Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
Are you warming her ear?
Just give her a break. Try to get the PMPS test. If she is similar to or higher than this morning then shoot 1 unit and get a before bed test.
Just give her a break. Try to get the PMPS test. If she is similar to or higher than this morning then shoot 1 unit and get a before bed test.
You have seen this?
View attachment 70396
I am glad you only shot one unit. We can’t base doses off of the preshot numbers (except when we may need to shoot a little less is preshot numbers are low and we don’t have data to support shooting the full dose.). We largely base the dose on the nadir because that’s the most important number we need in order to keep Fidget safe. Now that you are getting tests, I would like a little more data to see where he nadir is on 1 unit. If it looks like she needs more insulin based on her nadir, then we can move to 1.25 units.shee was ay okay! infact she just sits on my lap and purrs while im trying. didnt try the ear warming thing so ill try that later....just got my pre test without her eating...ill feed her now and you sure one unit is enough for tonight? ive nevr seen hee hit past 450/27.0
update: ended up just going 1 unit till we feel comfortable giving a higher dose
I am glad you only shot one unit. We can’t base doses off of the preshot numbers (except when we may need to shoot a little less is preshot numbers are low and we don’t have data to support shooting the full dose.). We largely base the dose on the nadir because that’s the most important number we need in order to keep Fidget safe. Now that you are getting tests, I would like a little more data to see where he nadir is on 1 unit. If it looks like she needs more insulin based on her nadir, then we can move to 1.25 units.
No. Vaseline won’t affect the BG test. We often advise new mementos on that as well as the thumbnail/fingernail thing. A lot of people find they have more control with the lancet free hand, but maybe you will be good with the lancing device.yeah my gut just said to stay on to 1unit even though her PMPS number was a ''teeth grinder'' of a number... but you did say it was better to be sitting on higherBG then lowerBG. (plus i needed more tests done)
she didnt care for a warm washcoth lol ... so ill try the rice sock sock next test. I was just rubbing her ears to get the blood flowing (that helped a little bit) for her AMPS
Im using the ''microlet next'' and the ''click'' has never ever bothered fidget its quite silent (knock on wood)
I've never heard of using the vaseline but i do think i have some plain unscented jelly i can try and see how that fairs for her. the nail idea i might try last if all else fails. But mostly all i would be is poke and kinda manipulate the ear/milk out the drop.
so doing this wont affect the vaule/numbers of the test?
Good blue 112 number today at +3. I am really hoping for a +5 test! Is it time yet? What time zone are you in and what is your shot time?
Good blue 112 number today at +3. I am really hoping for a +5 test! Is it time yet? What time zone are you in and what is your shot time?
Not if the snacks are all low carb. If it’s thatRC aging food then yes, that will spike her up and will also shorten the duration of the insulin.
What did she eat at +2 today? She’s had a bit of an early nadir today. But that’s okay. She is having a blue nadir and that is good. Many cats who are just starting out will have pretty irregular cycles. Their body needs time to adjust to the lower numbers. The pink number at +5 is probably just her reaction to being in a blue number. She’s not used to being in those numbers since she’s been diabetic.
Most importantly, that blue nadir that you caught today means that we will not be increasing her dose at this time. I hate to think what 2 units would have done to her. So we hold this dose and ride out the high numbers for now— and you gather as much data as you can. Okay? We will hold for a full 7 days. If you get a very low preshot number we may want to reduce her dose slightly for that particular cycle- depending on the number.
It looks like she dropped a little more quickly than we would have liked — then she had an early nadir and went back up. I recommend feeding more tha just a freeze dried treat. The snacks at +2 and +4 should be a spoonful or two of low carb wet food (like the Fancy Feast Classics or similar). If she drops too quickly then it cause her to bounce up again too quickly.
Well so far you have shot 1 unit when she was at 160 so we can feel confident in that. If she goes into green numbers I would probably only shoot half a unit (.5) at this point. If it’s closer to 50 though, we would skip the shot. If it’s closer to 100 then shoot .5 units. This is just guidance for now, while we gather data. Shooting a lower number always is predicated upon your ability to monitor the cycle and intervene if necessary. If you were going to be away from home then I am sure I would not advise shooting a green at this point. Hopefully she will not present us with this problem.when you say low preshot to decrease a bit what number/range you mean? like anything 5.0/92 or less kinda thing?
So what time Pacific do you give her shots? I am on Eastern time.
Well so far you have shot 1 unit when she was at 160 so we can feel confident in that. If she goes into green numbers I would probably only shoot half a unit (.5) at this point. If it’s closer to 50 though, we would skip the shot. If it’s closer to 100 then shoot .5 units. This is just guidance for now, while we gather data. Shooting a lower number always is predicated upon your ability to monitor the cycle and intervene if necessary. If you were going to be away from home then I am sure I would not advise shooting a green at this point. Hopefully she will not present us with this problem.
