03/31, Nestle, PMPS 67, +1 164,

Karolina & Nestle

Member Since 2022
Last edited:
Ok perfect
I actually have to work today but my partner will be home so he can test and monitor.
Great. Don't fill him up at shot time. In fact, split that meal and feed a little of it at +1 and +2.
Test and feed every hour for the first 2-3 hours since you are shooting a new low.

What are the higher carb foods that you have? What carb%?
 
Great. Don't fill him up at shot time. In fact, split that meal and feed a little of it at +1 and +2.
Test and feed every hour for the first 2-3 hours since you are shooting a new low.

What are the higher carb foods that you have? What carb%?

I have Purina DM savory selects with gravy and some Purina DM dry
I also have some hill's science dry. That's at approx +/- 35 carbs


What are some good MC and HC I should acquire?
 
Last edited:
The DM Savoury Selects is 10% carbs.

Let's avoid the dry. They do not metabolize in the same way that wet food does, so one does not know how long they affect numbers. Wet food is out of the system in 2 hours - so if he is higher/flat/in safe numbers 2 hours after eating higher carb wet food, you know it may be safe to stop testing. With dry you don't know when it is safe to do so.

Do you have honey or karo? You can add that to low carb food to get higher carb.

You want to stock up on some MC (10-15% carbs) and HC (>15% carbs) canned foods now that he is starting to see lower numbers.
 
The DM Savoury Selects is 10% carbs.

Let's avoid the dry. They do not metabolize in the same way that wet food does, so one does not know how long they affect numbers. Wet food is out of the system in 2 hours - so if he is higher/flat/in safe numbers 2 hours after eating higher carb wet food, you know it may be safe to stop testing. With dry you don't know when it is safe to do so.

Do you have honey or karo? You can add that to low carb food to get higher carb.

You want to stock up on some MC (10-15% carbs) and HC (>15% carbs) canned foods now that he is starting to see lower numbers.

Thank you for the info.

Yes I always have honey and maple syrup (we're in Canada after all)

Also any particular brand in mind for the MC and HC I could get?
 
OK, you have a few options here. But first, can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food/karo/honey/syrup on hand?
 
Your options are (1) shoot the full dose, get a +1 and a +2. Shooting low is great with Lantus. Dinner will bump him up a bit and shooting green typically means a lovely flat cycle. Take a look at some of the other posts where people shoot green, and see what the numbers do. Option 2 - delay some more until he comes up until you are more comfy shooting. The downsides are that he might go down without food, and you'll have to delay AMPS the same amount. The good thing is he's fairly flat now so not still dropping. Option 3 is to shoot a reduced dose, but due to the depot, the first part of the cycle will look like you shot a full dose, but might ease off later on in the cycle. Option 4 is a skip, but you would still have to test early to make sure he's coming up. He hasn't earned a reduction so you would go back to 3.25 units tomorrow morning.

What do you feel like?
 
Your options are (1) shoot the full dose, get a +1 and a +2. Shooting low is great with Lantus. Dinner will bump him up a bit and shooting green typically means a lovely flat cycle. Take a look at some of the other posts where people shoot green, and see what the numbers do. Option 2 - delay some more until he comes up until you are more comfy shooting. The downsides are that he might go down without food, and you'll have to delay AMPS the same amount. The good thing is he's fairly flat now so not still dropping. Option 3 is to shoot a reduced dose, but due to the depot, the first part of the cycle will look like you shot a full dose, but might ease off later on in the cycle. Option 4 is a skip, but you would still have to test early to make sure he's coming up. He hasn't earned a reduction so you would go back to 3.25 units tomorrow morning.

What do you feel like?

I'm thinking either option 1 or 3

What do you suggest is best?
 
Option 1 and option 3, we would still suggest getting a +1 and a +2, to get a heads up how the cycle will go. Since he's never seen such a long stretch of lovely green before, he could bounce. Or not. :cat:
 
Best for you, or best for the cat? :p Either way is a learning experience. You have to do what you are comfy with. I can't tell you that. But ask questions.

If we do the reduced dose how much are we talking?

He's having his dinner right meow as he was starving of course since we delayed :p
 
You could do a half dose, but you'd go back to full dose tomorrow morning. Getting early tests will tell you what the first part of the cycle would have looked like if you had shot full dose.
 
And once you've shot, could you update your subject line with the PMPS, and take off the 911. See you in an hour.
 
Well done! I'll be around for about 4 more hours, and will let @Bandit's Mom or @Bron and Sheba (GA) aka the night shift, keep an eye on later if needed.

Perfect thank you

I have a couple questions.

First of all his shots are off. I stalled this morning so his shot was about half hour later than normally and then stalled again this evening so now we're an hour and a half behind.
What time should I do AMPS?

Also in the PM after +5 I usually give him a "midnight snack" before I head to bed. Is he's dropping or really low at that point tonight should I feed him his regular LC or MC?
 
You can go back 1/2 hour earlier in the AM, meaning AM shot would be one hour later than normal. You can move shot times 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once per day.

Let's wait to see what he does before saying what to do on food. Do you normally feed him anything between dinner and +5?
 
You can go back 1/2 hour earlier in the AM, meaning AM shot would be one hour later than normal. You can move shot times 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once per day.

Let's wait to see what he does before saying what to do on food. Do you normally feed him anything between dinner and +5?

He gets nothing between dinner and +5

Ok so tomorrow AM instead of shooting him at 7:30 I'll do it at 8:30Est
 
Let's just buckle up and do a full dose and see.

Way to go Karolina!! Since nobody did it yet, let me be the first to award you the BOS award!
upload_2022-3-31_20-50-41.jpeg

We award the BOS award for the first time somebody shoots a green Pre-shot!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-31_20-50-41.jpeg
    upload_2022-3-31_20-50-41.jpeg
    24.3 KB · Views: 340
Thank you for that
And Congratulations to Gus and you for being OTJ :D:cat::bighug:
Thanks! It was a wild ride, much like yours and Nestle’s - and Gus looooved to party all night.

You made a tough decision tonight, I can remember my first PS green (56), it wasn’t easy. A well deserved balls of steel trophy! This will give you some great data and confidence for future green PS’. Green’s become addictive!

I found Gus would either be in for a night time surf, with much testing and hourly feeds or he would stay low the first few hours and crawl back up but ECID!

Surf safely, Nestle!
 
Thanks! It was a wild ride, much like yours and Nestle’s - and Gus looooved to party all night.

You made a tough decision tonight, I can remember my first PS green (56), it wasn’t easy. A well deserved balls of steel trophy! This will give you some great data and confidence for future green PS’. Green’s become addictive!

I found Gus would either be in for a night time surf, with much testing and hourly feeds or he would stay low the first few hours and crawl back up but ECID!

Surf safely, Nestle!

Thanks for the support and the encouragement. If it wasn't was Gus I might have chickened out tonight.

:bighug::D:cat:
 
Back
Top