01/19 Bubba AMPS 473; +9 407; PMPS 413

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
yesterdays thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-18-bubba-amps-401-6-335-11-439.273171/#post-3036813

Increased from 1.75U to 2U today and trialling Tight Regulation. I’m tired frustrated and exhausted from seeing all the red. I get upset when I see decent #s but it doesn’t last long and then Bubba bounces right back up again. I have no idea what’s going on with him and why it’s taking forever to get good #s - I guess he’s just old and has been running high for so long it’s all his precious body knows at the moment.
Last week his vet wanted him to stay at 1.5U for 2-3 more weeks to build the depot… so I always feel conflicted about whether what I’m doing is right or wrong for my baby boy.
 
Last week his vet wanted him to stay at 1.5U for 2-3 more weeks to build the depot… so I always feel conflicted about whether what I’m doing is right or wrong for my baby boy.
The initial Lantus depot takes a week to build but after that the depot takes only 4-6 cycles to adjust to dose changes.

I'm glad you are giving TR a chance. Considering that he has ketones you don't want him hanging around in higher numbers.
 
The initial Lantus depot takes a week to build but after that the depot takes only 4-6 cycles to adjust to dose changes.

I'm glad you are giving TR a chance. Considering that he has ketones you don't want him hanging around in higher numbers.

thank you for your help. 4 to 6 cycles, meaning 2 to 3 days correct?

He’s never had ketones though!
 
is there literature on the depot time frames for felines? I would like to research this more for my own interest/knowledge. thanks!
Here you go:
What is the Insulin Depot?

Still high today with increase from 1.75U to 2U and changed from SLGS to TR
With TR, you can increase by 0.5U if nadirs are over 300. You could go up to 2.25U. He has to get to a dose that will "break through" the glucose toxicity that he is seeing.

Feline Diabetes and Glucose Toxicity links

 
I only suggested the waiting a couple more days as an option, cause I detested dosing between the lines. :p
 
Back
Top