Ozzy Pawzbourne
Member Since 2016
Not only have we gone crazy....we are going to look crazy, too!! Haha!Ha , I just did...for $9 it can't hurt !!! Thanks , Lizzie. These will be good backup in case ....

Not only have we gone crazy....we are going to look crazy, too!! Haha!Ha , I just did...for $9 it can't hurt !!! Thanks , Lizzie. These will be good backup in case ....

Yeahhhhhh......little turkeyAMPS = 284
+3.5= 118
+4.5 = 72
+5.10 = 58
+5.25 =53
+6 = 71
He's back up. Ozzy's wild ride!![]()
.....seriously my stomach has been in knots watching this but you snd Ozzy did awesome...not sure where Elmo is headed but we've learning a lot from you and Ozzy as u go ahead of us 
Group pic would be fun, dressed up in our FDMB garbNot only have we gone crazy....we are going to look crazy, too!! Haha!![]()
In fact, if you are going to start SLGS, he's waned a reduction for dropping below 90.

I don't think I'd ever get use to them...just watching you go through it had my heart pounding for you/Ozzy...not that anything bad would happen but dealing with it , awwwwwwww......u did great !!!!!Agreed Beth! Do we sometimes overreact to green numbers I wonder?
Saw some thread here awhile ago...not sure where...think in general chit chat and there was a bit of a debate going on about newbies underdosing their kitties for long periods of time because they were afraid of dealing with green numbers which are actually normal and healthy. Someone said kitties on insulin for awhile that are home tested rarely hypo and kitties own defenses kick in if they go too low. Not sure what to make of all that because there were competing opinions on this matter.
hahahah! Hilarious Beth!Group pic would be fun, dressed up in our FDMB garb![]()
Thanks Marje- yes, he's already headed up.I'm losing my cell service out here in the middle of nowhere but he's likely headed up and you've got other eyes. I'll check in later.
Thanks. But I do think I probably overreacted with the HC. Going to take a chill pill next time!I don't think I'd ever get use to them...just watching you go through it had my heart pounding for you/Ozzy...not that anything bad would happen but dealing with it , awwwwwwww......u did great !!!!!
Yep, I have tomorrow off too.Are you home to monitor tomorrow or will you be back at work? If home tomorrow, you'll have another shot at getting some good data!
Don't beat yourself up it takes practice, and we still don't know how it's going to turn out.Thanks. But I do think I probably overreacted with the HC. Going to take a chill pill next time!
Yes, sounds like a plan!Just because this is ozzy's first time, and he was close to being below 50, I think checking again in 30min to make sure he is still staying up would be sensible, don't feed anything at this stage.
Does that sound like a plan
OOOHHH belly rubs are my absolute favorite. I love the tummy tufts the most! Here's a little cyber belly rub and pat to you cutie pie George!! He looks like he is the absolute sweetest thing ever!!!PS
Bfg thanks you for the kisses the cheeky monkey says he'll like a belly rub too.
Oh my gosh



....can u hear me belly laughing from here ?!?!?



