1/7 Ozzy AMPS 284, +3.5 118, +4.5 72, +5.10 58, +5.25 53, +6 71, +6.45 77, +8 100, +10 218, PMPS 312

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning.

Glad to see a PS back into the yellows even if its a high yellow.

Ozzy has been tested, fed, and shot. I am going back to bed. I haven't slept in once since Ozzy was diagnosed. It is cold, gloomy, and raining and by snuggly bed is calling me back.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
AMPS = 284
+3.5= 118

Hello blue...don't give us any trouble today.

This is definitely Ozzy's largest lantus drop so far. He's at +3.5 right now. From the data I do have, his last nadir's were around +4 but I also know some folks said that once he gets used to lantus, it will spread out more and nadir will be closer to +6. Or maybe not...ECID.

Ozzy did not get his 9am snack because I went immediately back to bed to sleep in after his t/f/s at 7am and didn't program his feeder. He is eating now. In a way, I'm kind of glad I am getting to see how he is reacting without the food being out because I can't always know who is eating what when I get home from work and sometimes there are still small meals in the feeder when I get home.

Anyhooo...here's to a hopefully uneventful day. I am really glad to see blue though! :)

Thanks @Chris & China for the suggestion to go up a dose.

When should I test again? +5?
 
Yeah , yippeee, yahooo.... I see the blues from Elmo were delivered !!! Btw, on the syringe subject, I just received my order from ADW of ulticare vetRx u100 3/10cc with half markings and love them !!! But I am use to this brand from my vet so that may have a bit to do with it.Also they seem easier for my eyes to discern small markings. So so glad for Ozzy's blue this morning and hope u r feeling better too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yeah , yippeee, yahooo.... I see the blues from Elmo were delivered !!! Btw, on the syringe subject, I just received my order from ADW of ulticare vetRx u100 3/10cc with half markings and love them !!! But I am use to this brand from my vet so that may have a bit to do with it.Also they seem easier for my eyes to discern small markings. So so glad for Ozzy's blue this morning and hope u r feeling better too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh Thank You Beth...and Mr. Elmo for sending some blues Ozzy's way!!:bighug::bighug:

Interesting about the syringes. Can you send a picture of one when you have a chance?

I really don't like the relion ones we are using. Coming from vestulin, you know the insulin was kind of cloudy looking so you could see it clearly in the syringe. But lantus is completely clear so sometimes it's heard to see it when you are working with small doses and doses in between the lines. Also wish the end of the plunger or the lines on the barrel were a different color from eachother...that way when you're plunging up to a line, you could see where the black strip on the tip of the plunger is lining up better (because it would be different from the lines on the barrel or vice versa). My other issue is pushing the insulin out when trying to get down to your desired dose....the plunger doesn't move that smoothly (even with trying to prelub it before hand)...so sometimes I over expel insulin and miss my desired dose. It's kind of annoying....

Ok, rant over.

Thanks!!!
 
Oh Thank You Beth...and Mr. Elmo for sending some blues Ozzy's way!!:bighug::bighug:

Interesting about the syringes. Can you send a picture of one when you have a chance?

I really don't like the relion ones we are using. Coming from vestulin, you know the insulin was kind of cloudy looking so you could see it clearly in the syringe. But lantus is completely clear so sometimes it's heard to see it when you are working with small doses and doses in between the lines. Also wish the end of the plunger or the lines on the barrel were a different color from eachother...that way when you're plunging up to a line, you could see where the black strip on the tip of the plunger is lining up better (because it would be different from the lines on the barrel or vice versa). My other issue is pushing the insulin out when trying to get down to your desired dose....the plunger doesn't move that smoothly (even with trying to prelub it before hand)...so sometimes I over expel insulin and miss my desired dose. It's kind of annoying....

Ok, rant over.

Thanks!!!
Oh no, not a rant...not sure if techy enuf to send pic but these are very smooth and I can see markings very easily..if you look on the Lantus Sticky they r or look like the syringe example on the left. I'm just excited about how smooth they move. If we do need to take low dose of Lantus these will make it easier...that and the jewelers loupe I got.Someone ought to listen to your idea of plunger or lines being a different color...that would be SO helpful.
 
AMPS = 284
+3.5= 118
+4.5 = 72

Ohhh...Blue AND green in one cycle!

His next timed snack is in 27 minutes.

I don't want to worry too much about him going in to green....should I be?

We have a whole kit ready on demand if he goes too low...

When should I test again? 30 mins?
 
AMPS = 284
+3.5= 118
+4.5 = 72
+5.10 = 58

Uh oh...I really wasn't expecting him to drop into the 50s today. The 58 was before his 12 pm snack. He is eating now. will test again in 15 mins. Geez...
 
Before I tested him at 12 (+5), he was acting fine...laying in the back bedroom in the sunshine sunning his belly... He still seems to be acting fine. He just ate. Will test again in 15 mins.
 
