09/18 Regs AMPS 205

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Last post

Regs bounce is over, I hope he is staying nice smooth and low today and does not bounce right back up

Today he is mad with me for no reason and just shows me his back side 😂

IMG_7011.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Handsome boy! Maybe he’s just asking you to admire his fluffy magnificent tail 😻

I hope Regs comes down for you very gently today!
Thank you so much. I can see a fur clump on his back maybe he wanted to point out that he wants to be brushed 😂

He came down and went straight back up 🤦‍♀️ even in his ear it was ‘only’ 297

IMG_8388.png
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much. I can see a fur clump on his back maybe he wanted to point out that he wants to be brushed 😂

He came down and went straight back up 🤦‍♀️ even in his ear it was ‘only’ 297

View attachment 80344
I think for us in the beginning even the yellows were enough to get Moonie to bounce. It’ll get better once his body learns that it’s safe :)

Does Regs allow you to brush him? My ragdolls always run away from me after a few brushes 😭
 
Since you are testing for ketones regularly (good for you), please note that and the results in the spreadsheet. With a history of ketones, we might keep asking. And also worry if you lower the dose too much. That was why I was asking yesterday when I mentioned lowering the dose more for your time away. Probably not a big deal for 5 days if ketones have been negative and he has a good appetite. The last week the lowest he's gotten is 177, plenty safe for a petsitter dose.
 
I think for us in the beginning even the yellows were enough to get Moonie to bounce. It’ll get better once his body learns that it’s safe :)

Does Regs allow you to brush him? My ragdolls always run away from me after a few brushes 😭
I know we still have bounces for a while but I'm glad that they are mostly in the 300 and less often in the 400. But especially in the time we are not home I'm more worried of him getting out of the bounce with the low numbers. And it is insane, that he is going from one bounce right into the next one- poor baby.

I think he would be okay for a bit but very fast getting annoyed when I pull too much on his fur with the brush.
 
I know we still have bounces for a while but I'm glad that they are mostly in the 300 and less often in the 400. But especially in the time we are not home I'm more worried of him getting out of the bounce with the low numbers. And it is insane, that he is going from one bounce right into the next one- poor baby.

I think he would be okay for a bit but very fast getting annoyed when I pull too much on his fur with the brush.
Ugh story of my life.. when Moonie starts bouncing it’s really hard to get her to stop and we go from bounce to bounce.

I think all you can do is be patient and try to feed strategically to flatten out your cat’s curve so that they never drop too much too fast. That’s why I front load Moonie’s carbs before +2 and also offer small snacks at +4, +6, +8. But as you can see from our SS it’s with mixed success 😭
 
Since you are testing for ketones regularly (good for you), please note that and the results in the spreadsheet. With a history of ketones, we might keep asking. And also worry if you lower the dose too much. That was why I was asking yesterday when I mentioned lowering the dose more for your time away. Probably not a big deal for 5 days if ketones have been negative and he has a good appetite. The last week the lowest he's gotten is 177, plenty safe for a petsitter dose.
Oh I will write the ketone tests in the notes in my SS for now on. Didn’t know it would get anyone experienced valuable information.

I’m very splittet with lowering the dose or if I should leave it. the 2 units would be definitely easier for the sitter but I don’t want to have more risk for Regs than the trip is already. I also don’t want him to be miserable in the 300 and 400 the whole time.

First I need to see that I can break the continuous bounce cycles
 
Ugh story of my life.. when Moonie starts bouncing it’s really hard to get her to stop and we go from bounce to bounce.

I think all you can do is be patient and try to feed strategically to flatten out your cat’s curve so that they never drop too much too fast. That’s why I front load Moonie’s carbs before +2 and also offer small snacks at +4, +6, +8. But as you can see from our SS it’s with mixed success 😭
Sorry you have to deal with the ups and downs too when Moonie bounces. It’s just so annoying because you are happy the bounce is over and he starts again right away.

Maybe I should give him a small midnight snack that the he won’t drop to fast tonight, nothing big maybe 1-2 tbsp pate, just to get a little food.

I also have one open slot in the feeder where I can have a midnight snack for Regs when we are gone.

With all the food he is getting j should not be surprised that he is gaining weight 😂
 
Sorry you have to deal with the ups and downs too when Moonie bounces. It’s just so annoying because you are happy the bounce is over and he starts again right away.

Maybe I should give him a small midnight snack that the he won’t drop to fast tonight, nothing big maybe 1-2 tbsp pate, just to get a little food.

I also have one open slot in the feeder where I can have a midnight snack for Regs when we are gone.

With all the food he is getting j should not be surprised that he is gaining weight 😂
I think the bouncing is unfortunately very common. At this point I try to accept the ups and downs as just part of Moonie’s quirks 🤣
 
Maybe I just need to try being less controlling with his sugars and just accept whatever number the meter shows me 🤣
I’ve repeated the Serenity Prayer more times than I can count since adopting Moonie and learning about feline diabetes 🤣

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

Can’t say I’ve come anywhere close to mastering this but hopefully I’ll get there with repetition 🤣
 
First I need to see that I can break the continuous bounce cycles
Easier to do when you get closer to a good dose. It took Neko a year to stop bouncing to reds. :banghead:

And even then, some cats just bounce. Accept it as the insulin doing it's job and getting him into numbers he's not used to (yet). If you want an example of cats that just like to bounce, look at Dyana's first cat JD's spreadsheet J.D.'s Numbers. 9 years a diabetic, passed of something else at age 20. A bit on the extreme side of bouncer! Most aren't like that once they get to a better dose.
 
What a handsome orange sweetie pie, Britta! Big boy 🧡

Bounces are part of the game... It’s the Lantus working and the body (liver) reacting to it all, I guess. At least here, that’s how it was for quite a while.

It tends to get better after some time. I had to calm myself down and be patient. Mami used to pee a lot and drink so much water when her numbers were higher... it broke my heart.

But then, the body starts to adjust and the pattern changes 🙏🏼🤍
 
Back
Top