1/19 Ruby AMPS 125/+4 162/+7 156/+10 111/PMPS 136

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-18-ruby-amps-156-3-136-7-137-10-115-pmps-87.258052/

Ruby's been pretty much the same BG wise for quite a while outside of the day she did a dropsy-doodle after the vet. The vocalization from the gabapentin has subsided, so I'm going to try to give it to her tonight again and increase her dose of it to twice a day from once a day. I was working from home today and she ate a lot. It was hard not to get distracted by the kitties. I took lots of pics of them today lying around. :)

Hope everyone had a great day! :bighug:

upload_2022-1-19_19-24-33.jpeg


upload_2022-1-19_19-25-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-1-19_19-24-33.jpeg
    upload_2022-1-19_19-24-33.jpeg
    32 KB · Views: 317
  • upload_2022-1-19_19-25-3.jpeg
    upload_2022-1-19_19-25-3.jpeg
    64.6 KB · Views: 277
I must’ve missed your post about Gabapentin. Is that what the vet prescribed for arthritis? How’s it going. BGs are pretty good too.
Yes, the vet prescribed gaba, and I've ordered a vial of Adequan. She's been acting weird on the gaba, as to be expected. It's a pretty low dose but big pill! I am thinking of having it compounded into smaller ones at Wedgewood if we decide to do this long term. Between the pred and the gaba twice a day, that's a lot of pills she has to swallow.

I know you're not a fan of gaba, but until the Adequan arrives, it's what I think I should do to provide her with *some* relief.
 
Yes, the vet prescribed gaba, and I've ordered a vial of Adequan. She's been acting weird on the gaba, as to be expected. It's a pretty low dose but big pill! I am thinking of having it compounded into smaller ones at Wedgewood if we decide to do this long term. Between the pred and the gaba twice a day, that's a lot of pills she has to swallow.

I know you're not a fan of gaba, but until the Adequan arrives, it's what I think I should do to provide her with *some* relief.
I am not a fan of Gabapentin for people (although some people must take it for seizures.). For cats, I do know people who have success with it. I think it’s a matter of the cat becoming accustomed to it and also of finding the right dose for each individual cat. I know that Ruby is in good hands and that you have the good sense to find the lowest effective dose for Ruby and/or to discontinue any medication that might not be working for her. So I have no worries about Ruby!
 
I am not a fan of Gabapentin for people (although some people must take it for seizures.). For cats, I do know people who have success with it. I think it’s a matter of the cat becoming accustomed to it and also of finding the right dose for each individual cat. I know that Ruby is in good hands and that you have the good sense to find the lowest effective dose for Ruby and/or to discontinue any medication that might not be working for her. So I have no worries about Ruby!
Sorry for the hijack Katherine but wanted to know why Suzanne is anti gabapentin. Been taking 3200 mg total a day for my jaw since 2008. Sorry.

As for Dolly, it was required pre-vet visits. Small dose knocked her out for 2 days and she definitely acted off. Gave it to her 2 times and never gave it to her again. I hope the Adequan works for Ruby. We gave Dolly a course of home injections once a week for 8 weeks. It didn’t help Dolly but her problem went beyond arthritis, she needed a hip replacement. The photos are beautiful as always. Ruby’s numbers look good. Hope everyone is doing okay. Miss you all. ❤️
 
Sorry for the hijack Katherine but wanted to know why Suzanne is anti gabapentin. Been taking 3200 mg total a day for my jaw since 2008. Sorry.

As for Dolly, it was required pre-vet visits. Small dose knocked her out for 2 days and she definitely acted off. Gave it to her 2 times and never gave it to her again. I hope the Adequan works for Ruby. We gave Dolly a course of home injections once a week for 8 weeks. It didn’t help Dolly but her problem went beyond arthritis, she needed a hip replacement. The photos are beautiful as always. Ruby’s numbers look good. Hope everyone is doing okay. Miss you all. ❤️
Hi Adrienne, so nice to hear from you! I gave Ruby gaba once before and it was 50 mgs and waaaay too much. I never tried it again until the vet suggested it for her arthritis, and told her that 50 mgs was too much before, so we settled on 25 mgs for now. She was vocalizing a lot in the first couple of days but she seems to be fine on it today. She's sleeping off her evening dose as we speak. :)

Hope you are doing well and enjoying all of the free time you must have now. Still miss Dolly and you here. :bighug:
 
Sorry for the hijack Katherine but wanted to know why Suzanne is anti gabapentin. Been taking 3200 mg total a day for my jaw since 2008. Sorry.
No! I know it works for some people. I am not really anti-Gabapentin! It is only that my daughter was prescribed Gabapentin and she had really vivid, evil hallucinations on it. When I did a lot of research on it, I found that a lot of people had similar experiences. It’s possible that she was being prescribed way too much. I think it’s definitely possible that… just like cats… it depends a lot on how much is the correct amount for each person. So it’s not like I would be opposed to any person or any cat taking Gabapentin! Not at all. I just would say to be careful. I have actually recommended that a few friends try it for their cats when their cat is just unable to do vet visits- to try a little Gabapentin before the vet visit. I always advise that they see how the dose affects their cat first. There are people on thos Bpard like @Jill & Jade whose cats don’t tolerate it well even in a small dose. Then there are those whose cats take it daily.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-18-ruby-amps-156-3-136-7-137-10-115-pmps-87.258052/

Ruby's been pretty much the same BG wise for quite a while outside of the day she did a dropsy-doodle after the vet. The vocalization from the gabapentin has subsided, so I'm going to try to give it to her tonight again and increase her dose of it to twice a day from once a day. I was working from home today and she ate a lot. It was hard not to get distracted by the kitties. I took lots of pics of them today lying around. :)

Hope everyone had a great day! :bighug:

View attachment 63384

View attachment 63385
Look at those beauties!!!!!
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-18-ruby-amps-156-3-136-7-137-10-115-pmps-87.258052/

Ruby's been pretty much the same BG wise for quite a while outside of the day she did a dropsy-doodle after the vet. The vocalization from the gabapentin has subsided, so I'm going to try to give it to her tonight again and increase her dose of it to twice a day from once a day. I was working from home today and she ate a lot. It was hard not to get distracted by the kitties. I took lots of pics of them today lying around. :)

Hope everyone had a great day! :bighug:

Such BEAUTIES! :joyful::bighug:
 
No! I know it works for some people. I am not really anti-Gabapentin! It is only that my daughter was prescribed Gabapentin and she had really vivid, evil hallucinations on it. When I did a lot of research on it, I found that a lot of people had similar experiences. It’s possible that she was being prescribed way too much. I think it’s definitely possible that… just like cats… it depends a lot on how much is the correct amount for each person. So it’s not like I would be opposed to any person or any cat taking Gabapentin! Not at all. I just would say to be careful. I have actually recommended that a few friends try it for their cats when their cat is just unable to do vet visits- to try a little Gabapentin before the vet visit. I always advise that they see how the dose affects their cat first. There are people on thos Bpard like @Jill & Jade whose cats don’t tolerate it well even in a small dose. Then there are those whose cats take it daily.
Thanks Suzanne, I was just curious. Dolly couldn’t tolerate it. The vet would give me prefilled syringes with possibly 25mg. I would give her at most maybe half or even less and she would sleep for two days. She was just one of those that could not tolerate it. For me it was a life saver when I developed Osteoneucrosis of the jaw, major nerve damage.
 
Back
Top