1/14 Ozzy PMPS 129, +2 155, +4 173- Bounce??

Status
Not open for further replies.

It's not a method I ever used or would use and it is not commonly used here (although I've seen it a few times). But I felt it was important to provide further info and not just my "nope" reply which was meant for this specific situation.

I don't think I would want to use that method, especially if the dose involved quarter units. As you said, too hard to get it right. Although, no doubt there are situations where it might be a good idea, I can't think of one right now. I think it would just make things more complicated.
 
Awesome +4! Surf it, Ozzy!!!

IMG_1384.JPG


How about a pokey break? Want to go 1.5 to 2 hours? Would you be ok with a +6?
 
We are starting to think the FF may be the cause of Ozzy's upset tummy. Anyone had kitty get upset tummy from FF? What alternative foods do you feed your kitty with upset tummy? We are starting the probiotics today. How long do you think it could take to see improvement?
 
Do you suspect all FF or just one flavor? Could be a sensitivity to a specific protein
OMG...I seriously have no idea. He gets the chicken, beef, and turkey ones. I'm so tired of seeing the brown vomits and all over my white carpets. I also don't want him to be throwing up. Poor kitty. He seems fine otherwise. He is sunning himself in the back bedroom now. The sun finally came out here in CA after days and days of gloomy skies and rain.
 
We still have a whole bottle of the antinausea meds the vet gave us when he came home from the hospital. Think we should try to give him some?
 
Anyone had kitty get upset tummy from FF?
Yes! I was using it as a mix-in at first after Dx (with his RadCat) but discontinued about a month ago. I still use some RadCat in a pinch, but I am making my own foods, no bone, with a completer vitamin mix. Planning to try some other raws soon, too. (Taffy mostly ate RadCat for the last 3+ years)
 
Is he sniffing the food and turning away, licking his lips? Has he kept any food down since his last vomit?

What meds are you referring to? Ondansetron (Zofran)? Cerenia?
 
Well he is not happy with all raw yet. Any other ideas for some canned food? We could give him some tuna and boiled chicken for next meals to see if he settles.
Could some of the raw maybe not been good? Figgie is fine and ate way more of it.
 
I didnt see him eat this am. Hubby fed him. But he has been esting for me last few days. Med starts with an M. going to look for bottle. brb.
 
Here's a great page full of info on nausea in cats. It's from Tanya's CRF site, which is geared toward cats with kidney issues, but this info can apply to all cats. This med is also called Reglan, and she mentions it on her page about nausea meds.
 
Ok, I'm back from my post office errand. Just did +6 test= 92. Ozzy is cruising today. Glad I gave him his shot. Wonder what tonight's PS will be. I can't imagine he will bounce, he's been cruising for over 24 hours straight (YAY!) but never say never.
 
I still think a lot of his problem was he was getting a bunch of different, new foods. Cats are notoriously susceptible to tummy upset due to switching foods.
This is what we think is going on, too. But we really don't know.
What would you suggest? Stay on the FF and see if he adjusts?
Try some boiled chicken and tuna only for the next few meals and see if things settle down.
He actually has not thrown up today (yet)...but did last night. He did a doozy in my bedroom on my white burbur carpets...and got inside BOTH of my shoes. Thanks Ozzy!:banghead::banghead::facepalm::facepalm:
 
You can do It! You were wanting an award-right?
Haha! No, not wanting an award!
I was just curious last night what the trophy points are all about .If you click on a members name, it shows how many messages and trophy points you have. I have never seen anyone with any trophy points, including very senior members. My only award will be to keep Ozzy regulated!
 
Haha! No, not wanting an award!
I was just curious last night what the trophy points are all about .If you click on a members name, it shows how many messages and trophy points you have. I have never seen anyone with any trophy points, including very senior members. My only award will be to keep Ozzy regulated!
Hey...you got the BOS award today...it is very coveted!!!;)

I wouldn't give tuna....especially not human tuna. While many brands state "tuna in spring water" on the can, if you look at the ingredients, it usually includes vegetable broth which has onions, soy, and similar ingredients that cats should not have.

You could try an elimination diet where you just pick one protein and stick with it u less he barfs. If he does, try another or better yet, try something like the Natures Variety Instincts novel proteins....they have several. I believe they are generally LC but not positive.