But I do think I probably overreacted with the HC
OH NO! Glad she liked it! Ok, so I'm not the only one who tends to overreact!!The first time China dropped below 50, I knew to give her some syrup, but wasn't real clear on the "how much" part (yes, we were really new too at one point!).....so I dumped about a cup full into a bowl and let her lap it up (was kind of surprised that she liked it!!!)
Chris, could you please give a summary of what is considered lo,med and hi carb...keep seeing differing opinions on thatRelax.....we ALL did it!!!
The first time China dropped below 50, I knew to give her some syrup, but wasn't real clear on the "how much" part (yes, we were really new too at one point!).....so I dumped about a cup full into a bowl and let her lap it up (was kind of surprised that she liked it!!!)
Needless to say, she came up fast!!!
Later I learned I was only supposed to give a drop or two
It's all part of the learning curve
ok, sounds like a plan.Staying level, you're 1hr since the HC now, so not out of the woods yet.
I think I would check him again in 45min to an hour just to confirm he's staying up of his own accord.
Chris, could you please give a summary of what is considered lo,med and hi carb...keep seeing differing opinions on that
These are Ozzy's favorites, too.I use FF Chicken Florentine (12%) for China's MC and FF Grilled Chicken Gravy Lovers for HC (18%)
When you are up at 4:30 am to t/f/s after 3 1/2-4 hrs of sleep because of a 3rd or 4th late night doing what just happened (low #'s) you won't care how you look, only that you can see to get the dose accurate. Trust me.Not only have we gone crazy....we are going to look crazy, too!! Haha!![]()
I trust you!!When you are up at 4:30 am to t/f/s after 3 1/2-4 hrs of sleep because of a 3rd or 4th late night doing what just happened (low #'s) you won't care how you look, only that you can see to get the dose accurate. Trust me..
I'm not sure how I feel about SLGS vs TR yet. What are the pros and cons for each protocol??
Some of the very basic differences are:
TR...dose adjustments can be made as often as every 3 days (6 cycles)...this is most effective because if they're staying in numbers we don't like, we can increase more often
SLGS...dose adjustments are made once a week....this can be hard on the caretaker IF the cat is "stuck" in high numbers very long
TR...reductions in dose are given if they drop below 50 on a human meter, 68 on a pet meter
SLGS...reductions are given if they drop below 90 on either meter
TR...You'll want to get the 2 PS tests and at least one other test....preferably at least 2 other tests.....One somewhere between +4 and +7 on the AM cycle and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle...if you can only get 1, the "before bed" test is most important since most cats go lower at night
SLGS...You still must get the 2 PS tests in, and then do a curve once a week (testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours)
Thank u, ChrisLow is under 10%
Medium is 11-16'ish
High is 16+
But as with everything in this dance, ECID....so what works for one cat doesn't always work for another
I use FF Chicken Florentine (12%) for China's MC and FF Grilled Chicken Gravy Lovers for HC (18%)
I am doing a sort of modified TR due to work. You are going to have to figure out what will work for you and, more importantly, what will keep Ozzy safe.I am interested in TR but will this work for me with my schedule?
Here is my daily schedule during the work week:
3:35 wake up/test +11 from PM cycle.
Shower/get ready for work
4:15am downstairs get auto feeder set up for a.m cycle, get shot ready
4:20am-4:25am test, feed
4:30am shoot
Update SS, post daily thread
Finish getting ready for work
Relax and have a quiet cup of coffee
6:00am +1.5 test
Update SS, update thread
6:05am-6:10a say a prayer, give Gizmo a kiss and leave for work
PM
3:50pm leave work
4:15pm get auto feeder set up for p.m. cycle, get shot ready
4:20pm-4:25pm test, feed
4:30pm shoot
Update SS, thread
Get hourly tests unless obvious he is not going low
Nadir is +5-+6 (that is 9:30pm-10:30pm) final test
It is a very tight schedule with absolutely no wiggle room. So far, so good.Lizzie, that is an impressive schedule, especially your ability to wake up at 330am!!! Holy moly! I wish I was an early bird like that. It's nice to see you get some 'me time' in the ams before work, too.
What do you mean by you get hourly tests unless obvious he is not going low? How many tests do you do in the evening cycle? What time do you go to bed if you are waking up at 330a? How many hours of sleep are you getting? Seems like very few if you're up testing at 1130p and up at 330a. You're a machine Lizzy!
Thanks, I did check out Gizmo's SS. I notice you have a ton of data all throughout the am and pm cycles. Do you drop in sometimes during the day to test him or Hubby tests him?? Wow that 25 on 11/20 looked scary!! You did an amazing job steering him up!!!! I think I'd freak over a 25!Look at the 2016 tab on Gizmo's SS
Thanks for posting this. Easy to understand.Here is a good explanation of bounces
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
No, I had a ton of vacation to use up before the end of the year.Do you drop in sometimes during the day to test him or Hubby tests him??
I would need to ck that. That doesn't sound right. Sometimes #'s get messed up, but yes, the first couple of times you feel like throwing up. Lol. Then, after you have been through it and know how they will react to the food, it is still stressful but not nearly what it is like that very first time.Wow that 25 on 11/20 looked scary!! You did an amazing job steering him up!!!! I think I'd freak over a 25!
Not experimenting once I was on track with the protocol.Looks like you have experimented with doses a lot, too. Was Gizmo dx in October this past year?

I might have mis read that number...I think I'm starting to need glasses. Starting to get hard to read all this tiny print.I would need to ck that





Actually it is the waiting the 30 min to test again that is the thing that drives my anxiety.but it's the between when they drop and when they go up that turns ur hair grey

Btw, on the syringe subject, I just received my order from ADW of ulticare vetRx u100 3/10cc with half markings and love them !!!
Thanks for your comment Adrian. Just looked at Chino's SS to see what you guys are going through. I was whining about not being able to get my kitty out of yellow and here you are dealing consistently with red, pinks, and BLACKS! Omgosh! That would stress me beyond belief. I really am praying for you and Chino that he gets into some healthier numbers here soon. Going to be watching your threads and keeping an eye on Chino's journey from now on. Good luck!!!You did well, you kept Ozzy out of the danger zone. I think it will get easier as you learn how much and how fast he responds to LC, MC, and HC food in this situation... though I haven't seen green yet with Chino, so I won't pretend to speak from experience.


Oh amen, Lizzie, amen !! Gut wrencher for sureActually it is the waiting the 30 min to test again that is the thing that drives my anxiety.![]()
Thanks Chris...Got about a little over an hour to go to T/F/S.....it's like waiting for the end of a movie to come so you know what's going to finally happen....Since you're home and able to test, I'd go with the 1.25 again....we never assume that "if we didn't intervene, they would have earned a reduction"....if the dose is too high, they'll earn it