knolet
Member Since 2012
I took Zeus to the vet today for a bg at +6. We tested my meter (175) to theirs (224).... and over the weekend the Vet said that home meters are 100 points higher. So much for that theory, LOL.
I also brought him the spreadsheet with Zeus' numbers. He was so impressed - thanks to whomever created it, and for everyone suggesting to use it! Based on that, he thinks we should increase the dosage 1/2 unit - total of 2 units, twice per day. But I also told him that I wanted to switch Zeus to only wet food (had has been eating a little of the purina dry DM throughout the day, as that's what I had down for Smokey who doesn't like the canned food), and talked about the FF classics. He was OK with it, gave me some info about FF to read. He wants Zeus to be on the new food plus the increased insulin for a week, and then email him the numbers & go from there.
So now I have more questions. If I feed Zeus strictly FF 2 times per day - does he need to eat mid day as well? Sorry, may be a dumb question, but the cats have always just been free fed dry food. And if the +6 is supposed to be the lowest number, does that mean he should eat?
Also, if I now pick up the dry food, how will Smokey be? She's 15 and has been free fed all of her life. I'm going to try to get her to eat the FF too, but so far she's been a dry food lover.
Thanks in advance for the advice :smile:
I also brought him the spreadsheet with Zeus' numbers. He was so impressed - thanks to whomever created it, and for everyone suggesting to use it! Based on that, he thinks we should increase the dosage 1/2 unit - total of 2 units, twice per day. But I also told him that I wanted to switch Zeus to only wet food (had has been eating a little of the purina dry DM throughout the day, as that's what I had down for Smokey who doesn't like the canned food), and talked about the FF classics. He was OK with it, gave me some info about FF to read. He wants Zeus to be on the new food plus the increased insulin for a week, and then email him the numbers & go from there.
So now I have more questions. If I feed Zeus strictly FF 2 times per day - does he need to eat mid day as well? Sorry, may be a dumb question, but the cats have always just been free fed dry food. And if the +6 is supposed to be the lowest number, does that mean he should eat?
Also, if I now pick up the dry food, how will Smokey be? She's 15 and has been free fed all of her life. I'm going to try to get her to eat the FF too, but so far she's been a dry food lover.
Thanks in advance for the advice :smile: