? 10/28/24 WATSON 326/250

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024

Please help me understand the numbers that I have entered on my spreadsheet versus what you see on the graph
. I got a low glucose alarm at 5:24 this morning saying it was 58, Then several readings in the 70s and 80s. I have my graph parameter set at 90 for the low point and 150 for the High Point and nowhere on this graph. Do I see any numbers in the 50s 70s or 80s. I am totally confused and not trusting what I see on this Libre.
To be on the safe side, I did reduce him back to 2.25 but now I’m wondering if I did the right thing

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-23-24-watson-amps-293-libre-209-meter.295150/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-23-24-watson-amps-293-libre-209-meter.295150/
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-28_11-13-52.png
    upload_2024-10-28_11-13-52.png
    233.3 KB · Views: 71
Looks like you saw a 58 on the Libre then retested with the handheld meter and got a 93? It's not uncommon for the Libre to test lower than handheld BG meters in lower numbers. Which is why you should retest with a hand held meter if the Libre shows lower, so you did the right thing there. You sonly reduce per SLGS if he goes below 90 on the hand held meter, which he did not.
 
Please help me understand the numbers that I have entered on my spreadsheet versus what you see on the graph. I got a low glucose alarm at 5:24 this morning saying it was 58, Then several readings in the 70s and 80s. I have my graph parameter set at 90 for the low point and 150 for the High Point and nowhere on this graph. Do I see any numbers in the 50s 70s or 80s. I am totally confused and not trusting what I see on this Libre.
To be on the safe side, I did reduce him back to 2.25 but now I’m wondering if I did the right thing

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-23-24-watson-amps-293-libre-209-meter.295150/
Hi Rosie, I can only assume Watson may have had a brief dip to a lower number, 58 on the Libre, but didn’t linger there. And probably bounced right back up. Likely why he bypassed your low setting on the Libre of 90, so you got the alarm because he took the quick dip down.
When that happens it doesn’t seem to record it on the graph since he didn’t stay there (I’ve had same experience).

Ivy seems to have a trend of having a low dip like that, too around +8.25 to +9. So I started feeding her about 2 tsp of her low carb food in her auto feeder at +2.25 (which is 2:30 am). It seems to be helping reduce those dips which were waking me up often in a panic from the Libre alarms.
Just something to think about if he’s on a trend at that same time in Watson’s cycle over and over.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Rosie, I can only assume Watson may have had a brief dip to a lower number, 58 on the Libre, but didn’t linger there. And probably bounced right back up. Likely why he bypassed your low setting on the Libre of 90, so you got the alarm because he took the quick dip down.
When that happens it doesn’t seem to record it on the graph since he didn’t stay there (I’ve had same experience).

Ivy seems to have a trend of having a low dip like that, too around +8.25 to +9. So I started feeding her about 2 tsp of her low carb food in her auto feeder at +2.25 (which is 2:30 am). It seems to be helping reduce those dips which were waking me up often in a panic from the Libre alarms.
Just something to think about if he’s on a trend at that same time in Watson’s cycle over and over.
:bighug::bighug:
Unfortunately, I don’t think that would work cause I have four cats so how do I know who’s getting the food? I was getting lots of wacky numbers on the Libre yesterday, but the graph didn’t show any of them so I actually contacted Abbott and they’re going to be calling me this afternoon afternoon
 
Looks like you saw a 58 on the Libre then retested with the handheld meter and got a 93? It's not uncommon for the Libre to test lower than handheld BG meters in lower numbers. Which is why you should retest with a hand held meter if the Libre shows lower, so you did the right thing there. You sonly reduce per SLGS if he goes below 90 on the hand held meter, which he did not.
Thanks! I’ll be home almost all day tomorrow so I’ll bump him back up to 2.5 tonight or in the morning.
 
Unfortunately, I don’t think that would work cause I have four cats so how do I know who’s getting the food? I was getting lots of wacky numbers on the Libre yesterday, but the graph didn’t show any of them so I actually contacted Abbott and they’re going to be calling me this afternoon afternoon
Remember Never tell them it’s a cat you are using the Libre on.

Also, you could put Watson in a room away from your other kitties overnight so only he would have access to the feeder.
 
Remember Never tell them it’s a cat you are using the Libre on.

Also, you could put Watson in a room away from your other kitties overnight so only he would have access to the feeder.

@Staci & Ivy this is what happened when I tried shutting Watson in a room before
@Staci & Ivy
upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
th
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
    upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
    156.8 KB · Views: 120
  • upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
    upload_2024-10-31_18-14-43.png
    255.9 KB · Views: 131
@Staci & Ivy this is what happened when I tried shutting Watson in a room before
@Staci & Ivy View attachment 71335View attachment 71334th
Ugh. That’s not good. Poor Watson!! :banghead:

I know they make feeders that are chipped to match the wearer’s collar which only that cat can open the feeder.
Maybe you could make a post on the main info page to see what other people suggest for that situation.
Believe me, you’re not the only one that has that situation with multiple cats in a household. Or of course, you could always ask on this page as well to see if you get any good idea ideas :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top