10/15 Copernicus AMPS=130 skipped

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
I try at all costs to avoid a skip but he has continued to drop and stay low even 20 hours after his last shot, numbers verified on a meter. Edit: He even went to 77 today on A.T. : lower numbers could be a sign of worsening kidney disease. Has anyone seen anything like this? Been working on keeping him from going hypo for 5-ish hours now.
IMG_0082.jpeg
 
Last edited:
At what point in the cycle did you do the AT test that showed a below 68? We call that a low number, a hypo if there are symptoms. That's a important milestone in dosing so good to show it on the spreadsheet. Maybe time to lower him to 20 units?

Worsening kidney disease did not impact Neko's blood sugar values.

What day did you start the every day cabergoline? That would be worth noting on the spreadsheet as that can impact blood sugars.
 
He didn't show clinical signs. I guess he wasn't low by this group's definition of 68. His vet had a different definition. His new vet said she would start to worry under 80. The doctors have me so scared about low numbers. It's all they talk about. He got to 77 +4 hours after his skip. I have shot a 130 before with a reduced dose, but the difference was his numbers were rising then. This time he continued to go down. I regret giving him high carb food. I didn't realize it affected blood glucose for up to 12 hours.

It's hard not to mess up when I don't sleep and I'm anxious and everything with this disease is a fire drill.

I skipped his cabergoline last night too. He had a significant head tremor and it has gotten better today after I skipped his dose. I don't know if I will do daily if that's a side effect.
 
He got to 77 +4 hours after his skip.
He was breaking a bounce, see how his PMPS was so much higher than this morning's AMPS. A bounce breaking cycle action can continue to the following cycle. Plus there is the influence of the depot which can impact the first part of the following cycle following a skipped or reduced dose. At least with the skip you can get back on your old shot schedule again tonight.
I regret giving him high carb food. I didn't realize it affected blood glucose for up to 12 hours.
High carb wet food typically raising blood sugars for just a couple hours. Dry food can last longer.

I skipped his cabergoline last night too. He had a significant head tremor and it has gotten better today after I skipped his dose. I don't know if I will do daily if that's a side effect.
I've never seen anyone report head tremor as a side effect of cabergoline. Side effects tend to be GI related, and shorter term. Good to hear the head tremor has gotten better now.
 
I don't exactly understand all that. Why isn't 389 just a PS? Why are you calling it a bounce? I'll have to read it a few more times. If it was your cat, would you have shot? I remember we discussed shooting if above 150. And this was my first experience with numbers still dropping. This was unchartered territory for Copernicus.
 
Last edited:
The 389 was a PMPS, plus part of a bounce. Going down to 132 for AMPS was a sign of him breaking that bounce.
If it was your cat, would you have shot?
I did all the time. Pink PMPS to blue AMPS was a very common cycle or Neko. Of course, I had to be able to monitor. Take a look at the other cycles where you have shot blue preshots. Most of them were fairly flat with not a huge curve to them.
 
The 389 was a PMPS, plus part of a bounce. Going down to 132 for AMPS was a sign of him breaking that bounce.

I did all the time. Pink PMPS to blue AMPS was a very common cycle or Neko. Of course, I had to be able to monitor. Take a look at the other cycles where you have shot blue preshots. Most of them were fairly flat with not a huge curve to them.
He went hypo 66 shooting blue on 10/13 and he went hypo 45 shooting blue on 138. What am I missing?
 
The 389 was a PMPS, plus part of a bounce. Going down to 132 for AMPS was a sign of him breaking that bounce.

I did all the time. Pink PMPS to blue AMPS was a very common cycle or Neko. Of course, I had to be able to monitor. Take a look at the other cycles where you have shot blue preshots. Most of them were fairly flat with not a huge curve to them.
He's climbing. You mentioned in an earlier post giving R after nadir. What would that look like? . I'm worried he's going to go back to 700 from that stupid skip.
 
He went hypo 66 shooting blue on 10/13
Yes, but he got 25 units the night before and some of that carried forward (depot) to the next day. Plus he had a bunch of R given on 10/12 and sometimes the effect of giving R can be seen on following cycles. And note that I said "most of the blue cycles" not all. Which is why I suggested shooting blue when you can monitor. Most of the other blue cycles did not have "complications" surrounding those cycles.

It would a help us if you could indicate in the Remarks section when he was in the hospital and when he came home. That way we know who was testing/shooting. For example, on 10/12 was that you or the hospital shooting R?
He's climbing. You mentioned in an earlier post giving R after nadir. What would that look like?
He's probably also bouncing from greens today. When is Copernicus' Lantus nadir? You don't want the R and L to nadir at the same time. So you could shoot a bit before Lantus nadir. Having said that, if he's still climbing at your next test you could give R then. Follow the same R scale as before. The issue with giving R at night late is having to get later tests.
 
Yes, but he got 25 units the night before and some of that carried forward (depot) to the next day. Plus he had a bunch of R given on 10/12 and sometimes the effect of giving R can be seen on following cycles. And note that I said "most of the blue cycles" not all. Which is why I suggested shooting blue when you can monitor. Most of the other blue cycles did not have "complications" surrounding those cycles.

It would a help us if you could indicate in the Remarks section when he was in the hospital and when he came home. That way we know who was testing/shooting. For example, on 10/12 was that you or the hospital shooting R?

He's probably also bouncing from greens today. When is Copernicus' Lantus nadir? You don't want the R and L to nadir at the same time. So you could shoot a bit before Lantus nadir. Having said that, if he's still climbing at your next test you could give R then. Follow the same R scale as before. The issue with giving R at night late is having to get later tests.
Sometimes his Nadir is +6, sometimes it's later in the cycle. Should I recognize it as being the same time every cycle? Last night, I don't see a nadir, he just kept climbing even after shot. The fact he was still dropping at his last pre-shot, are we calling that nadir? He's 442 so I gave R. I realize I have no experience with it but I cannot let him get to 700 again.
 
Last edited:
Help me understand your comment about R: If R is in and out in 4 hours, then how could it possibly show up in next cycle?
 
I try at all costs to avoid a skip but he has continued to drop and stay low even 20 hours after his last shot, numbers verified on a meter. Edit: He even went to 77 today on A.T. : lower numbers could be a sign of worsening kidney disease. Has anyone seen anything like this? Been working on keeping him from going hypo for 5-ish hours now. View attachment 80792

Hi Krista, my cat was also shaking a bit when she finally had lower numbers for the first few times. It was 60 or 70, but she was shaking her head and trembling. After her body got used to lower numbers, it stopped.

Maybe Copernicus' case is related to the lower numbers, not to the cabergoline. Not sure though. Just wanted to share my little experience with you.

The vets can make us so scared and afraid of lower numbers... we get so tense. But if he has no serious symptoms, the body adjust itself to it all, over time. Lower numbers (especially above 50) don't necessarily means hypo. And it is not connected to kidney disease, as far as I know.

As I said, I just wanted to share my little experience with you, in case it helps.

You are going through a lot and I send you a hug and wish you can find the best strategies for him.

🤍 I hope you can find a way to sleep a bit.

I skipped his cabergoline last night too. He had a significant head tremor and it has gotten better today after I skipped his dose. I don't know if I will do daily if that's a side effect.
 
Last edited:
If R is in and out in 4 hours, then how could it possibly show up in next cycle?
Do you know from your data so far that R is in and out in 4 hours? It is in most cats, but not with Neko. First test she was solid red for four hours. I thought it was a dud and went to bed. Woke up to green. :eek: R doesn't show up in later cycles, but if Lantus is working with lower numbers due the R, then you can see lower numbers later on.
 
Back
Top