09/18 Regs AMPS 205

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Last post

Regs bounce is over, I hope he is staying nice smooth and low today and does not bounce right back up

Today he is mad with me for no reason and just shows me his back side 😂

IMG_7011.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Handsome boy! Maybe he’s just asking you to admire his fluffy magnificent tail 😻

I hope Regs comes down for you very gently today!
Thank you so much. I can see a fur clump on his back maybe he wanted to point out that he wants to be brushed 😂

He came down and went straight back up 🤦‍♀️ even in his ear it was ‘only’ 297

IMG_8388.png
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much. I can see a fur clump on his back maybe he wanted to point out that he wants to be brushed 😂

He came down and went straight back up 🤦‍♀️ even in his ear it was ‘only’ 297

View attachment 80344
I think for us in the beginning even the yellows were enough to get Moonie to bounce. It’ll get better once his body learns that it’s safe :)

Does Regs allow you to brush him? My ragdolls always run away from me after a few brushes 😭
 
Since you are testing for ketones regularly (good for you), please note that and the results in the spreadsheet. With a history of ketones, we might keep asking. And also worry if you lower the dose too much. That was why I was asking yesterday when I mentioned lowering the dose more for your time away. Probably not a big deal for 5 days if ketones have been negative and he has a good appetite. The last week the lowest he's gotten is 177, plenty safe for a petsitter dose.
 
I think for us in the beginning even the yellows were enough to get Moonie to bounce. It’ll get better once his body learns that it’s safe :)

Does Regs allow you to brush him? My ragdolls always run away from me after a few brushes 😭
I know we still have bounces for a while but I'm glad that they are mostly in the 300 and less often in the 400. But especially in the time we are not home I'm more worried of him getting out of the bounce with the low numbers. And it is insane, that he is going from one bounce right into the next one- poor baby.

I think he would be okay for a bit but very fast getting annoyed when I pull too much on his fur with the brush.
 
I know we still have bounces for a while but I'm glad that they are mostly in the 300 and less often in the 400. But especially in the time we are not home I'm more worried of him getting out of the bounce with the low numbers. And it is insane, that he is going from one bounce right into the next one- poor baby.

I think he would be okay for a bit but very fast getting annoyed when I pull too much on his fur with the brush.
Ugh story of my life.. when Moonie starts bouncing it’s really hard to get her to stop and we go from bounce to bounce.

I think all you can do is be patient and try to feed strategically to flatten out your cat’s curve so that they never drop too much too fast. That’s why I front load Moonie’s carbs before +2 and also offer small snacks at +4, +6, +8. But as you can see from our SS it’s with mixed success 😭
 
Since you are testing for ketones regularly (good for you), please note that and the results in the spreadsheet. With a history of ketones, we might keep asking. And also worry if you lower the dose too much. That was why I was asking yesterday when I mentioned lowering the dose more for your time away. Probably not a big deal for 5 days if ketones have been negative and he has a good appetite. The last week the lowest he's gotten is 177, plenty safe for a petsitter dose.
Oh I will write the ketone tests in the notes in my SS for now on. Didn’t know it would get anyone experienced valuable information.

I’m very splittet with lowering the dose or if I should leave it. the 2 units would be definitely easier for the sitter but I don’t want to have more risk for Regs than the trip is already. I also don’t want him to be miserable in the 300 and 400 the whole time.

First I need to see that I can break the continuous bounce cycles
 
Ugh story of my life.. when Moonie starts bouncing it’s really hard to get her to stop and we go from bounce to bounce.

I think all you can do is be patient and try to feed strategically to flatten out your cat’s curve so that they never drop too much too fast. That’s why I front load Moonie’s carbs before +2 and also offer small snacks at +4, +6, +8. But as you can see from our SS it’s with mixed success 😭
Sorry you have to deal with the ups and downs too when Moonie bounces. It’s just so annoying because you are happy the bounce is over and he starts again right away.

Maybe I should give him a small midnight snack that the he won’t drop to fast tonight, nothing big maybe 1-2 tbsp pate, just to get a little food.

I also have one open slot in the feeder where I can have a midnight snack for Regs when we are gone.

With all the food he is getting j should not be surprised that he is gaining weight 😂
 
Sorry you have to deal with the ups and downs too when Moonie bounces. It’s just so annoying because you are happy the bounce is over and he starts again right away.

Maybe I should give him a small midnight snack that the he won’t drop to fast tonight, nothing big maybe 1-2 tbsp pate, just to get a little food.

I also have one open slot in the feeder where I can have a midnight snack for Regs when we are gone.