When in doubt, you can stall for 30 minutes (or longer) and do NOT give food. Then retest the BG to see if she’s rising on her own without the influence of food. If she is, then you have more confidence in shooting. Also remember that she then has some more time to rise before the insulin onsets and starts to lower BG — and she also will then have food to help stabilize numbers.
She’s doing well. Get another test by +4. She does seem to have early nadirs right now. But we need to give her more time to adjust. I’m happy with the yellow AMPS and the subsequent blue. I hope she will stay blue for a while longer.
Awesome! I am excited. Get a +6, please. And again- no increase in dose as this is very good.
Many cats feel odd when they are first getting back into normal cat glucose numbers. It takes a while to adjust back to normalcy. Some cats sleep. Some cats hide.
Oh, and I hope she got a snack at +4. LC wet food
Is she having trouble with her back legs?also was able to pick up a bottle of 5000mcg of b-12 methyl. ill give her a caplet with her dinner tonight and should it be okay to give her another for her morning meal? like you said she just pees out what she doesnt need? no chance of some type of b12 overdose?
That was really a nice cycle today! She’s responding much more quickly than a lot of cats I see. She was nice and steady in blue with very little change from +4 to +6. With “meter variance” the +4 and +6 are considered flat. Things are going so well!
Is she having trouble with her back legs?
I used Zobaline for my cat 3 mg. Methylcobalamin plus 200 micrograms Folic Acid. It would be hard to overdose it, but once you have reached a therapeutic dose you don’t need additional b-12.
I used Zobaline for my cat 3 mg. Methylcobalamin plus 200 micrograms Folic Acid. It would be hard to overdose it, but once you have reached a therapeutic dose you don’t need additional b-12.
I used Zobaline for my cat 3 mg. Methylcobalamin plus 200 micrograms Folic Acid. It would be hard to overdose it, but once you have reached a therapeutic dose you don’t need additional b-12.
First things first. I would like to see how low she’s dropping at night. Is there any way you can get a +2 and +4 tonight? The pink AMPS this morning makes me want to find out how low she’s going at night. Many cats do drop lower at night. Right now we are only getting half the picture.
About this, I am not sure. I have cats who act like that, but if it’s a change of her normal pattern, I would suggest taking a urine sample to your vet or taking her in for a sterile urine sample to check for a UTI. but first, how long has this been going on? It would not be the insulin causing a UTI, but high glucose levels can definitely contribute to a urinary tract infection.sorry with so many questions...but something ive noticed for a few days now is my cat is sorta ''standing'' when she pees also completely stopped burying it as well...this would indicate a UTI from the insulin correct? shes not in pain/straining from what i can tell but i didnt see much on how to help correct this..? ive been really on top of her litter box scooping to i can keep tabs her urine intake/outake but i recall seeing something about how to prevent this this but now i cant find it lol
About this, I am not sure. I have cats who act like that, but if it’s a change of her normal pattern, I would suggest taking a urine sample to your vet or taking her in for a sterile urine sample to check for a UTI. but first, how long has this been going on? It would not be the insulin causing a UTI, but high glucose levels can definitely contribute to a urinary tract infection.
Oh, I totally understand about the vets not being helpful. She may not have a UTI. Unless she shows signs like going into the litter box frequently and squatting and then nothing comes out — or going in there and crying, I would probably just watch her.yeahh i dont think vet have been much help at the moment....
they would probably tell me it a uti (also not able to dish out another 100 for a urine test this month...she does have keytones so i mean that isn't working in her favor...figured id ask since this is a very weird to adjust process
What do you mean she has ketones? What kind of ketone readings have you been getting lately? She’s been seeing better numbers so hopefully ketones will go away.yeahh i dont think vet have been much help at the moment....
they would probably tell me it a uti (also not able to dish out another 100 for a urine test this month...she does have keytones so i mean that isn't working in her favor...figured id ask since this is a very weird to adjust process
Oh, I totally understand about the vets not being helpful. She may not have a UTI. Unless she shows signs like going into the litter box frequently and squatting and then nothing comes out — or going in there and crying, I would probably just watch her.
What do you mean she has ketones? What kind of ketone readings have you been getting lately? She’s been seeing better numbers so hopefully ketones will go away.
If you really are concerned about UTI, you can try mixing D-Mannose powder (or from a capsule) into her food. It helps at least with E Coli bacteria, which are fairly common. It prevents the bacteria from adhering to the bladder wall.
Yes, very flat today so far — she could start dropping toward PMPS and into the evening cycle. We need to get a handle on her evening patterns as well. Normally a high AMPS like that makes me suspicious that she dropped too low — now “too low” can mean simply lower than she’s used to or lower than we want her to go. So we really need to make sure.