01/12 Gizmo PMPS=227, +1=277, +2=206, +4=119

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
01/11
+11 was 120

Technically he earned a reduction last night - but he tends not to hold unless it is a solid (below 70).

Going to get food/shot ready - need to know what to shoot - I leave for work in 2 hours so will only be able to get +1.5 (at best)


**original title**
911 - 01/12 Gizmo +11=120, AMPS 147 **NEED EYES - DOSING**
 
Last edited:
AMPS 147

I am thinking with a full 1.0U - since he is rising - he is going to bounce from last night? I am getting ready to feed (then shoot). I will delay about 5 more min and then I have to make a decision.
 
It probably won't be needed, but you never know - he is a cat, after all! :rolleyes:

Sorry I wasn't on sooner, but I've been catching up on stuff around the house and was just checking the Board before bed.

Please don't forget to take the 911 down.

Thanks!
 
From yesterday's last condo post - any opinions?

Noticed a "spot" on Gizmo's eye - it is in the color part of the eye (iris?). It looks like the white spots that Australasian Shepherds have but not quite as "bright". Who knows how long it has been there. His pupils are usually quite large so that is why I haven't noticed it before (or it really is new). It doesn't seem to be anything of concern - no watery eye, no discharge. He has always blinked one or both of his eyes (we call him winker) - that hasn't changed any?? Doesn't seem to bother him. IDK But it has me worried now that I noticed it.
 
Noticed a "spot" on Gizmo's eye - it is in the color part of the eye (iris?). It looks like the white spots that Australasian Shepherds have but not quite as "bright". Who knows how long it has been there. His pupils are usually quite large so that is why I haven't noticed it before (or it really is new). It doesn't seem to be anything of concern - no watery eye, no discharge. He has always blinked one or both of his eyes (we call him winker) - that hasn't changed any?? Doesn't seem to bother him. IDK But it has me worried now that I noticed it.

I think I would watch it for now. If you see it change (other than going away), or you notice him pawing at his eye or any other signs of discomfort or of vision issues, I'd call the vet. @Gill & George worked in the field of eye care, so maybe she has some ideas for you.
 
Sorry I didn't see your post earlier. I think Gizmo will be okay today. Like Tricia said you can always leave some MC food out. I don't know about the eye. I think I'd just watch it for now. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Do some safe surfer Gizmo ! hope you won't have to take a vaca day for him, ( unless you want to :cat:)


ETA just read about the eye. Worth a trip to the vet to see about it. Maybe you could get a photo like Gill suggested and she could give you her opinion and I hope it is harmless.
 
Be good Gizmo! That is so nice that you took a dip in the lagoon last night. Please stay near the shore and stay away from any sharks.

Osha has a speckle on her eye in the iris area....I had the vet look at it and he said it was nothing, but I just keep an eye on it to see if there are any changes.
 
Is the spot actually on the iris??
Seems so.

Not on the surface of the cornea?
Not that I can tell. Surface of eye looks smooth. The spot is only visible when his pupils are small(er).

If you could get a pic that would be helpful.
You know we are talking about Gizmo - right? :rolleyes::smuggrin:

I did google it but the only thing I found was on brown/black spots for cats. When I first saw it I thought cataract(?) but it is just on the iris - it doesn't extend over the pupil (not that I could tell).

This is almost what it looks like - but since his eyes are green it is not as prominent.

http://color.ashgi.org/color/PHOTOS/Normal Eyes/HazelsEye.JPG
 
thanks for the photo Lizzie, although it's not giz (BFG is also camera shy), it helps

I've never seen a white lesion on an iris, but they do exist, it may be a totally benign naevus, but equally it may be something that needs further investigation.

If Gizmo has had a penetrating eye injury it' possible that what you are seeing is some scar tissue overlying the cornea this would not require treatment. If you have noticed it before it probably wasn't there, and that in itself would merit a look by an eye vet. There are other lesions that may need observation, or even removal.

Using the hands of a clock where is the white patch located? Is it at six o'clock? The reason I ask about the location is that if we get inflammation in the anterior chamber of the eye (see crossection diagram of eye), the inflammatory cells can gather in the space between the cornea and iris, this is called a hypopyon (see pic) with gravity the cells begin to settle out in the lower part of the anterior chamber and we can oberve them as seen in the pic. This sort of inflammation needs urgent specialist attention as it is potentially very painful and can lead to secondary glaucoma.

anatomy of eye
ill_eye_anatomy2.gif


Hypopyon
Hypopyon-3.jpg



I think my advice would be to at first get your regular vet to take a look.
 
Ok, I ran home - I was worried.

+4.5 (he was eating his LC snack when I walked in) 101

What do I do? Next snack is in +2 hours.

ETA - I have about 10 min before I need to head back out to work.
 
101 is still a safe number. This surf looks a lot like what he did on Jan. 1st. If you're worried you can feed him some MC food, but it looks like he'll keep surfing safely.
 
Why don't you add a little HC to his food now to make it MC and add a little more to his meal in 2 hours.
101 is still a safe number. This surf looks a lot like what he did on Jan. 1st. If you're worried you can feed him some MC food, but it looks like he'll keep surfing safely.
When are you back again from work?

If not till much later, I would give him a little MC at this point, only because you can't be there. and make his next snack mc too.
Ok, that is what I did. He had just finished his +4.5 snack when I was walking in. I put some HC gravy in with LC FF and mixed it together (about 1 1/2 teaspoons total) and fed right now. I added a bit of HC gravy to his LC +6.5 snack.

Thanks guys.

Back to work.
 
When you're concerned that's the best thing to do. Always better he runs too high then too low when you can't be home to monitor. Be a good boy now Gizmo.
I will. This is a new area and I am trying :nailbiting::oops:. I am getting better with the blues and shooting low(er) number at least. :smuggrin:

I am going to post a picture shortly of the food bowl with the food/gravy to make sure I am not over/under doing it.

My biggest issue is I don't really have time to think about it or look for a previous, similar cycle.
 
Here is the picture of what I fed. This is in an 8oz bowl (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000PKNH5K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

The "gravy" top/left side is from FF Gravy lover and the pate (bottom) is FF turkey and giblets (after the picture I mixed/mashed them together and blended them well). I added a little less gravy to his LC snack at +6.5 (which had a bit more LC)

Is this a good quantity? Too much? Too little?

catfood.jpg
 
Last edited:
So impressed with Amazon customer service.

The "lost" box that was "delivered to my front door" last night between 6:09p (tracking) and 6:28p (txt from Amazon) still wasn't there this morning or when I ran home to test @ +4.5.

Last night hubby went around with a flash light and looked for it. Then he went to the neighbors on either side and across the street. Nada. I called Amazon a little while ago and they are sending replacements (no charge) out today to be delivered on Saturday. I told customer service that it may still show up and asked what to do with the replacement order if it does and they said to keep it - "consider it a gift" I told them I was fine with returning it but they insisted to just keep it.

This box had 2 cases of 6oz Fowl Ball - that is over $80 of cat food:eek:! Again, consider me impressed.:woot:

The lost box was delivered by UPS - the box with the case of Wellness that I did receive yesterday was delivered by Amazon local delivery driver.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top