10/13 Ginger pmps 373 +3 320 +6 381

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

Sorry I can't give any advice, I'm new and barely know what I'm doing half the time. Just wanted to chime in with some support.

Ginger, it's too early in the season to be wearing basic black!
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

Lori....This has got to be so frustrating for ya.

Come on Ginger....you are spicing it up in the wrong direction.

My kitty, Curry, and Ginger would make a good team.....We could call them the "Spice Girls". Sorry, bad joke....just wanted to turn your unhappy face to a smiling one before the day got started. Hang in there Lori.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

That was nice of you, Tena.

Come on Ginger Girl, let's make your momma happy...come on down, nice and easy, there girl.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

ok, you have one more shot tonight at this dose, then tomorrow morning go up by 0.5u. just can't have her sitting in these high numbers. UNLESS you see a really great midpoint number and next preshot, in which case i'd go up by 0.25u (sometimes a really high number comes before a break or after a hypo. don't see evidence of a hypo so i'm thinking ya never know the next preshot number might be decent if the 577 is the high before the break). if your nadir and next preshot are in the 300s or higher, go up by 0.5u as per the protocol.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

Thanks everyone, yes it is frustrating......

I do plan to increase the dose tomorrow by .50 unless something drastic happens today with her nadairs.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

i flipped out and posted 911 on binks when we first started cuz he got a 488...so you're doing much better with your calm than we did. hang in there!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448

yuck ginger!! That high of a number isn't where you want to be .. come on down now ok?? Sorry you are dealing with these higher numbers, I know how frustrating this whole thing can be... we all know how frustrating this can be!!
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577

Morning...good that she came down a bit from those AMPS.
What did your vet say about the diarrhea? Did the vet advise to reduce dose of ABs? Is it still happening?

I would keep your vet updated as to her numbers since they might be reflecting an increase from the infection and lowering the dose of ABs might not be the way to go. Maybe your vet can suggest a different form of probiotic that you could get right now if you cannot find the Fortiflora locally. And ask also when the vet thinks the ABs will start to work....it has been a few days now, right? Best to be in close contact in case any changes have to be made as far as the infection that she is fighting, right? You want to get that out of her system as soon as you can....
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448

Pat,
I didnt tell the vet about the diarreha.
I just didnt want her to get more dehydrated, so reduced it from 2cc (or whatever the 2 is on the syringe she gave me) down to 1cc for just yesterday.
I will go back to the #2 dosage today. Diarreha has stopped.
Probably only 2 days of it left.

My vet views Gingers Spreadsheet, so she can see whats going on.
Since she is a holistic vet, she probably does have something similar to the Fortiflora I could get.
I will call her later today if the Natural pet food store doesnt have it.

Update: I just viewed the web page for the Natural pet food store I go to and MY VET advises them on what products & foods to keep in stock!
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448

I agree with Pat about the ABs. If this were a person, you don't decrease or stop ABs until you know the infection is gone. FortiFlora is a good probiotic. If you can't find it, I've also used ReNew Ultimate, which I've found in the refrigerated supplement section at Whole Foods. It's very likely it's the infection that are keeping Ginger's numbers elevated.

I also agree with Chris. Barring any drop in numbers, I'd raise Ginger's dose by 0.5u tomorrow. Although, how about if you post closer to your PMPS tonight and let's evaluate if the dose can be raised a little sooner? Given the drop by +2, maybe things are moving in the right direction.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448

Ginger is coming down oh so slowing this morning. Hang in there Lori, we are here to help you through this. We got lots of moral support for you!
Hey Ginger....come on girl, you can give your mama some yellow today, can't you? You can surf them yellers, right???

Hi Ginger! It's me, Spot. I just wanna say dat you can git dem nice yeller nummers me mumz is talkin about. I know you can!!! Just so you know, der is a couple of us dat are going to Chef Stu's (GA) camp today to hang wit his beans for a few and pickin some catmint. Den we probably will do some grillin. You wanna come and meet ebeyone?..............Spot
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427

Cute slideshow - very cute kitties. I can't offer any advice on the Ab, etc. I hope all works out well for Ginger. The +2 is promising - I hope Ginger's numbers can come down some. Hang in there - it will get better.

Ginger - hey it's me Mannie! come with us to Stu's camp today. All us kitties are hanging out together and we'd love to meet you. I hope we will see you there! ~~ Mannie

 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427

Thanks :smile:

I left a message for my vet to call me. Hopefully she will return my call today.

I cannot find the Fortiflora locally, but she may sell something similar that will help in both areas of digestion and attracting her to eat more. Being a holicostic vet, I am sure she has something.


I called the pet store and they do have a supplement to help her want to eat called Halo Dinner party which is a protien freeze dried chicken sprinkle that contains no by-products, artificial preservatives, added salt or sugar, artificial colors or flavors.

