really improved.

Finally Pepper peed~ (he is at high risk of becoming blocked). LIttle stinker wouldn't eat the wet Hills s/d..so finally I gave in and bought dry s/d--he ate then peed! but I will syringe warm s/d in in about 1.5 hrs. hyperthyroid-grandma finally ate some Hills a/d- she just isn't that hungry..strange for her. I've tried soooo many foods..
 
it sounds like feeding time must be quite a production at your house!

Next time Khan throws a number like this, hopefully you'll be home and able to shoot and test. There's always a next time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top