Re: 10/13 Ginger AMPS 577 +2 448 +5 427 +8 416, pmps 373, +3
Jill,
Thank you about the slideshow comment. (Thank you everyone else too)
I did not see your message until after her PM +3 injection, but I did up it to 2.50 for the PM shot tonight at least.
Tomorrow I do plan to increase it to 2.75.
And yes, I do think I need a more aggressive approach. I am definetly planning on increases at 3 days, but if they continue to stay so high, I would like to increase in 2 days instead.
Regarding the Humulin N, no, she was never on 5 units. Must have been a different "Ginger". The highest was 3 units. With the Humulin N, the problem was she started off at really high at the amps, and dropped drastically by +6, then way back up again by the pmps. Like from 500 to 150 to 500. She was on it for 3 weeks. Week 1- 1 unit 2x a day, week 2 - 2 units 2x a day, then week 3- 3 units 2x a day. She just felt awful.
I even tried 3 shots a day for a couple of days but it wasnt helping so the vet said, we need to change to something else.
Since I read the good things here about the Lantus, I asked the vet to switch me to that rather than the PZI she was suggesting - especially because she didnt have any PZI on hand and had to order it. With the Lantus prescription, I could go to walmart right away.
I thought maybe I should have started her on a little higher dose of Lantus than the 1 unit 2x a day, after her 1st day readings so the 2nd day I switched her to 2 units, but got alot of feedback that I should not have done that because of the filling the shed stuff, So I even skipped that evening shot and went to 1 unit 2x a day the next day as suggested to me.
Anyway,
The vet gave me 10 capsules of Proviable-DC to reestablish healthy intestinal balances for 10 days. I mixed a tiny bit of food with water and added the powder from the capsule and syringe fed it to her to make sure she got it. She is not eating very much and is not adapting to the wet food very well. She is eating very little dry as well.
Tomorrow I plan to buy Halo Dinner Party, which I was told will help stimulate her appetite.
I also plan to order the Fortiflora which I was told is a probotic, plus it will stimuate her appetite and will use that instead when I get it. (after she is done with the Proviable-DC)
I appreciate your support and any suggestions as I know you are a person that knows alot about the Lantus insulin
Thank you,
Lori