04/05 Jackson - AMPS 370

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
Happy Easter!

Yesterday, I went to WalMart to pick up fresh Lantus and syringes and I showed them a picture of my Lantus Savings Card and they said the card needs to be in Jackson's name and not mine. I don't see a name on the card. Anyway, I'll go back tomorrow and try again. I'm running out of syringes fast. I found a few old ReLion syringes from 2014 and thought the needles looked like harpoons compared to the short little hair thin needles they have today. Jackson doesn't seem to notice a difference. He just wants the food that comes after his injection.
 
You don’t even need that card anymore.
You can go online to Good Rx (or use the app) and get a coupon for $35 for either a vial or a box of 5 pens.
See below for details.
IMG_3457.jpeg
 
Oh, that's good to know. They told me it was $90.00 using GoodRx.
Maybe, I need to search for and get the coupon.
 
Happy Easter. Just a note that when you increase his dose, at where he is, you should be increasing by 1u bid now. At 10u bid, we suggest you start increasing by 10%. You can see Darcy’s SS here as an example of what @Suzanne & Darcy did.

Tonight is six cycles at this dose so I’d increase by 1u tomorrow morning.

I’m sorry I haven’t stopped by lately but did you have him tested for acro/IAA yet?
 
Last edited:
Happy Easter. Just a note that when you increase his dose, at where he is, you should be increasing by 1u bid now. At 10u bid, we suggest you start increasing by 10%. You can see Darcy’s SS here as an example of what @Suzanne & Darcy did.

Tonight is six cycles at this dose so I’d increase by 1u tomorrow morning.

I’m sorry I haven’t stopped by lately but did you have him tested for acro/IAA yet?
Thanks for stopping by.
He is possitive for Acro and negative for IAA.
I am still waiting for my vet to receive the "interpretation" from MSU which we had to pay separately for, and they said it could take 10 days.

I think I am going to wait another day to do the next increase as I think he probably had a blue nadir on 04/03.
When do you stop increasing the dose every 3 days? When they have nadirs under 200, right? If the nadir is under 200, then how long do you go before the next increase?
This is all so scary, he will be at 40 units BID by June the way we are going.

My vet has no experience with acro. When I have to get the Cab compounded, I will want to know what dose she is supposed to prescribe.
And,,, I heard the paws up flavor for the liquid is Marshmellow Bacon flavored and I want to be sure it doesn't have sugar or any artifisual sugar.
 
Happy Easter Dyana.

Results of IAA/acro testing in this post. Dyana, you should update your signature to say he's positive for acro and negative for IAA and the date of diagnosis, as people will want to know. @Marje and Gracie There is no interpretation needed. He's above the acro line and below the positive for IAA line.

Marje is right about the size of the dose increase at this point. Think of the increase as being 10-15% of the size of the overall dose. 40 units dose cats are less common, though can happen. I see a "maybe blue" not a real blue on 4/3. We go by what we see, not what night have been. Under 200 unit nadirs, you increase every 3-5 days. I held longer for lower blues, high blues shorter. This is also where you have to learn your cat and how long you need to hold the dose.

Let me know if you want to try an experiment with R and if so, when you have it (and more syringes) in hand. I'm back home now, though still jet lagged. Typically with an acro we'll start with a slightly higher dose of R than with a lower dose cat. More like 0.1 units. Acros really vary in how much R they need. I've seen a 30 unit cat max out at 0.5 units and way smaller dose cats need more. ECID, even more so.
 
Happy Easter Dyana.

Results of IAA/acro testing in this post. Dyana, you should update your signature to say he's positive for acro and negative for IAA and the date of diagnosis, as people will want to know. @Marje and Gracie There is no interpretation needed. He's above the acro line and below the positive for IAA line.

Marje is right about the size of the dose increase at this point. Think of the increase as being 10-15% of the size of the overall dose. 40 units dose cats are less common, though can happen. I see a "maybe blue" not a real blue on 4/3. We go by what we see, not what night have been. Under 200 unit nadirs, you increase every 3-5 days. I held longer for lower blues, high blues shorter. This is also where you have to learn your cat and how long you need to hold the dose.

Let me know if you want to try an experiment with R and if so, when you have it (and more syringes) in hand. I'm back home now, though still jet lagged. Typically with an acro we'll start with a slightly higher dose of R than with a lower dose cat. More like 0.1 units. Acros really vary in how much R they need. I've seen a 30 unit cat max out at 0.5 units and way smaller dose cats need more. ECID, even more so.
Happy Easter!

I will update my signature.

It was all my fault when I slept instead of testing the night of 04/03, so I will hold this dose another day. It's hard getting older. I don't know if I can stay up all night long and sleep in 45 minute incredments like I used to 15 years ago.

I will let you know when I get the R, probably tomorrow.
Maybe I should move his shot time to earlier, 5 and 5, so I can stay up until 9:00pm testing him for 4 hours.
 
Maybe I should move his shot time to earlier, 5 and 5, so I can stay up until 9:00pm testing him for 4 hours.
I work from 8am to 4pm, so I could give him his insulin(s) at 5am and test until close to 8am, and then take a quick break at 9am. It's the evenings that I have problems with. I tend to go to sleep soon after I eat dinner, and tend to not wake up to alarms.
 
I'm taking a cat into the vet tomorrow at 5PM your time, so can't help tomorrow with R. The time change makes sense. I used to have a good idea by +4 at night whether I needed more testing that night.
 
Dyana

I’d also include it in the lab tab and somewhere on the SS….at the top is fine by the date he was dx. You could just put “Acro” & the date of the test. Thank you.
 
I'm taking a cat into the vet tomorrow at 5PM your time, so can't help tomorrow with R. The time change makes sense. I used to have a good idea by +4 at night whether I needed more testing that night.
I will give his shot at 5:30pm tonight, and at 5:00pm on 04/06. I will raise his dose to 11 units on 04/07 AMPS. So, maybe try the R on Wednesday 04/08? Sound like a plan?
 
I have a 2pm my time appointment on Wednesday, which is 5pm your time. You are right that you don't try R on the same cycle you increase the L. Since you are experienced with R, you could try it on your own on Wednesday. As long as he's not breaking a bounce, try 0.1 units at PMPS time, and test every hour for 4 hours. I'll be back home likely before any R action starts.
 
I have a 2pm my time appointment on Wednesday, which is 5pm your time. You are right that you don't try R on the same cycle you increase the L. Since you are experienced with R, you could try it on your own on Wednesday. As long as he's not breaking a bounce, try 0.1 units at PMPS time, and test every hour for 4 hours. I'll be back home likely before any R action starts.
Thanks @Wendy&Neko I'll try to remember.
 
Back
Top