Before I tested him at 12 (+5), he was acting fine...laying in the back bedroom in the sunshine sunning his belly... He still seems to be acting fine. He just ate. Will test again in 15 mins.
Watching over all this....exciting but cautious all at the same time .
 
Hopefully some of the L+L pros will jump in here soon to help steer out of this drop, but in the meantime I've been watching and will jump in with a couple questions: was the snack composed of Ozzy's usual LC, or did you do MC? How much did you feed? +5 is pretty far into the cycle, but on Lantus they can keep dropping for a while so you should be prepared to do a little steering and do the usual (don't feed too much at once, etc.).
 
Jo

On the road and checking in. Please feed him a nice helping if a couple two of LC and retest 30 mins after he eats.​
 
AMPS = 284
+3.5= 118
+4.5 = 72
+5.10 = 58
+5.25 =53

Just gave him some HC Gravy Lovers..He is VERY happy about that. Test again in 15 mins.
 
On the road and checking in. Please feed him a nice helping if a couple two of LC and retest 30 mins after he eats.
Oh no Marje- I gave him LC first and then tested and he still went down. But I don't know if it was enough time for the food to kick in and bring BG up. So I just gave him some gravy lovers. :facepalm:I didn't want to take that out yet, but I was concerned he'd keep going down. I should've given him some MC food. We have some of that too.
 
I'd give him 30 mins. It takes time for the food to affect the numbers and if you don't give him time you can overcarb him. Especially later in the cycle.
 
couple questions: was the snack composed of Ozzy's usual LC, or did you do MC? How much did you feed?
His noon snack was just his regular LC food - about 1oz.
Just gave him some more food 15 mins later- Gravy lovers. about another oz
I'm sure he's going to pop up now. Wish I would've just given him more LC and seen how he handled it. Quick emotional reaction in the heat of the moment.
I have tried not to panic, that happened last time and everything was fine.... should've just stuck to his regular food.
 
His noon snack was just his regular LC food - about 1oz.
Just gave him some more food 15 mins later- Gravy lovers. about another oz
I'm sure he's going to pop up now. Wish I would've just given him more LC and seen how he handled it. Quick emotional reaction in the heat of the moment.
I have tried not to panic, that happened last time and everything was fine.... should've just stuck to his regular food.

But he enjoyed the HC treat so much! How could you say no to that sweet orange face? :rolleyes:

It was a pretty dramatic drop for Lantus and he looked determined to be heading to the dreaded light greens, so I'd have done the same in your place before seeing Marje's recommendation.
 
30 mins to test after he eats.

I can explain more tonight when we aren't traveling and when you would want to test every 15 mins.
 
His noon snack was just his regular LC food - about 1oz.
Just gave him some more food 15 mins later- Gravy lovers. about another oz
I'm sure he's going to pop up now. Wish I would've just given him more LC and seen how he handled it. Quick emotional reaction in the heat of the moment.
I have tried not to panic, that happened last time and everything was fine.... should've just stuck to his regular food.
It's ok: it's his first green and it's a learning experi nice. But you basically got him stopped at 53.
 
Wonder if that's a good or bad thing. I kind of was wondering what he would do if I didn't intervene unless it was an ultimate emergency.

I can't be here during the days to steer....:arghh:
One day at a time. If necessary, you can drop the dose back. In fact, if you are going to start SLGS, he's waned a reduction for dropping below 90.
 
Did I probably blow up a perfectly good cycle by overreacting?? Especially since he was already past the +5 mark. Friggin newbie!!:confused:

@Critter Mom Hey Mogs- look what Ozzy is up to today! lol. Always keeping his mama guessing!!
 
Ha! Holding ur hand in cyber land and trying not to hypo hyperventilate:nailbiting:.....you are doing awesome and have the wonderful Ladies of Lantus showing the way ...we certainly are in excellent hands here :)
 
I had a feeling this was going to be an active cycle after that first drop. But I have to admit, I was super excited to see that firsr blue and green!
 
and the jewelers loupe
I got one of those but it was to difficult to try and hold it, the syringe and the insulin all at the same time so I got this...

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B003UCODIA/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

41clz7xpHNL.jpg
 
Did I probably blow up a perfectly good cycle by overreacting?? Especially since he was already past the +5 mark. Friggin newbie!!:confused:

Seriously, I wouldn't worry about it-- my guess is that he'll probably be heading skywards from this first green whether or not he got his HC yummies, you've just taken out an insurance policy against the sharks is all.
 
Agreed Beth! Do we sometimes overreact to green numbers I wonder?

Saw some thread here awhile ago...not sure where...think in general chit chat and there was a bit of a debate going on about newbies underdosing their kitties for long periods of time because they were afraid of dealing with green numbers which are actually normal and healthy. Someone said kitties on insulin for awhile that are home tested rarely hypo and kitties own defenses kick in if they go too low. Not sure what to make of all that because there were competing opinions on this matter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top