With all the food he is getting j should not be surprised that he is gaining weight 😂
I think the bouncing is unfortunately very common. At this point I try to accept the ups and downs as just part of Moonie’s quirks 🤣
 
Maybe I just need to try being less controlling with his sugars and just accept whatever number the meter shows me 🤣
I’ve repeated the Serenity Prayer more times than I can count since adopting Moonie and learning about feline diabetes 🤣

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

Can’t say I’ve come anywhere close to mastering this but hopefully I’ll get there with repetition 🤣
 
First I need to see that I can break the continuous bounce cycles
Easier to do when you get closer to a good dose. It took Neko a year to stop bouncing to reds. :banghead:

And even then, some cats just bounce. Accept it as the insulin doing it's job and getting him into numbers he's not used to (yet). If you want an example of cats that just like to bounce, look at Dyana's first cat JD's spreadsheet J.D.'s Numbers. 9 years a diabetic, passed of something else at age 20. A bit on the extreme side of bouncer! Most aren't like that once they get to a better dose.
 
What a handsome orange sweetie pie, Britta! Big boy 🧡

Bounces are part of the game... It’s the Lantus working and the body (liver) reacting to it all, I guess. At least here, that’s how it was for quite a while.

It tends to get better after some time. I had to calm myself down and be patient. Mami used to pee a lot and drink so much water when her numbers were higher... it broke my heart.

But then, the body starts to adjust and the pattern changes 🙏🏼🤍
 
Easier to do when you get closer to a good dose. It took Neko a year to stop bouncing to reds. :banghead:

And even then, some cats just bounce. Accept it as the insulin doing it's job and getting him into numbers he's not used to (yet). If you want an example of cats that just like to bounce, look at Dyana's first cat JD's spreadsheet J.D.'s Numbers. 9 years a diabetic, passed of something else at age 20. A bit on the extreme side of bouncer! Most aren't like that once they get to a better dose.
Oh wow JD seemed to bounce a lot. When we are back from vacation I really need to get a bit more aggressive with Regs numbers.

Today (at least so far) he did not bounce right back up, we are close to the blues but not quite there yet. Let's keep the fingers crossed we see some blues that are not followed by red or pink. But even when he bounces he is still happy and playful, maybe a bit more thirsty and tired but thankfully not completely miserable
 
I’ve repeated the Serenity Prayer more times than I can count since adopting Moonie and learning about feline diabetes 🤣

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

Can’t say I’ve come anywhere close to mastering this but hopefully I’ll get there with repetition 🤣
I really wish I could be having such a great mindset as you do :) I'm more the one panicking, why are the numbers so high low etc.

Guess I still have to learn that
 
What a handsome orange sweetie pie, Britta! Big boy 🧡

Bounces are part of the game... It’s the Lantus working and the body (liver) reacting to it all, I guess. At least here, that’s how it was for quite a while.

It tends to get better after some time. I had to calm myself down and be patient. Mami used to pee a lot and drink so much water when her numbers were higher... it broke my heart.

But then, the body starts to adjust and the pattern changes 🙏🏼🤍
Thank you so much! I’ll let him know he’s handsome 😊

Before he got diabetes, he was around 16/17 lbs, but with diabetes and CHF he went all the way down to about 10.5 lbs. He was initially on Vetsulin/Caninsulin and just couldn’t gain any weight. It wasn’t until we switched him to Lantus that he finally started putting some back on. Now Regs is enjoying lots of food and love and is back to around 13 lbs. You should see his brother, he’s a monster Maine Coon at almost 21 lbs, and he’s not even fat 😂

I know bounces are super common, especially while adjusting to Lantus. I would just feel so much better going on our trip if I could see him stay somewhat stable for five days beforehand. For the trip, I’d definitely rather have him a little too high than too low. But I have to admit, seeing his liver kick in and release glucose when his body thinks something is wrong is also somewhat reassuring, like an additional little safety net while we’re away. And I completely understand what you mean about it breaking your heart to see Mami drinking and peeing so much when her numbers were high. It’s so hard watching them go through these things and knowing they don’t understand why they’re feeling different. In the beginning, I couldn’t understand why his numbers would look great around lunchtime and then be super high by the evening, and I would panic. Now at least I understand what’s happening. It’s still annoying, and I always feel a little sorry for Regs when his body goes through it.

But like you said, it really does seem to be getting better with time. He used to have bounces over 600 that lasted much longer. Now he mostly bounces into the pinks and only occasionally into the reds, so I’m hoping his body is slowly getting more used to those lower numbers.
 
Back
Top