If I do not hear from the vet by dinner time, I will buy that for now.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427

What a great slideshow. All of your babies are beautiful, but you know I have a fondness for black kitties like Lucky. Good luck with your dosecrease tomorrow. Learning patience is a hard lesson, but it pays off. I think we've all been where you are and we know how frustrating and scary it is. Hang in there, Lori.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427

Ginger, you're heading in the right direction, keep coming down. Those reds and blacks are scary, but hang in there Lori. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger.................AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427

My vet returned my call and said she reviewed her spreadsheet today and is not happy with Gingers progress on the Lantus.
She definetly wants to switch her to PZI because that is the insulin she knows and feels the high levels Ginger is experiencing are going to do damage. She said most every animal she has put on the PZI has had good results in a few days to a couple of weeks, not months and she does not like how long you have to wait for the Lantus to work.

I told her I'd like to wait at least a week to see if her levels improve before I switch.

I asked if she had the Fortiflora or something similar.
She said she does have a probotic and I can come and pick it up tonight.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416

love the slide show of your kitties, lori! they're so cute!

glad your vet has a probiotic for ginger. hopefully, it'll help with any problems with diarrhea.
i see a +8 of 416 on ginger's spreadsheet. ginger's numbers have remained high. if it were me, i would become more aggressive with dosing by taking the dose up to 2.75u bid tonight unless ginger drops into the 200s between now and PMPS time. the tight regulation protocol allows for increases after 2 - 3 days if the numbers remain high... and so far, her numbers haven't moved much.

what do you think about becoming more aggressive in order to bring those numbers down?

i also have a question...
i seem to remember reading somewhere that ginger was up to 5u bid of humulin N without producing favorable results prior to switching to lantus. is that correct? if it is correct, ginger *could* be way under dose at this point... all the more reason to become more aggressive with dosing.
we can help you with that.
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416, pmps 373, +3

Jill,
Thank you about the slideshow comment. (Thank you everyone else too)

I did not see your message until after her PM +3 injection, but I did up it to 2.50 for the PM shot tonight at least.
Tomorrow I do plan to increase it to 2.75.

And yes, I do think I need a more aggressive approach. I am definetly planning on increases at 3 days, but if they continue to stay so high, I would like to increase in 2 days instead.

Regarding the Humulin N, no, she was never on 5 units. Must have been a different "Ginger". The highest was 3 units. With the Humulin N, the problem was she started off at really high at the amps, and dropped drastically by +6, then way back up again by the pmps. Like from 500 to 150 to 500. She was on it for 3 weeks. Week 1- 1 unit 2x a day, week 2 - 2 units 2x a day, then week 3- 3 units 2x a day. She just felt awful.
I even tried 3 shots a day for a couple of days but it wasnt helping so the vet said, we need to change to something else.

Since I read the good things here about the Lantus, I asked the vet to switch me to that rather than the PZI she was suggesting - especially because she didnt have any PZI on hand and had to order it. With the Lantus prescription, I could go to walmart right away.

I thought maybe I should have started her on a little higher dose of Lantus than the 1 unit 2x a day, after her 1st day readings so the 2nd day I switched her to 2 units, but got alot of feedback that I should not have done that because of the filling the shed stuff, So I even skipped that evening shot and went to 1 unit 2x a day the next day as suggested to me.

Anyway,
The vet gave me 10 capsules of Proviable-DC to reestablish healthy intestinal balances for 10 days. I mixed a tiny bit of food with water and added the powder from the capsule and syringe fed it to her to make sure she got it. She is not eating very much and is not adapting to the wet food very well. She is eating very little dry as well.
Tomorrow I plan to buy Halo Dinner Party, which I was told will help stimulate her appetite.
I also plan to order the Fortiflora which I was told is a probotic, plus it will stimuate her appetite and will use that instead when I get it. (after she is done with the Proviable-DC)

I appreciate your support and any suggestions as I know you are a person that knows alot about the Lantus insulin

Thank you,
Lori
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416 pmps 373 +3 3

Hi Ginger just want to offer support good luck with the new dose :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416 pmps 373 +3 3

thanks for explaining ginger's experience with humulin N.

glad you're on board with taking a more aggressive approach to pulling these numbers down. go ahead and start at 2.75u in the morning unless ginger drops into the mid-200s at any time between now and AMPS and let's go from there. until we're seeing nadirs less than 300, plan on holding the dose for a total of 4 cycles before increasing by 0.5 unit bid.

i'm not on the board a lot these days, but i'll make it a point to check ginger's thread and spreadsheet daily. i've also talked to some of the others. they're aware of the plan to dose aggressively. we'll get her numbers down as quickly as safely possible!
 
Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416 pmps 373 +3 3

Lori

I hope you can get Ginger's numbers down with the dosecrease. Loved the slide show....Torties are so special.
Sending healing vines for Ginger, too, and hopeful vines that she'll start to come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top