? 10/25 Coco AMPS 370 +3.5 319 (Having some questions)

win&coco

Member Since 2026
Yesterday.

Well he seems to be stuck on 300s 🤔
I have a few questions if anyone read this and have some spare time to give insight.

*Yesterday is "PMPS" was 375 (no insulin, remember, I am following his vet advise still) so I am wondering if this means his glucose stayed in the 370s at night maybe? Like a flat line
*Could this be another bounce? What do I say to vet if he wants to increase the dose? (He seems to increase or reduce dose based only on AMPS/PMPS (didn't even told us to check nadir))
*I missed yesterday AMPS +6 mark to check so maybe I could have missed his nadir?
*Having this numbers is possible because he has no depot essentially? Like I don't know if the data I am collecting is useless because well he is not forming a depot with the spacing of his dosis.

I attached an image of the meditions they gave me in a paper when Coco was hospitalized and had his glucose checked at the vet (he stayed 5 days + 3 days after because of his absess), I want you all to see the mess they made 😥 (this was before knowing he didn't know much about feline diabetes). I didn't add it to the spreadsheet because the times are weird and I don't know how to add it.

Coco is feeling okay, he does respond to every sound and my voice. He meows at me like his usual past self, he purrs and he cuddles with me. He is peeing and pooing normally (only today at really morning he had some soft stool - I send a text to his vet but because is sunday i doubt he will answer today), he have his usual appetite too (he just gets frustrated with the cone but I help him). I feel like he is a little bit bored of being confined but I can't let him out of the room or he risk a new infection or opening the surgery wound.

Anyways I'll check at +6 (hopefully).
 

Attachments

  • Glucose-Vet.png
    Glucose-Vet.png
    43.1 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Hi Win, Lantus is an insulin that does best with consistency: same dose every 12 hours. Until you get some consistency in the dosing, Coco's numbers will likely be erratic.

As you said, we look at a cat's nadir and base increases/decreases on that, and not on the preshot number.

Also, we typically increase/decrease in .25 unit measurements when and if a dose increase/decrease is earned.

It's hard to know what happened at night because you aren't testing. He hasn't received insulin in most of these recent evening cycles, but that doesn't mean his blood glucose is not dropping. Once you get him on a consistent dose of insulin, one shot every 12 hours, you definitely need to be testing at night, so that you can ensure his blood glucose is not going too low.

If you want to continue working with your vet (who you say doesn't know much about feline diabetes), could you at least try to share with them the information on the forum? Here is an explanation of the two dosing methods most all of us follow: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). You can explain to him that many of the cats on the FDMB have achieved regulation and even remission in following these dosing methods, and tell him you'd like to give one of them a try. Perhaps he might 'approve' you trying one of these methods.

Alternatively, you can read the information on the forum and begin following one of these dosing methods, and the members of the forum will do their best to help you along the way. This forum is solely dedicated to feline diabetes, and many of the members on the board have years of experience working with feline diabetes kitties. My own vet simply lets me follow the guidance of the forum and jumps in to help me when I need it.

Many on the forum do not have a lot of support from their vet because vets are often not adequately trained or knowledgeable about feline diabetes, but members here find more than enough support to successfully treat their kitties by reading the forum information, posting, and following one of the dosing methods.

If you decide to depend on the forum to help you in treating Coco, please check in first to get some advice about adjusting dosing.
 
Hi Win, Lantus is an insulin that does best with consistency: same dose every 12 hours. Until you get some consistency in the dosing, Coco's numbers will likely be erratic.

As you said, we look at a cat's nadir and base increases/decreases on that, and not on the preshot number.

Also, we typically increase/decrease in .25 unit measurements when and if a dose increase/decrease is earned.

It's hard to know what happened at night because you aren't testing. He hasn't received insulin in most of these recent evening cycles, but that doesn't mean his blood glucose is not dropping. Once you get him on a consistent dose of insulin, one shot every 12 hours, you definitely need to be testing at night, so that you can ensure his blood glucose is not going too low.

If you want to continue working with your vet (who you say doesn't know much about feline diabetes), could you at least try to share with them the information on the forum? Here is an explanation of the two dosing methods most all of us follow: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). You can explain to him that many of the cats on the FDMB have achieved regulation and even remission in following these dosing methods, and tell him you'd like to give one of them a try. Perhaps he might 'approve' you trying one of these methods.

Alternatively, you can read the information on the forum and begin following one of these dosing methods, and the members of the forum will do their best to help you along the way. This forum is solely dedicated to feline diabetes, and many of the members on the board have years of experience working with feline diabetes kitties. My own vet simply lets me follow the guidance of the forum and jumps in to help me when I need it.