Gorgeous surf today!!! You might grab a +9 so we can see where he's headed. Sound good?
 
Our first three years here, Lantus Land (as it was known then) was party central. Everyone across the FDMB knew our kitties had tons of parties. The posts were hilarious.....it got us through the early days. Even my DH, Mike, was posting and we all had a great time with the kitties always going somewhere in the LL bus. Chefs Stu, Mannie, and Rusty were always cooking up great food. Tess was the amazing pastry chef and my sweet Gracie was the mixologist. The KTSS (Kittens of the Travelling Soup and Spa) always visited anyone who was sick or had to go to the vet, bringing soup and giving spa treatments. We had TA...testaholic anonymous. There was Gracie's Lil Stinka Club and her Friday condo was always infamous for Lupita Fridays. The niptinis flowed at every party.
ok, maybe I'm a dork here...but you are talking about virtual parties, right? Or people were actually going to each other's houses physically to drop off soup? hahah
 
Yes! I was using it as a mix-in at first after Dx (with his RadCat) but discontinued about a month ago. I still use some RadCat in a pinch, but I am making my own foods, no bone, with a completer vitamin mix. Planning to try some other raws soon, too. (Taffy mostly ate RadCat for the last 3+ years)
When you have time, can you please send me your info on how you make your own food?
Marje, I think you posted a link somewhere too but don't remember where. Please send if you can. Thanks.
 
ok, maybe I'm a dork here...but you are talking about virtual parties, right? Or people were actually going to each other's houses physically to drop off soup? hahah
All virtual but tons of fun, lots of laughs, and a big stress reliever. Maybe if I have time, I can go back through and find a really funny day but...thet depends on whether I can access the old board, I think.

I buy the EZ Complete powder from Food Fur Life and add it with water to ground meat. You can also add it to meat chunks but the EZC already has bone in it so you don't want meat with bone although you can buy meat with bone and cut the meat off of it. You can also cook the meat and then add the supplement.
 
not going to make it to Walmart today- we have in-laws coming for dinner and I was tagged to make hand made pasta. Headed to store now. Going to drop by the rite aid next door to see if I can get the probiotic. Florastor,right? I see they might carry it there. If not, what other ones might I be able to buy that would be ok to give to kitty? Also, what do I do, just open capsule and put in food???? Headed out now, so if you have a chance to respond, thanks in advance!!
 
When you have time, can you please send me your info on how you make your own food?
Marje, I think you posted a link somewhere too but don't remember where. Please send if you can. Thanks.
I am not sophisticated enough (yet) to do the whole thing from scratch, ala Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe, so I use vitamin completers. There are several good ones, you have to find which your guys like best. I started with Alnutrin (w/eggshell) for boneless meats. You can request a free sample and just send them a prePaid envelope. The sample is small, but mixes with 1lb boneless meat and some fresh liver (amounts in directions come with). www.knowwhatyoufeed.com

They like that one pretty well, but we tried the mix by the Young Again pet food company (Carnivore Raw w/ calcium) and Taffy seems to like it even better. No need to buy and add liver to this one, as it has liver powder and I think that is the flavor Taffy likes. Also, this one comes in small packets to mix with 2 lbs meat and therefore makes more servings. I purchased just 3 packets at first to try ($3 each) and have reordered now. www.youngagainpetfood.com

There is another called EZ Complete by Food Fur Life (the one Marje mentioned) created by some Facebook Raw Feeding members whom I am very familiar with, and I guess a lot of cats like it, but my two won't touch it and I have tried several times. I really wanted them to, but they just don't. It has Green Lipped Mussel and liver is included, too. (You may have my bag to try if you like, as I don't think they send samples.)

