1/14 Ozzy PMPS 129, +2 155, +4 173- Bounce??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

AMPS =86. Holy crap! What the heck happened after I went to bed???? He was at 77. I was expecting to wake up and see a bounce. I hope he didn't get to an uncomfortable place last night.. He is a alive right now. Kind of sleepy but he was sleeping when I came to test him, so was Figgie.

I overslept...we are a little late.

I am not comfortable shooting an 86 with anything. I really want to stall/skip.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks.

J.
 
Can you stall without feeding for 15 min. and check his BG again to see if it's rising? Are you following TR or SLGS?

ETA: Are you home to monitor today with plenty of strips and HC food?
 
Haha! Those are always a challenge you shoot. It can be done. I have but it is a wild ride.

See my 12/23 condo if you want to see.
 
Hi Karen, thanks for coming to my rescue!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Yes, I can stall and check again. Figgie is not going to like it, he's sharking me now, but he'll have to wait too.

I don't really know what protocol we are following. It's more of a modified approach I guess. Are you asking because of the no shoot number or reduction, right?
 
Haha! Those are always a challenge you shoot. It can be done. I have but it is a wild ride.

See my 12/23 condo if you want to see.
Thanks Lizzie, I'll take a look.

Isn't 86 a normal number? He would only go down from here so I kind of want to see what he will do on his own. Is that a bad idea?

For now stalling... He's already later than he normally gets tested (by about 30 mins).
 
When was the last time he ate? He could continue to drop because of no food. I'd only wait 15 min and retest and also please answer the question about you being home and able to monitor all day if needed.

ETA: 86 is a very shootable number but you have never shot green before so I'll look for your next test and response.
 
When was the last time he ate? He could continue to drop because of no food. I'd only wait 15 min and retest and also please answer the question about you being home and able to monitor all day if needed.
He had several snacks last night, the last one was around 2 am. So it's been around 5 - 5 1/2 hours. He did throw up a little around 3 am. :(

Yes, home to monitor.
 
Sounds like you're not wanting to shoot which is fine....it's always the beans choice. I won't be around ALL day so encouraging you to do so would not be the right thing for me to do.
OK, thanks for your honesty. And yes, I'm not sure how comfortable I am shooting a green pre-shot yet. Last night was its own first (blue PS), so this is just wild.
 
it's been closer to 25 mins. BG=82. He dropped a few more points Figgie is hungry.
Actually that's flat. I don't think stalling anymore is a good idea as he could continue to drop slightly because of no food. You can shoot the full dose and monitor. You'll need to get a +1 & +2 if you do. You can skip, or try a one time reduced dose that would also require you to monitor. What do feel like doing?

I'm here most of the day, think @LizzieInTexas is and maybe some others. But I can't guarantee I'll be here the entire day.
 
Just went into the kitchen....there are still some left overs out from last night. That makes me feel better. My first thought/fear with his 86 test is that he went really low last night after we went to bed and may have been hungry but didn't have any food out. But that's not the case.

My cats are becoming super spoiled. Like come on guys.... there IS food in there right now, but they are begging for a fresh can!
 
Actually that's flat. I don't think stalling anymore is a good idea as he could continue to drop slightly because of no food. You can shoot the full dose and monitor. You'll need to get a +1 & +2 if you do. You can skip, or try a one time reduced dose that would also require you to monitor. What do feel like doing?

I'm here most of the day, think @LizzieInTexas is and maybe some others. But I can't guarantee I'll be here the entire day.
I think I want to skip... Hope that's not bad...:oops:
 
I will be around for another hour or so, was going to try and catch a nap but won't abandon you if you decide to give the shot.
 
Looks like you're now approaching 1 hour off schedule. You can work your way back by 30min a day or 15min twice a day. Is this something you can do?

Eat left overs...are you kidding! My cats would never :rolleyes:
 
If he goes up after eating, could I shoot then? Or if you skip, you skip??? What could happen to his next cycle? Will I screw up all the momentum we've gotten to if I skip? He's been GREAT last few days.
 
If he goes up after eating, could I shoot then?
You'll need to wait 2 hours before shooting after he eats. You don't have enough experience to shoot a food influenced number and then you'd be 3 hours off schedule. He will likely be high at PMPS and could take 6 cycles for the depot to fill back up after a skip.
 
JO....if you are going to be there today....shoooooootttttt! I am here to watch you all day.

There is no reason to skip this shot unless you won't be there.
Oh no....

Hi Marje, thanks for jumping in.

I don't feel comfy shooting green. I pulled my big girlie pants up last night but they are tight and i'm still trying to get the waist to relax! haha.

And to be completely honest, I'm SOOO tired. I really want to go back to bed, at least for a few hours. I could have Hubby watch him, but I would really want to do so in this case. What if he starts coming down on his own? I know you guys say marathon, not sprint....I have seen some cats start to come OTJ just by someone skipping. Now I don't expect that to happen for Ozzy, but shoot, I don't know what is ever going to happen with Ozzy anymore.
 
Oh no....

Hi Marje, thanks for jumping in.

I don't feel comfy shooting green. I pulled my big girlie pants up last night but they are tight and i'm still trying to get the waist to relax! haha.

And to be completely honest, I'm SOOO tired. I really want to go back to bed, at least for a few hours. I could have Hubby watch him, but I would really want to do so in this case. What if he starts coming down on his own? I know you guys say marathon, not sprint....I have seen some cats start to come OTJ just by someone skipping. Now I don't expect that to happen for Ozzy, but shoot, I don't know what is ever going to happen with Ozzy anymore.
If you are too tired, that's ok.
 
He will get back on track if you skip..think of it as an accidentally on purpose Fur shot...that made me feel much better the first time I had to skip!:D

Low numbers are super scary to think about shooting at first, I remember my heart seemed to not be beating at all when I did it the first time with the folks here holding my hand. :nailbiting::nailbiting:

The really funny thing is again, it's one of those counterintuitive things with this insulin..shooting a lower number does not necessarily kick the bottom out and send them down an even deeper numbers bottomless well. Shooting lower tends to create an easier slide into a flatter curve.
Makes zero sense but it's what happens oddly.

I puzzled and puzzled over this trying to wrap my head around it..the nearest I came to maybe getting it was that because you are not starting from a sky high spot, think the highest point the rollercoaster starts from after its climb.., there is not such a drastic drop like when shooting a high number. The Lantus causes a drop but it does not have the momentum it does from higher numbers when you shoot from lower so a flatter more gentle drop..like those easier dips they take the coaster on to slow it down as you approach the boarding station..

That might not be a totally correct technical description but it was what helped me to visualize it as I watched it happening and realized it is true, shoot low to stay low really is how this works best....

(Tho I fully admit I had to put blind and complete faith in the folks here the first time I did, I hovered and watched him take every breath and boy did that meter get a work out!..:rolleyes: he was fine!:cat: Me? Quite a few new gray hairs but a whole lot farther in this learning process afterwards!:bighug:)

If you decide to skip, Enjoy your accidental fur shot day, catch up on some much needed Jammie's time! If you shoot ypubare in the best hands with Marje watching over you!
:bighug::bighug:
 
(Tho I fully admit I had to put blind and complete faith in the folks here the first time I did, I hovered and watched him take every breath and boy did that meter get a work out!..:rolleyes: he was fine!:cat: Me? Quite a few new gray hairs but a whole lot farther in this learning process afterwards!:bighug:)
TRUTH. Lol:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top