? Zot's PMPS stall | 3/08 PMPS 82, stall @ +12.5 86, +12.75 stall @ 90

ThisIsAllForZot

Member Since 2025
Zot read 82 just now for PMPS. I don't want to skip any more doses. I am stalling right now and will test again here in about 10 more minutes. He's supposed to be on another reduction this coming dose of 0.25.

Posting here in case anyone has opinions. Want to stock up on more supplies tomorrow before I make the final decision to switch to TR.

EDIT: stall 2 hit 90.

EDIT 2: I decided to shoot his reduction dose of 0.25. Will take advice from the previous thread and get BG @ +1 & +2. Monitoring carefully.

This thread had some relevancy from today's: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-08-zot-amps-78-2-75-113-6-87-8-85-pmps-82-86.298948/
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. It's good he came up to 90 and you were able to give the reduced dose of 0.25U. Congrats! He is really looking good :D:D:D
A test at +1 and +2 and a little food after each test is a good idea.
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. It's good he came up to 90 and you were able to give the reduced dose of 0.25U. Congrats! He is really looking good :D:D:D
A test at +1 and +2 and a little food after each test is a good idea.

Thank you! I am so anxious, but I am staying calm at the moment! I never thought greens would be scary and exciting at the same time <3 I will give a little food after testing at +1 & +2! :)

Is it okay to ask an unrelated-to-dosage question here?

I read through the posting guidelines, but I did not see anything against it. I just want to make sure I keep everything to their given areas. I'll send the question here, and if it is not okay, I will edit my reply, remove it, and place it elsewhere in a different thread.

I just updated the remarks section in his SS. But he had his recent abscess flushed right before his official diagnosis of diabetes. No infection remains; however, there was an indication of an infection present a few days before his diagnosis on 2/25, with his temperature slightly elevated. He has only pooped 4 times since the 25th, he's been on Miralax 1/8th tsp once a day for 6 days. I do not want to keep him on it much longer if it will be harmful to him. The poos he's had since the 25th have all been dark in color. I imagine old blood, but I thought maybe it was from his recent abscess and just hadn't cleared out.

He also did not have a transition time between going from dry to wet food. I am wondering if I indirectly caused the constipation issue. He has not been stressed but did have a lot of vet visits in quick succession, and I am wondering if that could still affect him this far out from his last appointments. I think I am going to schedule a vet appointment tomorrow, but I was curious if you had any experience or ideas. I think I saw someone suggesting putting some oil in the food as maybe assistance as well from someone else's thread while I was browsing the forums. I have 100% organic coconut oil. Is that acceptable? He doesn't seem super-bloated or anything; maybe a touch-bloated? But to be fair, his physique is like if a cat could have a dad-bod, so it makes it very difficult to tell visually.
 
Thank you! I am so anxious, but I am staying calm at the moment! I never thought greens would be scary and exciting at the same time <3 I will give a little food after testing at +1 & +2! :)
You're doing a great job navigating greens. They can be very scary at first, but quickly get addictive! :D


Is it okay to ask an unrelated-to-dosage question here?
Of course! :-)

I haven't read your previous condos, so I'm flying blind here.... where was his abcess? Was a fructosamine test done to diagnose diabetes?

Have you tried adding some fibre to his wet food? Some plain cooked pumpkin or Psyllium Husk etc?

Also going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) for her inputs.
 
You're doing a great job navigating greens. They can be very scary at first, but quickly get addictive! :D



Of course! :)

I haven't read your previous condos, so I'm flying blind here.... where was his abcess? Was a fructosamine test done to diagnose diabetes?

Have you tried adding some fibre to his wet food? Some plain cooked pumpkin or Psyllium Husk etc?

Also going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) for her inputs.
Oop, I probably should have linked some posts before asking that question! Sorry!

Thank you! I am trying to stay calm, just did the +2, read 85!

His abscess is a tooth root abscess, very expensive to fix, and requires tooth extraction. Working on fundraising to get the rest of the funds. But eventually, the abscess will come back, whether that's months or weeks, I do not know, but it will return.
I have honestly only tried Miralax. I will see about some pumpkin. Uhhh, may be a dumb question, but how does one cook pumpkin?
 
I don’t think the recent abscess which has resolved would have anything to do with the constipation.
I’ve not used coconut oil so I can’t comment on that. I think @Bandit's Mom suggestion of trying plain mashed pumpkin is a good one. I use it daily for one of my kitties who is prone to hardish stools.
Also I think it is fine to continue the Miralax

I just mean maybe the dark coloration. I will look to get some pumpkin. Thank you :) Will continue Miralax as well!
 
With no transition time on the food I do wonder if that’s playing a part in the constipation. You got some good advice above and congrats on shooting green! Have you received your BOS award?

I also wonder the same. Hopefully, it's something simple to fix! The color and lack of movement do make me nervous, but no behavior changes and he doesn't seem like he's in pain.

Thank you! What is the BOS award?
 
upload_2025-3-9_10-22-57.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-9_10-22-57.png
    upload_2025-3-9_10-22-57.png
    264.4 KB · Views: 120
Have you had the stool tested for blood? If none there tge change in color could be from the change in food. I have noticed that different proteins cause darker or lighter stool since I feed all single protein raw food.
For constipation I have used canned 100% pumpkin without sugar. I also have used miralax.
 
LOL, I was not expecting that, thank you!

Have you had the stool tested for blood? If none there tge change in color could be from the change in food. I have noticed that different proteins cause darker or lighter stool since I feed all single protein raw food.
For constipation I have used canned 100% pumpkin without sugar. I also have used miralax.

I have not. Do you know anyone who uses Friskies Pate? He ate Friskies dry food before all this. Thank you. I didn't know you could get canned pumpkin, lol. Though, if you can get canned bread and canned Christmas dinner, it shouldn't be a surprise to me.
Congratulations on shooting your first green, Stephanie! Zot looks like he is doing well; you're doing a great job of caring for him!

Thanks so much! :cat:
 
Back
Top