I generally purchase organic grass fed chicken thighs at Sprouts or Whole Foods (organic bcuz they have less chance of intolerance issues bcuz grass fed instead of corn, and bcuz Taffy is royalty)(the one time I got the regular chicken thighs I had major guilt!). Plus, I find the better quality meats to be healthier looking and they don't gross me out at all to handle. You get what you pay for, and nothing but the best for my boys! I'll eat Ramen. At Whole Foods, look for the multipaks for a better price. I cut the meats into large chunks and put in the freezer for a while, not until solid. They just go thru the grinder better when partially frozen and make a nicer-looking grind instead of a mushy one. You can also clean off some fat if you feel necessary, but the cuts are generally pretty cleaned up. You can also just cut into smaller bite sized pieces and mix in the vitamin powders if your guys like to chew, but most cats new to raw don't know what to do with chunks, and Taffy is one of those, so I use a hand grinder. It works great, it's super cute, made in Italy, and it suctions hard onto the counter. And, it's called a "Mincy". I love my Mincy. She was $14 bucks at a Marshall's!! But I have seen them online. Of course, there are other types of (metal, clamp-on) hand grinders, but not as cute as Mincy. I had an electric grinder, but it was a pain, I decided not to do bone anyhow, and it was messy to clean. No need for electric if you are not grinding bone. So, grind your par frozen meat, follow the directions on the packets and mix everything up and portion (I use glass jars, 6 oz each). Easy peasy. Cheaper than RadCat and premium canned.

Oh, yea, you can use with cooked meat, too. I do this sometimes when cats are ill. I very very gently poach the thighs and then finish the same way.
 
Last edited:
Here's my Mincy + box. She was $16.99 apparently. I have pics of me making/grinding, but don't know how to upload already taken pics.1484440756468-1171527277.jpg 148444080324243772402.jpg
 
When do we shoot again tonight? Gotta get back to 7-730ish by Monday am uf possible.
It depends. I would test at +9 and see where he is. If he is yellow or more, you can shoot at +11 which would be 7:30. Then tomorrow morning you could shoot at 7:30 and tomorrow night at 7.

If he's still hanging out in fairly good numbers, the earliest you should shoot tonight is 8. And then we'd need to see where he is tomorrow but if you shot st 8 tonight, you could shoot at 8 tomorrow morning, 7:30 tomorrow night.

The Renew Life Ultimate Flora is fine but if it doesn't have Saccharomyces boulardii in it, it will not likely help with getting the soft poo under control quickly. The Florastor has the same strains as the regular Renew Life Ultimate Flora and it also has the S. boulardii for the soft poo. What is the cfu of the Renew Life you bought?
 
I got this one...just didn't have time to type that out at the store! Lol.

How do I give it? Put it in food? How much? Whole capsule?
If you got the S. boulardii, start slow.....1/2 cap twice a day until his poos improve and then 1/4 cap twice a day.

I don't know how he will react to it in his food. It might not be an issue but I don't like to take chances so I mix it with a little food and water and syringe it but my cats are super easy to syringe.

So you might want to test him at about +10.45 because he might start heading up fast...or not. That would give you 15 mins to get his shot ready if he has boomed up into yellow. Still shooting 1.25u as he has not earned a reduction.

Sound good?
 
yes, thats in 10 mins. He hasnt come for food since I gave him a snack around 2-3ish. But we have company over so he usually likes to hide out. He should be hungry when its time to eat. Boiled chicken or FF? Will get him probiotocs some how.
 
I am not sure what to tell you about the food. It depends on where his numbers are. If he's still cruising in blues and greens, I'm thinking you want some carbs in him and boiled chicken is virtually zero.
 
@Marje and Gracie +10.45=135.

His numbers are still good but he doesn't seem to be feeling well today. :( He has just been hanging out in the back room. But that could be normal and I could be over reacting.

When should we feed him again? I am hoping he will eat. Since he hasn't had food for several hours, he should be hungry when it's time to eat. If he is hesitant, I am definitely going to know something is up.

Should we take it easy on his tummy tonight and just give him the boiled chicken Hubby made for him this afternoon? Or give him the FF? We will try to mix the probiotic into his food and see what happens. If he's picky, we will syringe it to him. How much food to you usually mix it with? I am hoping we don't have to give him a full syringe worth..
 
I wouldn't shoot before 8 if he were mine. He could just be done with this shot and when the next onsets, he could come right back down.

Although, if I really was a betting girl, I'd think he would start up for the night because the reduced dose ought to start kicking in. However, I have seen some cats who scoff that reduced dose and keep on chugging when they onset.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top