Many on the forum do not have a lot of support from their vet because vets are often not adequately trained or knowledgeable about feline diabetes, but members here find more than enough support to successfully treat their kitties by reading the forum information, posting, and following one of the dosing methods.

If you decide to depend on the forum to help you in treating Coco, please check in first to get some advice about adjusting dosing.
Yeah I didn't test at night because he is no getting insulin at night so I thought it was useless.

I want to firts talk to my vet about adjusting Coco's dose in his next appointment which is in wendsay (because I am a little bit scared of going with no vet help basically). If he doesn't reason or wants to increase to more insulin only at 24 hours I will want to change Coco's dosis and depend on the forum. Hopefully I can have some help if things turn sour when his appointment. is that okay? I am just a little scared of having no support.
 
Yeah I didn't test at night because he is no getting insulin at night so I thought it was useless.

I want to firts talk to my vet about adjusting Coco's dose in his next appointment which is in wendsay (because I am a little bit scared of going with no vet help basically). If he doesn't reason or wants to increase to more insulin only at 24 hours I will want to change Coco's dosis and depend on the forum. Hopefully I can have some help if things turn sour when his appointment. is that okay?
Yes, that's 100% okay! Whatever you decide is perfectly fine. Coco is your cat and you get to make the decision in how you treat him. You can stick with the vet, if you want, and still come on the forum. We will help you as much as possible, but we will have difficulty helping you with dosing, etc., when you're following the vet's current dosing method.

Some people will print out information from the forum for their vet and take it to them to read. That can sometimes help persuade a vet to consider a different method of treatment.

Good luck with the vet appointment and conversation.
 
Yes, that's 100% okay! Whatever you decide is perfectly fine. Coco is your cat and you get to make the decision in how you treat him. You can stick with the vet, if you want, and still come on the forum. We will help you as much as possible, but we will have difficulty helping you with dosing, etc., when you're following the vet's current dosing method.

Some people will print out information from the forum for their vet and take it to them to read. That can sometimes help persuade a vet to consider a different method of treatment.

Good luck with the vet appointment and conversation.
I will see if I can print some info from here after translating it.

Thank you. I am just used to following vet's advise so depending on other people seems scary but I am really considering it.
 
I will see if I can print some info from here after translating it.

Thank you. I am just used to following vet's advise so depending on other people seems scary but I am really considering it.
I understand! It can be scary. And it can be tricky. You're going to need that vet in the future if Coco has other illnesses, which he likely will, so protecting that relationship can often be important.

For what it's worth, when Jude got his diagnosis, the vet gave me a vial of insulin, told me what dose to start with, told me to give Jude a shot twice a day, 12 hours apart. That was it. He didn't encourage testing, or tell me what to do if Jude's bg went low, or anything like that. So I began researching, and I found this forum. I read the information on the forum and knew that I needed to test and find a dosing method that would guide me with Jude's insulin increases/decreases. I selected a dosing method (I started with SLGS), followed it, checked in and posted on the forum daily and asked questions, and then showed the results to my vet when I've had to go visit him. My vet looks at Jude's numbers and is fine with what he sees.
 
I understand! It can be scary. And it can be tricky. You're going to need that vet in the future if Coco has other illnesses, which he likely will, so protecting that relationship can often be important.

For what it's worth, when Jude got his diagnosis, the vet gave me a vial of insulin, told me what dose to start with, told me to give Jude a shot twice a day, 12 hours apart. That was it. He didn't encourage testing, or tell me what to do if Jude's bg went low, or anything like that. So I began researching, and I found this forum. I read the information on the forum and knew that I needed to test and find a dosing method that would guide me with Jude's insulin increases/decreases. I selected a dosing method (I started with SLGS), followed it, checked in and posted on the forum daily and asked questions, and then showed the results to my vet when I've had to go visit him. My vet looks at Jude's numbers and is fine with what he sees.
I just hope mine is okay with the suggestion. I wish I found the forum sooner so we started Coco on the right track, it's been since July with no stability so far.
 
It’s good you are here Win, we are happy to help you as Mary explained.
I hope your vet is supportive and you can always come here and read about treating diabetes and ask questions and get more help.
Coco is very lucky to have you 😻💝
 
It’s good you are here Win, we are happy to help you as Mary explained.
I hope your vet is supportive and you can always come here and read about treating diabetes and ask questions and get more help.
Coco is very lucky to have you 😻💝
Thank you! I really needed to hear that.

I hope my vet understands too 🤞🏻
 
Back
Top